Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-22-2018, 02:36 PM   #1

Moving Into My DP For The Winter In Buffalo NY...Am I Crazy?

Hello friends,

I have a 2005 Monaco Diplomat, I have been considering making it my permanent residence for some time. The lease on my apartment comes up on Oct 31st. I found a campground here in Buffalo that will give me a year round 50 amp site. I want to live in my coach full time.

I plan to use an external propane tank that will be filled by a local company.

Am I crazy?

Can this unit really make it with average winter temps in the teens, sometimes even close to 0??

I have a water bay heater, and the furnace also heats the water bay.

The site owner said I can use a heated water hose and run it to a nearby building that has a spicket that remains on in the winter.

I also plan to supplement the heat with a couple space heaters. Many winter days here are warmer and I may be able to use the heat pumps at times.

My biggest concern is actually the weight of snow on the open slides (and toppers). Is this something to worry about?

Should I add additional insulation?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

-Dan
MonacoMan84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!