RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2018, 11:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Pekenoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 59
Lost Jake Brake, Speedo and Cruise

ABS light came on, lost Jake Brake, Speedo and Cruise. No codes other than Allison : Service brake status input - failed on
Cleared code, did not come back on
Ideas anyone? Freightliner in Tucson charged me $300 to tell me less than I already knew....... We think you have an electrical problem..... duh!

Anyone have a similar bugaboo??

Thanks
Pekenoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-28-2018, 11:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Clomok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 508
Lost Jake Brake, Speedo and Cruise

Can help sort of narrow it down, seeing that the jake and cruise both need a speed input to work, Id start out checking the wires/ changing the speed sensor on the back of the trans.

The service light is a input to the trans from the brake pedal, the sensor at the pedal might be failing

Good luck
__________________
2012 RAM 3500 dually
06 ragen 3506 BH
Clomok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 11:29 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 8,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pekenoe View Post
ABS light came on, lost Jake Brake, Speedo and Cruise. No codes other than Allison : Service brake status input - failed on
Cleared code, did not come back on
Ideas anyone? Freightliner in Tucson charged me $300 to tell me less than I already knew....... We think you have an electrical problem..... duh!

Anyone have a similar bugaboo??

Thanks
Well,
First off, it sure would be nice to know what make/model/year/chassis/engine of the coach we're trying to analyze here. I have a theory but, if your coach is not what I may think your issue is, then my theory's way off.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '18 Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports DCT
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 03:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIRE UP View Post
Well,
I have a theory but, if your coach is not what I may think your issue is, then my theory's way off.
Scott
Come on Scott, tell us anyway.
It might helps someone else - even if it doesn't help OP.
__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, Vicksburg 42ft, with HydraLift ---
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco History/Chassis Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 09:03 AM   #5
Member
 
Pekenoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 59
06 National Tradewinds, 8.3 ISL, Freightliner XC, Allison 3000
Pekenoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 09:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 3,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pekenoe View Post
06 National Tradewinds, 8.3 ISL, Freightliner XC, Allison 3000
You sure you have a Jake Brake? My friend sold his 05 Tradewind but he had an exhaust brake.
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 07:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Pekenoe's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 59
Yes, 2 stage Jake with a retarder in the Allison thrown in, sweet unit when it works.
Pekenoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 01:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 8,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pekenoe View Post
06 National Tradewinds, 8.3 ISL, Freightliner XC, Allison 3000
Pekenoe,
Thanks for answering the requested info. Are you still having the issue? Ok, if so, while it's highly unlikely, it's possible you've lost communication with the J1939 data link in your coach. It's a very, very long story on this but, in short, the J1939 data link is nothing but (3) twisted wires, in loom that carry all the information from engine ECM, Transmission TCM, ABS module and primary and secondary air systems to, what's known as the MMDC. That's a Multi-Module-Data-Controller. The MMDC takes all the info from the components listed above and, interprets all that info and then, sends it to your gauges for you to read so you can tell what's going on.

Of the three wires inside that data link, only two do any work. The third one is only a shield to protect the system from outside interference. And, that data link runs from the back of the coach, all the way to the front.

If at any time, one of the multiple connections in that data link fails, you will see what you're seeing. And that is a loss of multiple gauges. But, you've not lost ALL of your gauges, only a few, correct? So, this is why I say it's highly unlikely that your J1939 data links is "broke". The other cause is a loss of ground to a portion of that system. The loss of a ground also, in most cases, causes multiple gauges to fail. So, this is a couple of potential places to start possibly analyzing. These two are not the only cause of loss of gauges and or, operating components, i.e. cruise control, exhaust brake, gauges etc.
Scott

Quote:
Originally Posted by windsorbill View Post
You sure you have a Jake Brake? My friend sold his 05 Tradewind but he had an exhaust brake.
windsorbill,
As you can see, he replied he has the 8.3L ISL. Those are the larger blocks that are capable of, and, most often, are supplied with compression braking, i.e. "Jake" brake. The smaller Cummins, ISB and ISC and smaller CATs, i.e. C-7 are not capable of a Jake brake.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '18 Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports DCT
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 03:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 42
He has the ISL 8.9 (not the 8.3 ISC) engine which has a 2 stage engine compression brake. I have the same coach.
__________________
2006 Tradewinds 40C
jakew143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 03:41 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
FIRE UP's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 8,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakew143 View Post
He has the ISL 8.9 (not the 8.3 ISC) engine which has a 2 stage engine compression brake. I have the same coach.
Roger that Sir,
Thanks for the correction.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '18 Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports DCT
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise control and Jake Brake CoreyinWP Entegra Owner's Forum 14 07-31-2014 10:50 AM
2004 Monaco Signature Jake Brake and Cruise Control Failure OldeDoggie Monaco Owner's Forum 46 02-18-2014 11:26 PM
Cruise Control and Jake Brake Tom&Marie Monaco Owner's Forum 10 10-20-2012 07:40 AM
Jake brake activation while in cruise control - now I have the answer John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 10-17-2006 07:21 PM
Cummins ISL & Jake brake operation on cruise control? John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 09-15-2006 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.