Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-06-2013, 07:43 AM   #1

To garage or not garage

Hii everyone, I am a newbie and am studying this site to garner as much info as possible before taking the plunge into motor home ownership. I read some threads last nite that were rather disturbing; one in particular was about a reader throwing in the towel, totally frustrasted with the never ending repair issues of his new coach. That scared me. Another reader responded that if they sit, they rot. Someone else said a high end coach like he had (Entegra) is meant to be used. If its not going to be, get something else that will sit better. This brings up some questions:
1. How much "use" is enough? We anticipate traveling the country, maybe go for a week or two or three at a time, hopefully 3-4 times a year. The rest of the time it will be sitting. Will that be problematic?
2.When it is sitting, does it need to be garaged? I am looking at preowned coaches, and in most every ad, the coach is described as being in a climate controlled garage, etc. Is this necessary? If it was being "used" it wouldn't be in this environment, it would be outside, right?
I welcome any and all opinion! Thanks!
retiredtenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!