Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-10-2020, 12:02 PM   #1

Red face Today's dumb question: Tag axles

I'll remind people I'm very new to this purchase journey and still learning, so forgive me if I sound a little slow....

My wife seems to love a Super C- an actual hood with alot of motor to absorb a crash, typically mid-entry, and she says they 'look less scary'.

I'm in love with Class As. I know there's no airbags and if we're in an accident at 60 MPH and airbag probably won't do much anyway. I don't care about mid entry. However, one thing I keep seeing is how valuable a tag axle is.

To be clear I'm looking at coaches >40 feet and I understand the tradeoff of a longer coach. What I see though is arguments for and against a tag. In my head I'm thinking yes it's more expense with tires and moving parts, but part of me also says if the costs outweighed the benefit tractor trailers wouldn't use them. Then I hear about greater stability and control and as the goober behind the wheel I kinda would prefer any advantage I can get driving 30K+ pounds down the road.

What do you think- is a tag axle that big of a deal? If not, would a super C be safer?
MichaelInNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!