RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2018, 02:59 PM   #1
Member
 
JimmyB2's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tinley Park, IL
Posts: 62
Radio Help

Not sure where to post this but hope I can get some help here.

2006 Holiday Rambler gasser Admiral SE. It is a 30 footer but length should not factor in. I had to replace house batteries and goofed up and wired reversed polarity. Corrected the problem and everything works fine except the magnadyne 9900 cds radio.

Used to run off house battery by pushing a rocker switch labeled RADIO on dash. Does not work now. Thought I must have "blown" radio BUT removed and benched test at home and all works well. Reinstalled in dash and still does not work.

Pulled every 12v fuse in bedroom cabinet and all tested fine.

I don't know what else could be feeding this radio and from where. Pulled the rocker switch and there are 6 (or 8) all white wires.

Any idea where any other fuse could be feeding the radio or radio switch?
__________________
2006 Holiday Rambler Gas Admiral SE 30PDD
JimmyB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-13-2018, 03:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 5,345
Dash radios are usually not powered through the house 12 volt system, but It might be powered from the house to keep from running the chassis battery down. Trace the wire from the switch and I believe you will find a inline fuse. If not, The fuse is most likely in the fuse panel for the chassis. That panel is usually on the firewall in front of the drivers left leg or under the dash.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 04:00 PM   #3
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 16,307
I don't know about the gassers, but Monaco use to put all the 12 volt fuses for the chassis in an outside bay under the driver's window, called the run bay.

Monaco occasionally powered two items off of one fuse, but labeled the fuse under the other item. For example, the radio and dash fans could run off the same fuse, yet Monaco labeled that fuse dash fan. Consequently, you often have to test each fuse with a meter to make sure its still good.

I like keeping one of these handy for testing fuses of all sizes. You can buy them at Walmart in the automotive section. You just touch the pointers to the fuse and it lights up if good.

Click image for larger version

Name:	BSS-DIA1_ml.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	215001
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 05:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jimmy braden's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: What? Like right now? ;-)
Posts: 1,238
check the back of the radio head unit for a fuse.
__________________
2003 Scepter 40PDBB - Roadmaster RR8S - Cummins ISC350 - purch aug16
jimmy braden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 06:45 AM   #5
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orient, NY
Posts: 67
In mine it is in the power cord bay. It is behind a black panel that is attached with velcro
__________________
Bob & Diana
2004 43 Mountain aire, 400 Cummins
obtsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 09:32 AM   #6
Member
 
JimmyB2's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tinley Park, IL
Posts: 62
Radio Help - Solved

Well I resolved the issue. After testing all 50?? fuses I can find, I finally opened the large (15" x 15") black mystery panel in the storage bay under drivers seat.

Yep, another 77 fuses but these were marked properly and the second fuse pulled was indeed bad. Replaced with spare fuses I carry and voila ... radio works fine. So I presume this panel is HR's and all these fuses, buses and relays are for the house batteries.

Thanks for all the suggestions and help.

Oh and definitely I will pickup one of those testers from Walmart. Will make the next time (gulp) easier.
__________________
2006 Holiday Rambler Gas Admiral SE 30PDD
JimmyB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radio



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to upgrade radio/cassette player to radio/CD on 1986 Chieftain? amdg Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 05-19-2017 05:47 AM
SeriusXM Satellite Radio - adapter to built in radio or standalone radio? vsheetz Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 04-02-2017 09:33 AM
Radio ID for satellite radio BINGHAMD Fleetwood Owner's Forum 5 10-10-2016 09:48 PM
Radio jensen & selector Speaker Radio/TV geraldvon Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 04-17-2014 03:43 AM
Bedroom wall radio and outside wall radio Plane nutty Fleetwood Owner's Forum 8 08-27-2012 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.