RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2020, 12:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 30
Speedometer intermittent on Freightliner chasis

My speedometer has started acting up. It will register approximately the correct speed after sitting for some time, but then slowly the indicated speed decreases with time until it eventually gets close to zero after a few hours. The odometer seems to be working fine, and the cruise control as well. Tachometer also working fine. Everything else seems to work well including transmission. I have read that it may be a bad ground wire, but wouldn’t that also affect the odometer? Thanks for any help.

2006 Sportsman Cross Country 370 DS with Cummins 5.9 and Allison 300 tranny
Pknappe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-19-2020, 02:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Domo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pknappe View Post
My speedometer has started acting up. It will register approximately the correct speed after sitting for some time, but then slowly the indicated speed decreases with time until it eventually gets close to zero after a few hours. The odometer seems to be working fine, and the cruise control as well. Tachometer also working fine. Everything else seems to work well including transmission. I have read that it may be a bad ground wire, but wouldn’t that also affect the odometer? Thanks for any help.

2006 Sportsman Cross Country 370 DS with Cummins 5.9 and Allison 300 tranny
I'd grab a can of CRC contact cleaner and lubricant, pull the dash and then remove each connector from the LBCU (or you may have the other "brain" - but both have daisy chain wiring to all the gauges, which is the problem) than I'd spray each plug and socket and stick it back in a few times.

While back there, you'll find a buss bar (could be floating or tie wrapped) with ground wires going to it - tighten them all and trace the primary to the firewall and tighten that also.

After assembly it may take a couple of starts to get things coordinated again - but your problems may well go away.

I had air pressure trouble- the gauge would bounce from 125 to 70 and back up while the primary tank gauge would stay at 125. No way could air escape and then pressurize as quickly as that needle moved. So, it was an electrical problem that was solved by the procedure I outlined.
__________________
2008 Phaeton 36QSH, Safe-t-Plus, Quadra Bigfoot
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk w/ flat tow wiring mod.
Blue ox, BrakeMaster + BrakeAway, diode lights and charge.
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 09:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 30
Speedometer issue

Domo,

Thanks for the input. I will give that a try. Is the odometer on a separate circuit than the speedo?
Pknappe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 09:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
TomAndPeg's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 539
Blog Entries: 66
Pknappe:

Could be a (reduced) voltage problem; we had the same issue on an older Freightliner chassis w/Cummins 5.9 and Allison 3000.

While you have things apart and after cleaning connections (I recommend Deox-it), if the problem persists use a multimemter to check the idle voltage on as many dash elements as possible. Look for significantly reduced voltage (e.g. 8-9 volts or less instead of 12+). If you see that, then start back tracking the circuit, looking for damage, loose connections, etc.

Our problem turned out to be damage to an electrical loom on the chassis, probably caused by road debris.

Good luck!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
TomAndPeg
2001 NewAire 2801
2013 Honda CR-V
TomAndPeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 01:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Domo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pknappe View Post
Domo,

Thanks for the input. I will give that a try. Is the odometer on a separate circuit than the speedo?
Here's what mine looked like - everything daisy chains (white twisted pair wires) to the LBCU..(brain)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LBCU Wiring Photo.png
Views:	13
Size:	550.0 KB
ID:	290290  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf LBCU Dash Schematic.pdf (110.4 KB, 7 views)
__________________
2008 Phaeton 36QSH, Safe-t-Plus, Quadra Bigfoot
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk w/ flat tow wiring mod.
Blue ox, BrakeMaster + BrakeAway, diode lights and charge.
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 11:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 21,230
Over the past 25 years Freightliner has used three different dash gauge/ light bar/warning systems.

Up to 2004 the system carried the VDC acronym .
From 2004 to 2007 , MMDC
After 2007 the LBCU .
By your chassis year your system should be the MMDC. So you'll be getting some info that may not apply to your system .
By all means clean your connections , but if your're still having issues , call Freightliners free help line with your chassis serial number and ask for paperwork for testing your MMDC dash system.
I have the testing info for the VDC and the LBCU , but not the MMDC , otherwise I'd share it now.
1-800-385-4357

RV Tech Library - Freightliner MMDC Information Display
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 10:22 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Domo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
Over the past 25 years Freightliner has used three different dash gauge/ light bar/warning systems.

Up to 2004 the system carried the VDC acronym .
From 2004 to 2007 , MMDC
After 2007 the LBCU .
By your chassis year your system should be the MMDC. So you'll be getting some info that may not apply to your system .
By all means clean your connections , but if your're still having issues , call Freightliners free help line with your chassis serial number and ask for paperwork for testing your MMDC dash system.
I have the testing info for the VDC and the LBCU , but not the MMDC , otherwise I'd share it now.
1-800-385-4357

RV Tech Library - Freightliner MMDC Information Display
I agree Skip - model years changes can be notorious for misleading folks. If I recall, I seem to remember reading that the MMDC had the daisy chain wiring problems and may have had black wires? Freightliner had gone through a period where they were simply sending out new wiring sets.
Thanks for helping to caution OP regarding the exactness of advice from different model year rigs...
__________________
2008 Phaeton 36QSH, Safe-t-Plus, Quadra Bigfoot
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk w/ flat tow wiring mod.
Blue ox, BrakeMaster + BrakeAway, diode lights and charge.
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 08:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 30
I cleaned all the terminals with CRC contact cleaner. Removed the positive and negative posts under the dash and on the front side of the fire wall. Drove to June Lake this past week, and it worked fine for about an hour then started to drop in indicated speed. Also the tach now reads about 500-600 rpm low. What is interesting is that if I stop the vehicle, it will work fine again for about 15-30 minutes. If I replace the MMDC, does it need to be reprogrammed, or is it a direct plug and play?
Pknappe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 10:28 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Just an FYI they have changed out the white cables to a heavier black. You can purchase direct from Freightliner. The computer mod has been replaced 5 times and I still don’t get a accurate odometer reading. Want to go to Gaffney but COVID has really messed up the plans. 2007 Journey 34H
Bigbobm45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 08:34 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 30
So I took a chance and replaced the MMDC Medallian board. Set me back $800. Didn’t really fix the problem, although it acts different. When I first started driving, everything seemed fine. Then speedo started to decline until it hit zero. Stopped for a bathroom break, and it was fine. Next day, speedo started out fine then started to read higher than my gps. Also, tach was about 1,000 rpm low. Stopped for fuel and then both were fine for remaining hours drive. Very strange. The search goes on.
Pknappe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 08:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Domo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1,022
Bad ground for the cluster?

Sorry to hear you still have trouble.
__________________
2008 Phaeton 36QSH, Safe-t-Plus, Quadra Bigfoot
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk w/ flat tow wiring mod.
Blue ox, BrakeMaster + BrakeAway, diode lights and charge.
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 08:18 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 229
Following.
Have same trouble in my 2007 Bounder on Freightliner chassis. I am going to check on that wire cluster to see if it is original (white).
__________________
2007 Bounder 38S diesel towing a 2006 Suburban 2500 4x4
Tajfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freightliner, freightliner chasis, speedometer



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent Speedometer weston47 Monaco Owner's Forum 2 10-10-2018 10:00 AM
Intermittent Speedometer centurion95 Allison Transmission Forum 8 09-18-2013 07:52 PM
Speedometer Intermittent Problem Bob (WA0MQE) Monaco Owner's Forum 8 03-23-2011 05:38 AM
Intermittent Speedometer and Overdrive Problem Freds Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 5 08-09-2008 12:06 PM
Alpine chasis vs New Tiffen Chasis RVRONINPA Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 10-05-2007 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.