RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2018, 11:29 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Two ACs will not work at same time

Suddenly only one of our two air condtioners in our motorhome will run at a time. I have to manually turn one off before th other one will come on. Nothing has changed. Been working with both for weeks. Am plugged into 50 amp. What could be problem?
Cbakerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-02-2018, 11:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 2,955
Do you have a panel somewhere that tells you where the power is coming from?
If so, did that panel somehow get changed to either 30amp or 20amp?
That would cause the EMS to start load shedding, thinking that there isn't enough incoming power to handle both AC units.
__________________
2013 Winnebago Sightseer 36V
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 11:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13,969
What is AC Source VOLTAGE?
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 11:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 3,133
Have you just changed parks? Low voltage at pedestal? Has the park recently filled up with more RVs? Weather suddenly hotter?
Any of these events can result in low voltage at the pedestal.
__________________
Bill, Kathi and Zorro; '05 Beaver Patriot Thunder
2012 Sunnybrook Harmony 21FBS (SQEZINN)
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
cruzbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 11:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 2,955
Excellent point O-B (as always!).
Which also makes me wonder if there is power on both the the 'hot' terminals at the pedestal.
__________________
2013 Winnebago Sightseer 36V
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 12:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,796
Same park ? Pull plug and check for bad connection. Plug it in and out a few times to clean it.

Different park ? May be fake 50 amp. Is it an old park, they sometimes cheat and do 50 amp 120 volt instead of rewiring for 50 amp 240 volt. MH will act like its connected to 30 amp.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 12:50 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
yes, you've either LOST one leg of your 50a double-pole line, OR your coach 'thinks' you have, therefore limiting your AC simultaneous usage.

check the power pedestal 50a breakers - could it be that 'one' side has tripped, and not the other? Odd, but odder things can happen. While a double-pole 50a breaker has a 'connector' between the two to trip both at the same time, I've seen them without this, probably from the 'bother-in-law' is my electrician scenario!
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 02:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,919
Could it be he lost one of his 30 or 50 amp contactors in his transfer box, maybe it is not pulling in, maybe a bad coil?
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 05:35 PM   #9
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 43,870
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Are you using a multi-zone thermostat? If so, does it show both zones at the same time? You may need to do a reset.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 05:58 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 37
Only One AC

Had the same problem a few weeks ago, found out i had lost my Neutral leg on my cable going from the Pedestal, from all the handling of the Plug , a screw in the plug had come loose and the wire had pulled loose from the plug. Simple fix , reattach the wire in the plug . Easy to check get a meter, and check your breaker panel connections go from your hot legs to the neutral the white wire , should have 110 on both legs if nothing there neutral is open. This means you are getting 220 at the ACs with no ground ,mine did the same thing ! Can cause many problems with all your other appliances if not fixed !
Gpsmith620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 05:20 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Turbo chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 10
Just went through this, it was my hard start capacitors, one was burned!!! Hope this helps
Turbo chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 06:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brews Cruise's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
What is AC Source VOLTAGE?
Alternating Current Source Voltage, such as the shore power.
__________________
Ken & Ara Brewer
previous 2016 Newmar Canyon Star 3710 - sold.
2020 Newmar Ventana 3407 Freightliner, all electric. 2014 V-6 Chevy Equinox Toad.
Brews Cruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roof ACs Not Cooling While Driving - Work GREAT Parked f15epilot RV Systems & Appliances 35 10-22-2016 08:54 AM
Two 15,000 BTU ACs vs two 13,500 BTU ACs... go6car RV Systems & Appliances 5 01-24-2015 10:36 AM
Two ACs Two Coaches Same Problem danleininger Newmar Owner's Forum 12 04-17-2014 10:21 PM
Both A/C's will not work at same time on gen or shore power ggenewells77 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 43 01-04-2014 09:28 AM
Using two generators at same time? quadnkev RV Systems & Appliances 8 03-02-2012 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.