Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-09-2016, 06:52 AM   #1

Problem with 12 volt power

First let me start by saying that I am relatively new to Motorhome camping. My wife and I purchased a 2003 Pace Arrow 37A in Feb 2015, and we have really enjoyed it!

I will try to make this as short as possible, but I tend to be too detailed sometimes, so forgive me if this is more info then needed.

We store our rig at a local storage facility where we are constantly plugged into shore power, although it is just 120 service. We have a 30 amp rig, so I have an adapter that plugs into the 120. We have kept it at the same place, plugged in all the time, since we purchased it over a year ago.

About 3-4 weeks ago I went to do something at the rig, and when I got there I noticed that I had absolutely no power going in, even though I was plugged into the shore power outlet. The only thing I could think of was that the power pole that I was plugged into had been knocked out by recent storms we had been having. I have no idea when it actually stopped working though.

Obviously, when the shore power went dead the auxiliary "house" batteries where still being used, and ultimately they also went dead.

I checked other power poles at the storage facility and they were working (not sure why, but they were), so I ran my power cord to a different pole in order to get shore power.