RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2017, 01:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 67
Kingdome dish replacement

Looking at a coach that has a Kingdome dish factory installed in it.

Is it possible to remove it and use the same location / bolt pattern for a Wingard Travl'r dish?
mr-kolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2017, 01:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Cousin Ed's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,426
When we bought our Aspire we made a deal with the dealer to install a Direct TV Traveler. I ask the tech (very knowledgeable) about removing the in-motion dome (brand new) He said it is best just to leave it and not try to match holes or the WILL be a leak!
__________________
Jeanie, Ed & Slade the GSD
Cape Cod, MA
2017 Entegra Aspire RBQ & Sierra Crew
Cousin Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 01:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 67
Perfect. Thank you.
mr-kolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 02:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 8,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cousin Ed View Post
When we bought our Aspire we made a deal with the dealer to install a Direct TV Traveler. I ask the tech (very knowledgeable) about removing the in-motion dome (brand new) He said it is best just to leave it and not try to match holes or the WILL be a leak!
Well,
Not to diss anyone's capabilities but, the removal of a Kingdome or, any other Dome or satellite dish, to be replaced by a Traveler etc. is done on a daily basis. That's kind-a ridiculous to leave a whole King Dome up there and add another satellite dish. My son worked in an RV service center for almost two years and replaced more than 50 Kingdomes with Windgard Travelers and, put them in the same exact spot. Sealing holes is not rocket science. There's a few zillion caulks and sealants out on the market that work outstandingly.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '18 Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports DCT
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 03:05 PM   #5
Community Administrator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 14,361
I agree, Scott.
Remove the old seal the holes, it is easy and will not cause issues if done properly.
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095

Wash your Hands, Wear a Mask, Social Distance
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 06:44 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Remove and replace

I have done that on both of my motor homes. I did one that had a Moto Stat system and then my recent on a remove and replace of the Direct TV King dome.
seal up the holes and then cover them with siekaflex self leveling sealant that way you have a seal in the hole and self leveling top coat - it should never leak if you have cleaned everything well before putting the caulk on.
Nellie59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 09:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 416
I replaced my Kingdome 7200 Direct Tv with another new version KD 3000B in motion and it works beautiful. It is super fast in locking on the Direct satellite.
Had the same mount that the old dome had, so I did not have to drill or plug up any new holes.
__________________
2002 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 38'
Neway Freightliner chassis, 2018 Buick Envision Ess.
3126-E Caterpillar 330 hp
RayChez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 12:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 431
Yes it is possible and recommended. We love the Dish Travler. No. The bolt holes won't match, that is not a problem. Properly sealed you will suffer lots of other leaks in your rig before those leak. Take the old units out to the dump, they are basically useless and there is no reason to keep them on your rig. Find a recommended local installer, not a dealer, they have worked with lots of different rigs and should know what they can/cannot do on yours.
Larrikin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 03:38 PM   #9
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 16,296
I would also remove the dome. When we bought our coach new in 2014, it had a dome. Part of the deal was that I would switch the dome for a Travler provided by the dealer. I was able to cover some of the dome holes with the Travler base, but I think there were two holes that it didn't cover. They were just screw holes. I like to force silicone into the hole, filling the cavity and then wiping it flush with the roof. Once it dries, I covered it with a small circle of Dicor.

Side Note: Only the coax will be reusable when you replace the dome. You'll have to run the Travler's control cable down to the entertainment center, so be prepared to add the new cable.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, dish, replace, replacement



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingdome with Dish TV Seattleite Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 03-07-2016 09:46 PM
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
Kingdome Replacement Finhawk Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 29 06-22-2013 05:52 PM
Kingdome & Dish - Only get Satellite 129 BigKahuna Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 15 10-08-2010 12:30 AM
DirectTV : Kingdome : TIVO : Tucson & Some Other Markets Ceratto's Grotto Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 12-07-2008 07:08 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.