Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2022, 04:40 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 14
Older Onan generator, need autostart

Hey everyone, Iím in need of an autostart device for my older Onan generator. Which ones are compatible with it? Is it Only the kit from Cummins or others too?

I wish the new Wi-Fi kit from Cummins could work, but my generator is not in the list of compatible generator for that, but also they said it should work with any green onboard Onan generator 🤷🏻*♂️
ZenMartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-05-2022, 06:00 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Meshoppen, PA
Posts: 1,614
there are a few generic units, that can work in a simple mode,,
many have alot of inputs and options, but just dont use those in puts..

I have used the older version of one of these https://www.amazon.com/Magnum-MEAGSN.../dp/B00357JUV0

some have remotes also..
sibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 11:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,540
https://generators.visonerv.com/cgi-bin/md/M80110/s9.pl
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 02:40 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 14
Thanks, I'll look into them. I don't need anything fancy, just start and stop so I don't run out of battery while at work

Are there any instructions on how you wire it up with an Onan generator ?
__________________
1994 Firan Europremier 38' coach (Cummins 8.3L & Allison transmission)
6500 Onan Emerald LPG genset, Victron MultiPlus II & 1000w Solar
ZenMartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 03:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,540
Here's a site that sells and has the owners manual posted.

https://www.absolutegenerators.com/c...-control-panel
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 11:43 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,935
Over the years Onan has made a couple different versions of their wireless auto start system. They both come with a sensor to determine battery voltage and interior temperature.

If you choose to use the sensor to monitor interior temperature, be sure to locate it in a place where it mirrors the temperature reading on the AC control thermostat. If the readings aren't identical (sensor reading lower than the thermostat) the generator could shut down thinking the interior has reached the set point while the AC is still running.

Conversely if the sensor reads higher that the thermostat the generator will continue to run long after the AC has shut down.
__________________
Hikerdogs
2013 Adventurer 32H
Hikerdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 12:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rob_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Posts: 2,210
Cummins New EC-AGS+ Wireless Control System
https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/cummins-new-ec-ags-wireless-control-system-563348.html
__________________
2002 American Tradition 40'
Cummins 8.3, Banks 431hp, 1260 tq
Canyon Lake, TX
Rob_M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 05:57 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Littleton Co
Posts: 10
Ec30

Bought whole kit years ago. The thing I can't figure out is where to connect the end wires. Have all marked where they go .
Bondobuggy02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 07:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondobuggy02 View Post
Bought whole kit years ago. The thing I can't figure out is where to connect the end wires. Have all marked where they go .
I added wn EC30 to my coach a few years ago, and was able to get everything connected. What wires couldn't you figure out?

To the OP. If your generator is supported by an EC30 it could bean option. Routing the wires is the hardest part.
dssl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2022, 09:41 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Littleton Co
Posts: 10
Ec30

Can figure out plugs. It's the wire ends at the end of the big loom that go to each area. Where to tap in. It is not the wireless. The manual does show where to tap into the systems.
Bondobuggy02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2022, 04:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondobuggy02 View Post
Can figure out plugs. It's the wire ends at the end of the big loom that go to each area. Where to tap in. It is not the wireless. The manual does show where to tap into the systems.
I was able to figure out everything. I even connected my air conditioner and the shore power detection wire. If you tell me which wires you couldn't figure out I can likely help you.
dssl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2022, 12:15 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Littleton Co
Posts: 10
Ec30

I have a36la. Is there one single area, like the battery monitor panel and thermostat on wall by refer, and what wires to tap into ?
Bondobuggy02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2022, 07:26 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondobuggy02 View Post
I have a36la. Is there one single area, like the battery monitor panel and thermostat on wall by refer, and what wires to tap into ?
I have a 2015 Tiffin 32SA. Not sure what year you have but it may be similar.

I put the unit on the bulkhead on the left as you walk in.

For the safety wire I used the ignition wire tapping into the input to the step controller.

For the thermostat I only connected it to my livinroom AC. I did this by connecting the yellow wire of the thermostat which comes on to start the compressor. I could have wired both the same way.

For the shore power you can connect a 120v to 12v adapter to any plug, as long as it's not on the inverter.

Because the wires weren't long enough I needed to splice/extend the wires that connect to the generator plug. If you wanted to mount the ec30 by the refrigerator you may not need to splice the wires since it is more central.

The plug included with the EC30 wiring harness has one more wire then the one already being used, so you need to use that plug. I connected the other wires from the old plug onto the appropriate wires on the new plug. I can start the generator from the drivers seat, or from the EC30.
dssl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2022, 12:24 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Littleton Co
Posts: 10
2014 36la. If I mount the control panel on the wall by refer, should have everything there or close by. Have lp refer with ign. switch lock to use for safety. then use 1 hvac.and1 a/c wire. Should be able to splice into thermostat wires. just don't know what color wires.
Bondobuggy02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, onan



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan Autostart and Solar observation zman-az Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 11-21-2016 10:46 PM
Cummings Onan EC-30W Autostart discovery39s RV Systems & Appliances 1 10-06-2016 05:40 PM
Onan autostart Keith4001r Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 11-20-2012 01:21 PM
Cummins Onan EC-30W Genset Autostart deputydog MH-General Discussions & Problems 21 02-20-2010 08:13 AM
Onan Autostart EC 30 on my 99 adventure? NOTAZ06 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 05-15-2009 10:22 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.