RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2017, 04:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fond du lac, WI
Posts: 201
New 6 volt batteries vs 12v

Has anyone had any trouble with anything in your coach after switching from say 4 12v batteries to 4 6v batteries? I switched from 4 12s to just 2 6s as we dont need the power (always plugged in) and have had issues with my intelletec system ever since. My display always shows GEN and I cant change it. I replaced the main board but still have 12v at the gen board location. I was told I need more battery bank that first thing to do is add the other 2 batteries back. It doesent matter that they were 4 12 to 4 6s. Ever hear of anything like this?
__________________
Pete
06 Fleetwood Revolution LE
Travelwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-22-2017, 08:08 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,705
I find it hard to believe that two charged 6volt batteries would cause a problem on any MH. Obviously, they would run low faster but how does the intelletec system know you only have 2 batteries?
__________________
1996 Tioga Class C
400 amp/hrs solar, Trimetric

2007 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 08:15 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wnorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 118
You didn't mention attaching them as parallel or series... just to be sure, you have them hooked up as a 12 volt system, right?
wnorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 08:36 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fond du lac, WI
Posts: 201
Yes 12v. Intellitec support said to add the 2 batteries back. As I said this all started when I switched to the 2 6v. So I am going to add 2 more this weekend and see. I just can't understand how this is going to make a difference. 12v is 12v if it 2 batteries or 10. They did mention something about the bank as a filter.
__________________
Pete
06 Fleetwood Revolution LE
Travelwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 09:33 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travelwrench View Post
... I just can't understand how this is going to make a difference. 12v is 12v if it 2 batteries or 10...

really???? you haven't researched how to hook up batteries, have you?

if you hook up two 12 v batteries, you could EITHER 12v, or 24v!, depending on how you do it. it DOES matter!
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 09:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fond du lac, WI
Posts: 201
I understand the hooking up the batteries part. I don't understand why if I have 2 batteries vs 4 that it would allow the intellitec to receive the 12v
__________________
Pete
06 Fleetwood Revolution LE
Travelwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 09:47 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,705
I think there would be lots of other problems if the OP only had 6 volts or 24, etc.
__________________
1996 Tioga Class C
400 amp/hrs solar, Trimetric

2007 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 02:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travelwrench View Post
I understand the hooking up the batteries part. I don't understand why if I have 2 batteries vs 4 that it would allow the intellitec to receive the 12v
Does the intelletec have a reset button? You're right any piece of equipment should only see voltage.
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 08:47 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 23,267
It's not the number of type of batteries. The Intelletec enters Gen mode if it senses +12v on a wire that is active when the genset is running. Usually that is wired to the remote start switch light, but different RVs can and do use different sources. My guess is that somehow when rewiring the batteries you shorted something to the circuit that the Intelletec uses to detect Genset running. Is the generator remote start button also lit up? That would be a clue!

In any case, go back and check your battery wiring. Probably one of the small wires, not the big red ones. Something left off, or wrong terminal, or shorted...
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batteries



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12v AGM vs (2) 6 volt batteries gman69 Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 07-27-2017 09:52 AM
Replacing 4 12 Volt batteries with 6 volt batteries Wesslvm RV Systems & Appliances 11 06-01-2016 12:27 PM
12 volt parallel vs. 2 6-volt series batteries nascar-co RV Systems & Appliances 14 02-04-2010 10:50 AM
6-Volt vs. 12 volt Batteries BB501 MH-General Discussions & Problems 22 11-17-2007 11:10 AM
12 Volt Batteries vs 6 Volt kenbt Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 12-14-2005 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.