Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-20-2018, 11:05 PM   #1

Country Coach Owners Club
Tire Blowout, When & What Happened

I'm a pretty green Newbie, but want to understand the world I've adopted. For the past week, I have been following the discussion of what's a comfortable cruise speed in a DP. What surprised me was the frequency of comments linking a lower cruise speed to more control in the event of a tire blowing out.

Surely, a blowout, whether on the steer axle or elsewhere, has got to be a scary, and harrowing event. And I sort of expect comments about blowouts in threads about tires aging-out before they wear-out, etc. But should I be bracing for a blowout anytime I find myself zooming down a mountain grade at more than 65 mph? I mean, understanding the possibilities is one thing, but must every trip be a white knuckle event?