Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2012, 08:33 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Unhappy cruise control problem

I'm having a problem with the cruise control on my 2011 freightliner chassis under an Integra motor home. When you tap the break the cruise control will not shut off ! You have to shut it of with the on/off switch ! This is pretty "scary" when you hit the break and the unit keeps pulling !

Is there a fuse somewhere for this I might check ? Anyone else had this problem ?

Thanks in advance,
Doc S
Doc S is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-02-2012, 08:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
I'm not a mechanic.


No response yet so I'll just mention that in the past I have read on IRV2 that there is a switch on the brake pedal (shaft) that inactivates the cruise control (sounds quite logical). The adjustment of this switch has been identified as a source (potential) of a number of problems. Perhaps your switch(assuming you have one) is dislodged out of alignment or does not have electrical power.

You might want to look there until someone who has a more definative and informed answer.
__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:49 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 3,864
Do your brake lights work? If not, pursue that elect circuit.
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat(RIP) 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
mccsix's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pensacola Fl
Posts: 667
Jacob at 800-945-4787 should have the answer, but suspect that njs42 has the right approach.
mccsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
While I do not know your specific system. MOST Cruise control systems read the voltage across the brake light switch

They look for 12v on the hot side (indicating a good fuse) and zero on the lamp side (Indicating switch open)

If your brake light switch is NOT CLOSING.. that's your answer.

If it is (That is if brake lights work normally) the answer is much more expensive.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond Hill, GA USA
Posts: 706
One member here has posted that he cured a problem with his cruise control by removing the corrosion from the two brake switches located on the bottom of the air brake treadle (access from under the motorhome).

Fred
__________________
Fred & Vicki
St. Augustine, Fl.
Fred Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 04:35 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Glfpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
I am also having a cruise control problem. Have a Gulf Stream home on Freightliner chassis and have no power to my cruise control. The cruise control light does not come on and the CC switch does not engage. The MH is a FRED and I would like to know if anyone can tell me where the CC fuse might be located.
Thanks, Glfpilot.
Glfpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 25,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Cooper View Post
One member here has posted that he cured a problem with his cruise control by removing the corrosion from the two brake switches located on the bottom of the air brake treadle (access from under the motorhome).

Fred
Fred, you have a long memory, but my problem was with cruise control no-op in the rain. And the clean up has been working 100% .

Doc S. you need to know if your brake lights are working, first. If they are working then I think you'll have to get the Engine Control Module scaned to see if that module is getting the signal.
Do you have a Smart Wheel ?
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 11:56 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
powerboatr's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East Texas
Posts: 4,812
our f/l chassis you had to depress the pedal enough to actually engage the brakes, the rv techs adjusted something under neath where the brake light and air pressure switches are located, so i was told
but you still must press the pedal vice nudging it
which is weird imo, on mine i can feel the brake pedal just engage the pressure valve then the cruise will dis-engage

i too use the switch to dis-engage unless its a reactive maneuver
which is very unlike our auto, there you just kick/tap the pedal and it dis-engages
__________________
USN Retired, Life time member of the DAV.
Enjoying the 2008 Damon Tuscany 4056, #3998 no your eyes are fine, there are really 6 slides
2022 F150 King Ranch or 2012 Edge toads

powerboatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 06:09 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Problem solved

Thank you to all who have replied to my post. Ended up at the Freightliner dealer and they finally traced it to a bad computer in the dash. Replaced it and all is good.
Doc S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.