RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2020, 12:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
RV as emergency electric power for house

Hi,
My rig has an Onan 8,000 watt diesel generator. Sadly, for what I wish to do, the output is 66.7 Amps on two 2-pole 35 Amp 110-volt lines. That wiring is consistent throughout the MH including the shore power cord.

The house is already wired for my portable 8,500 watts, 50 Amp gas generator. I simply wish to swap out the gas guzzler to the diesel sipper. Not counting the 100-gallon onboard diesel fuel tank or the fact that when under no load it burns approximately 1/8 gallon per hour.

Please do not remind me about toasting power line workers by remaining connected to the grid.

Any suggestion regarding how to create 220-volts from the Onan to provide power to the house would be helpful.

Thanks
__________________

wtdean is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2020, 12:34 PM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 41,572
I've read that my Onan QD7500 diesel genny will use from 1/2 to 1 GPH, depending on the load. Where did you get the 1/8 GPH figure?
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 01:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1,183
I burn around 1/4 gph at about 50% load that cycles based on 2 or 3 AC units and other demand

Onan 10k

Never have had a sustained full load situation to get actual results and probably never will
Milford 47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 01:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtdean View Post
Hi,
My rig has an Onan 8,000 watt diesel generator. Sadly, for what I wish to do, the output is 66.7 Amps on two 2-pole 35 Amp 110-volt lines. That wiring is consistent throughout the MH including the shore power cord.

The house is already wired for my portable 8,500 watts, 50 Amp gas generator. I simply wish to swap out the gas guzzler to the diesel sipper. Not counting the 100-gallon onboard diesel fuel tank or the fact that when under no load it burns approximately 1/8 gallon per hour.

Please do not remind me about toasting power line workers by remaining connected to the grid.

Any suggestion regarding how to create 220-volts from the Onan to provide power to the house would be helpful.

Thanks
At FTB (Full Tilt Boogie) output you're using about 0.75 GPH, maybe a little more.


You need to contact Onan. Your genset has 2 windings, one for each "leg". You have, in effect, 2 separate 120V generators, not a split-phase 120/240V service.


Many of the loads in your house will be fine with that but some will not - electric cooktops/ovens, electric clothes dryer, likely your air conditioner compressor.
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 02:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: OKC
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo_RV_Guy View Post
At FTB (Full Tilt Boogie) output you're using about 0.75 GPH, maybe a little more.


You need to contact Onan. Your genset has 2 windings, one for each "leg". You have, in effect, 2 separate 120V generators, not a split-phase 120/240V service.


Many of the loads in your house will be fine with that but some will not - electric cooktops/ovens, electric clothes dryer, likely your air conditioner compressor.
Surely the 2 legs are 180 degrees out of phase, right? If so--what's the difference? It's not like the 2 legs could be at different frequencies, right? Sorry if that's an obvious question.
__________________
2018 Minnie Winnie 25B
E450
DirtRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 02:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtRider View Post
Surely the 2 legs are 180 degrees out of phase, right? If so--what's the difference? It's not like the 2 legs could be at different frequencies, right? Sorry if that's an obvious question.
The 2 legs may not be out of phase and you will not have 240 volts avalable.

Look at the generator plate to see if it lists 120 / 240 volt output.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 03:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22,447
Here is a screenshot of the 8000 watt QD generator specs.

Looks like it's 120 volt only.Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture%2B_2020-06-24-17-06-01.jpeg
Views:	10
Size:	73.4 KB
ID:	290748
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 03:18 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 2,954
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Pretty sure the 7500/8000 are DC generators with an inverter to turn the DC into AC... not going to get 240V out of it.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 03:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: OKC
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Here is a screenshot of the 8000 watt QD generator specs.

Looks like it's 120 volt only.Attachment 290748
Wow. Thanks for the response. I must not understand this stuff at all. A 50-amp hookup is 240v/2-phase power, right? But then a 120V generator can power the whole coach, meaning that the breaker box somehow doesn't have 2 legs...

Anyway, that's ok, I don't get it. Thanks for posting!
__________________
2018 Minnie Winnie 25B
E450
DirtRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 03:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22,447
Its actually single split phase.

The 50 amp main, double breaker, powers two 120 volt bus bars, each having some breakers on them.

If you have any 240 volt appliances, you would need a 240 volt generator to power them.

Good chance everything you have runs on 120 volts.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 03:52 PM   #11
Community Moderator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 11,264
This crude illustration (not mine) shows why the 2 lines need to be out of phase for 240v use.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4880.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	226.2 KB
ID:	290757
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 03:59 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: De
Posts: 132
Just curious, why don't you want to be reminded about killing a lineman?
Wrapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 11:00 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrapped View Post
Just curious, why don't you want to be reminded about killing a lineman?
Since the OP's house is already wired for a portable genset, I imagine there's a transfer switch installed. No problem for a lineman if so.

On his diesel genset, I suppose it could be wired to both legs of the genset side of the transfer switch to power 120 volt stuff in the house. BUT,,, it won't work to power 240 volt appliances. Those would need to be shut off and tagged/locked out to keep someone from accidentally trying to fire them up.
__________________
03 Itasca Sunova, Workhorse P32 with the 8.1 and 4L85-E
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 04:45 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 237
Does the OP present portable generator allow him to.run 240v devices?...
__________________

__________________
Kevin
KRum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Onan 10KW as a House Emergency Generator LaserMark4 RV Systems & Appliances 3 11-24-2014 08:04 AM
Emergency Air Brake Emergency 11B Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 04-18-2014 10:05 PM
Emergency Emergency - Heater Not Working! Endeavor2BnC Excel Owner's Forum 7 11-13-2013 03:44 AM
MH generator powering stick house in emergency... Maladjusted Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 05-14-2013 09:53 PM
can not switch to house batterys for emergency start oldfe Vintage RV's 2 08-08-2011 02:43 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×