Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-11-2012, 03:34 PM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
To Tarp or Not to Tarp

I recently bought a cover for my new Allegro coach. Then I run into an article on the web site www.rverscorner.com. Here's the short article:

To Tarp or Not to Tarp

As a concerned RV Technician, I am totally against the tarping of an RV. If your roof is maintained and in good condition, it will withstand the forces of Mother Nature. If you simply must "tarp" your unit, build an "A" frame type of structure to repel rain or snow while allowing air to circulate beneath the tarp and above the roof of the RV. A tarp laid on the roof and draped down the walls, is an invitation to dry rot - you want the moisture to escape - not to be held in, as a tarp will do. Also, a tarp will move with the wind, regardless of how well it is secured. This results in chaffing of the sidewall paint, and we don't want to discuss that in this article!

What to do? My new cover is still in the box and could be returned. The cover manufacturer says it breathes so what to do?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Pat G in Knoxville, TN
pgeddes is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!