RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2021, 04:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 27
Transmission Control Module

Looking for a little insight. We recently purchased a previously loved 1999 Newmar Dutch Star model 3884 and have been personalizing. We have found a great amount of info here and other locations, so thanks to all. When backing our girl in she stalled and wouldn't start so I jumped her. I noticed the shifter looking like hyroglifics. I did get it in the drive way but I think the TCM needs love. I have read its possibly a fuse or can be rebuilt ( I hope its a fuse). Problem is I can't find it. They say they never put them in the same spot.
Does anyone have experience with this issue.
Dutch1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-25-2021, 06:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 22,127
Welcome to the world of vintage Dutch Stars .

Is your DSDP on a Freightliner or Spartan chassis ?

On my Freightliner chassis ; I've found fuses in 10 different locations , 4 chassis and 6 for Newmar installed items .

For trans shifter , I believe you have the condition of " Cat's eyes " , I'll see if I can post a link on info .
For fuses related to trans control , you'll have to get under the bed and into the engine compartment and look for the VIM ( Vehicle Interface Module ) that has fuses and relays for trans control .
Pictures below , VIM is next to the Allison ECM ( yellow circle ), and cover of VIM removed.
Hope it's just a fuse , but usually if the fuses blow you'll not be able to select any gear ( no display ), and engine won't start.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0242 (640x360).jpg
Views:	14
Size:	117.8 KB
ID:	315749   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0243 (640x360).jpg
Views:	12
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	315750  

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 07:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 22,127
Ok , a couple of links with regard to the ; Cat Eye ; issue.

http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/alli...e--350979.html

http://www.irv2.com/forums/f125/alli...rt-425208.html

I'll review both these threads and look for more info .

EDIT : Note the pictures are of my Freightliner chassis placement of the modules , If your coach is on a Spartan chassis , everything could be placed differently.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 03:10 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 27
Mine is a Spartan DP. No power to the shift pad, no display so I cant see neutral so it wont start. Going to pop cover off if and when it stops raining and look for fuse. I see the metal box next to your black box (VIM) but no the black box itself. I do recall seeing the crazy shift pad figures ( cats eyes) before she went blank. Thank god I got her back in the driveway. Been sitting here for a month while I learn
Dutch1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 03:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26,290
Some tap the trans Mission controller right off the chassis battery.

Then they hide a fuse a foot into the bundle of cables.

If you were jump starting or messing with the chassis batteries, take a look there.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 03:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 22,127
Spartan may have used a different VIM .
Like the one pictured below .

I'd say contacting Spartan Motorhome Support with your serial number , and asking for wiring diagrams and schematics is in order, too.

1-800-543-4277
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AllisonTrans  WTEC II VIM.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	315845  
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 05:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 22,127
Dutch , the context of your, thanks message, was a little confusing , the aluminum housing VIM with the bolt on lid does have two , 10 amp fuses.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 07:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,708
Not Newmar, But My 1999 Freightliner chassis, GeorgieBoy had them behind a panel inside the last compartment at the rear, passenger side. nicely hidden. They can be anywhere, FWIW- The weight of the wiring harness was pulling on the plugs and I had instrument panel errors. tied the harness up and reseated the connectors and no problems. Hope yours is as easy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VIM 1.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	186.3 KB
ID:	315876  
__________________
Hooligan, Pensacola, Fl -U.S. Coast Guard 1956-1985
2016 Thor Siesta Sprinter 24ST diesel -1972 Moto Guzzi
2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara TOAD
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 07:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 22,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooligan View Post
Not Newmar, But My 1999 Freightliner chassis, GeorgieBoy had them behind a panel inside the last compartment at the rear, passenger side. nicely hidden. They can be anywhere,

Limited by the length of the wiring that Freightliner built into their wiring harness , your location probably within 8/10 inches of my location .with a compartment wall in between , from your description , that's where my batteries and muffler are .
Spartan chassis is the unknown here .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 08:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,708
My GB was 36 ft, I had enough harness coiled up to go another 6 feet. I didn't know the panel was there until I followed the harness and the air lines.
Someone here must have had a Spartan Newmar.
__________________
Hooligan, Pensacola, Fl -U.S. Coast Guard 1956-1985
2016 Thor Siesta Sprinter 24ST diesel -1972 Moto Guzzi
2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara TOAD
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2021, 07:35 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Some tap the trans Mission controller right off the chassis battery.

Then they hide a fuse a foot into the bundle of cables.

If you were jump starting or messing with the chassis batteries, take a look there.
I did have to jump the coach and remove the batteries to get to the latch that was broken. The is approx 2" clearance above batteries. I will look in the wires behind the tray for a fuse.
Dutch1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2021, 08:17 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 27
[QUOTE=Dutch1999;5609874]Looking for a little insight. We recently purchased a previously loved 1999 Newmar Dutch Star model 3884 and have been personalizing. We have found a great amount of info here and other locations, so thanks to all. When backing our girl in she stalled and wouldn't start so I jumped her. I noticed the shifter looking like hyroglifics. I did get it in the drive way but I think the TCM needs love. I have read its possibly a fuse or can be rebuilt ( I hope its a fuse). Problem is I can't find it. They say they never put them in the same spot.
Does anyone have experience with this issue.[/QUOTE. I found these in my rear bay beside the batteries. I dont see the 2 fuses seen in the pics sent
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210127_085743.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	362.9 KB
ID:	315908   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210127_085821.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	216.1 KB
ID:	315909  

Dutch1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2021, 10:04 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 22,127
Ok , Spartan has used entirely different wiring and fuse blocks .

I'll see if I can blow up the photos you've posted to identify , any possible supply for the trans and shifter.
Otherwise , it's dig out the volt meter or 12 volt test light and check them all.
EDIT: Back in time to add the photo here .
While Freightliner used the fuse/relay box the I posted as a VIM , Spartan has used the box on the left in your photo , and the fuse in the yellow box for trans battery power supply and a number of fuses for engine battery supply .
Check the fuse I've marked and if you still don't have shifter display , we'll have to check the front fuse boxes for an ignition power fuse to the trans controller.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1999 Dutch fuse blocks.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	150.0 KB
ID:	315927  
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2021, 10:36 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 27
Heading up to visit Grandbaby today for a mental break. I appreciate your help and will attack again tomorrow. TY Skip
Dutch1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
transmission



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pace Arrow: Intellitec Electronic Climate Control…Where is the ECC Control Module? MrMudstud Fleetwood Owner's Forum 7 06-13-2020 10:52 AM
Transmission control module or TCM dean930 Allison Transmission Forum 1 07-06-2018 10:43 PM
99 damon escaper stuck in first .tcm transmission control module kenlarkin MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 04-15-2018 11:43 AM
Transmission Control Module Arby49 Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 08-06-2016 09:01 AM
allison transmission interface module travler1 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 03-26-2010 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.