Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-16-2011, 09:02 PM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
newbie question - draining tanks

I just bought a 2005 Bounder, and have a lot of questions. Please bear with me if they're newbie questions but I'm a newbie. The first thing I want to do is sterilize the fresh water tank. I've read up on the process, bleach in the water, fill the tank, run through the pipes, drive around to splash the ullage, let sit, rinse thouroughly. But my question is, where to dump the chlorine water and the rinse water? Can I just drain it in my yard? And do I run it through the faucets to drain the fresh tank, or drain it through the fresh tank low point drain? If I run it through the faucets and into the grey water tank, can I dump the grey water tank into my yard, or is that a health hazard or code violation?
While i'm at it, I've got another related question. When I bought the RV (yesterday) I bought it from a neighbor but he and I took it to a dealer to check it out first. They said they filled and drained the fresh water tank, but now the gray tank is showing 3/4. (black and fresh are empty) I'm not sure if its a bad reading or if they emptied the FW tank into the GW tank and didn't empty it. Is there a way to tell ir the GW tank is really 3/4 full or if its a bad reading? Can I just start the dump in my driveway and see what comes out?