Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-14-2010, 09:19 AM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Unhappy New Tire Choices

Let me start off by saying that I am no tire expert. There is a lot that I don't know about tires!

I will soon be replacing my Goodyear G670 275/70R/22.5 tires. They have developed the "Rivering" wear issue associated with that brand of tire, so I will be buying another brand.

An acquaintance of mine replaced his GY's with a set of Bridgestone R280 tires, and he loves them. They are wearing well and have a soft ride, both of which are very important to me. I went on Bridgestone's truck tire web site and as luck would have it, they don't make my size tire in the R280. They do make it in their R250ED tire, but that is an 18 ply regional type tire, so it would probably be harsh riding.

Looking at Michelin's web site, I was shocked to see that they don't list my size tire in their XRV line. They do show my size in their OTR truck tires, but many of those are 18 ply as well.

So here I am back to square one. Can anyone recommend a manufacturer that makes a good tire in my size? I would like to stick to a tire that is readily available in case I am forced to replace one while on the road. I'd prefer a U.S. made tire, but at this point would consider anything with a good wear and safety track record.

Thanks.

Craig

My wife does all the driving - I just hold the wheel...