Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2022, 12:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 7
No Inverter Power

We just arrived at our destination and when we plugged in the 50amp cord, the light on our inverter panel is flickering and our house lights are also flickering and very dim. Itís showing a code of E01. When we unplug the 50 amp and start the generator we have the same issue. We are trying to get set up before dusk and havenít had a chance to look at the manual. Any ideas?
wgarab is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-19-2022, 12:36 PM   #2
Community Moderator


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,102
No Inverter Power

Take a voltage reading of the house batteries. If they are very, very low on charge the inverter will not want to charge them.

Have you checked the water level in the batteries recently?

Also check the connections to the batteries to be sure they are clean, not corroded, and tight.

Let us know what you find, and we can make additional suggestions
pasdad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 12:56 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 7
Shouldn't I still have AC power if I am plugged into 50amp?
wgarab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 12:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 34,308
Yes, your A/Cs and water heater should run. They don't go thru the inverter circuits.

Lights are 12 volt so flickering may be loose battery connections.

Sent from my SM-A025V using iRV2 - RV Forum mobile app
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 01:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alpine36's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Hoodsport Wa
Posts: 2,864
Yes, you should have ac power if plugged in to 50a.
Are the house lights that are flickering ac or dc powered?
Does everything ac powered, such as fridge and microwave work normal?
Time to break out the volt meter and check the house batteries and all battery cable connections.
__________________
2000 Alpine 36 FDS #74058
04 Jeep Wrangler TJ
"On the road to find out..."
Alpine36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 01:20 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 7
AC circuts are dead even with 50 amp plugged in. Checked all connections at batteries with meter. All connections are good and house batteries are dead
wgarab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 01:22 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 7
The 50 amp green light on the inverter panel is lit showing 50 amps but no outlest are working
wgarab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 01:27 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 7
OK, now after cycling teh 50 amp breaker at the pole, I have ac circuts working inside coach.
wgarab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 02:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 8,196
Your genny doing same thing and "if you waited long enough for transfer switch" makes me think of issue is in ATS. They can be intermittent. If you never inspected and tightened wire terminals you should.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 03:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by 153stars View Post
Your genny doing same thing and "if you waited long enough for transfer switch" makes me think of issue is in ATS. They can be intermittent. If you never inspected and tightened wire terminals you should.


Most logical answer.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2022, 06:47 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 7
Problem Solved

But not sure how..... After checking all connections and breakers and confirming 250 volts at pedestal, I plugged into the 50 amp pole and WALAH, everything is working.

What and where is this transfer switch you speak of. It does seem like a time related issue. Maybe once an over heated breaker cools down it reset?

I believe the start of this problem was when I tried to start the ginne in 30 degree weather and ran the house batteries down to less than 10V trying to get it to crank.

Thanks for everyones advise.
wgarab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change AC power source to inverter from shore power for residential fridge Knightly RV Systems & Appliances 26 08-26-2020 04:22 PM
Xantrex power inverter overload when on shore power ricktig Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 08-26-2019 08:14 PM
Magnum Power Inverter has stopped inverting power JasonOwens Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 03-25-2018 07:59 PM
Noticeable Buzzing from Power Inverter When Plugged in to Shore Power seanp iRV2.com General Discussion 4 04-23-2017 09:24 AM
Power loss switching from generator to power inverter woodtouch6 Newmar Owner's Forum 6 04-07-2016 03:56 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.