Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-09-2014, 09:31 PM   #1

Winnebago Owners Club
Towing weight questions & comments

Hello all... I am a newbie to the RV world. I'm sure this has been discussed to death and, I have searched other forums but, they seem to focus more on toads than anything else. The MH is a Winnebago Vectra w/400HP Cummins.

I have a Porsche 356 historic race car and one of my thoughts in semi-retirement was to take it around the country to various tracks from Coronado, to Willow to Laguna Seca and out to Connecticut to Lime Rock, NY - Watkins Glen... you get the idea.

Locally (SoCal), I've been using my 2007 Chevy Avalanche 1500 towing a 20'Box Carson Racer Trailer (Towing Capacity 7,500lb stated)... Car is about 1,800, Trailer about 3,400 + tools. The Avalanche has been "OK" but, the trailer does own the this truck. I put load leveling bars and that made a ton of difference... but, this is white knuckle to be sure.

Here's what I really want to do, and have seen sooo many do. I purchased a lightweight 20' Box stacker trailer keeping me legal in length. looking to put the 356 on level 2 and get something like a Mini Cooper for lower level. 356... 1,800, Trailer ~ 4,500 & Mini @ 2,400 brings to 8,700Lbs then add coach loading, and it's real close. I understand that the load distribution bars have an effect of increasing the 10K hitch to an effective 13KLbs...