Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-14-2017, 05:47 AM   #1

The Intimidation of the Drive

Every now and then someone will chime in about their desire to have a Class A coach, but the thought of driving a monstrous Velveeta box is a bit intimidating. Since I purchased my first Class A (35ft Gas) about a month ago, and shared some of those same concerns, I thought I would share the experience from a newbies perspective.

Now, I’ve been dragging trailers around for over three decades, so negotiating traffic, tight turns, etc. is nothing new, but still, this thing (the Class A) is HUGE!

The day we put ink to the papers, I hopped in this beast, got everything adjusted and started to roll forward. It was at this point (two feet away from the parking spot) I was reminded of an RVing axiom; Nobody wants to be behind you! Yes, some doofus in a tiny accord cut me off before I even got out of the lot.

I had a 24 mile journey from the lot to the campground near the house. And yes, it was 24 miles of white-knuckle driving on the interstate in a mid-sized city, with 3 interchanges and 5,000 vehicles that didn’t want to be behind me.

My first impression when I pulled onto the interstate; This thing is wide! Seriously, I must have looked like a nervous druggy behind the wheel, constantly checking the side views to make sure I was keeping it between the lines. It honestly looked like I had six inches of clearance on either side of the coach. My only saving grace that day was the spring wind had taken a hiatus.