Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-20-2013, 06:25 AM   #1

Updating Used MH Budget??

Being we have seen very few MH with the floor plans (recliners across from TV) that we want I am really thinking about getting a used one instead. I am a carpenter by trade and could do all of the interior modifications myself.

But to make the used MH as new and as safe as possible I need to figure out what to replace outside. This is assuming the chassis, motor, transmission, roof, etc. is in good shape. I automatically would figure in new tires and shocks.

I also have concerns about my driveway strength for supporting a motorhome. It is concrete and I am assuming it is 4" thick. Will this support a motorhome. To do this work I would need the MH at my house. Another concern that we have is finding a used MH that does not smell. We have looked at two local dealers and don't even get past the smell of the MH's. Is this normal and if it is how do you get rid of the musty/moldy/dirty smell?

Below is what I have figured so far. Some items have question marks instead of numbers being I do not know what it would cost. Please let me know what items I am missing. I am thinking around $15,000 as a budget.

Flooring, TV's/cabinets, carpet, window treatments, etc. $7,500
Tires $3,500
Shocks ??
Handling -air bags, steering modifications, etc. ??
reubenray is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!