Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-10-2018, 09:00 PM   #1

Preventive Maint.

I have been a mechanic most of my life on various levels, so am pretty handy when it comes to most stuff, but just bought my first DP. It is all foreign to me. Never owned a diesel, although this is my 3rd MH, so my question is this: I want to make sure the rig is all ready to go when we leave on our first trip in May. Most of our trips are going to be less than 200 miles away from home for now. But we will be going most every weekend. Other than checking the oil, air filter, etc.. What else do I need to do to make sure we have the best chance at a successful summer? I will be "working" while on the road playing music at various locations. The coach I bought is a 1997 Beaver Monterey 36ft with a 330 CAT. 80,000 miles. It was bought from Camping world by a friend of mine. They only owned it a week and he passed away from cancer. They drove it from Utah to WI with no problems. So we struck a deal to take it off her hands. I will be getting new tires before the trip. I can see mild cracks between the treads and don't want to chance it. I can't find the date code on them but I think they are passed their prime. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Or do I take it to a shop and have them "walk" me through all that needs to be done?
Thanks in advance,
Rich
npx84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!