RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2020, 05:12 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Kahoona's Avatar


 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Conch Republic
Posts: 1,734
Need ignition diagram for XCR 2007 chassis.

Hi
I am hoping to find an ignition (starter/key) switch diagram showing which of the tabs are ACC, start and run.

Last time we pulled into a CG the backup camera and dash Air conditioner quit for an instant and came back in. This morning when we were preparing to go there was no power to the jacks, dash Air cond and backup monitor. We could not raise jacks at all and had to drain fluid to raise them.


All of the fuses measure good with a meter. The breakers that are obvious also seem fine. I checked what relays I could. Once or twice the systems flickered on for an instant. Since they all work on on the ACC power I want to check the acc power and see if there is 12v at the switch. If there is then I can more easily check from there.



Freightliner said that they have a new policy and they can not provide the information until we are verified as owners of this vehicle. I am working on that.



I was going to simply power the control for the the jacks from a 12v source temporarily but Lippert says there are no diagrams of the power gear 500629 control panel showing the connecting plug and power to the wrong wire will destroy the brain.
__________________
33' 2008 National Tropical on a Freightliner chassis.RVM#189
Kahoona is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-15-2020, 06:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RJOL's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 566
Don't have the diagram you are looking for, but I had to change my ignition switch out, last year, after having problems with items not coming on (like the jacks) without turning the key back and forth, several times. You might be on the right track with solving this problem. I found the old switch had been taped all up and I don't believe that is how it came from the factory. Here are a couple of photos showing the taped up switch and the old / new switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tapped Switch.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	476.4 KB
ID:	301181   Click image for larger version

Name:	Old and  New.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	466.1 KB
ID:	301182  

__________________
2012 Coachmen Sportscoach RD385DS, Freightliner Chassis, Cummins 340HP ISB Turbo Diesel
2007 Saturn Ion 3 Toad
RJOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 07:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Kahoona's Avatar


 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Conch Republic
Posts: 1,734
Interesting. Thanks. Mine was taped up too but lacked the plastic lower cover or socket. Mine just has spade lugs. Some of the lugs are in the center like yours and some are om the sides. It looks like you have the same chassis as we do. One or both of us probably have had it replaced at some point. Where did you get your replacement?

I figure that. if the ignition lock is good at lease then I have unified starting point and can follow the wires.
__________________
33' 2008 National Tropical on a Freightliner chassis.RVM#189
Kahoona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 08:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RJOL's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 566
I think I got it through Freightliner, but I'm not positive. Call Forest River with you VIN number and they might be able to help. I think the ignition lock was still working, but it just wasn't making good contact, all the time, inside the switch. I have had no problems with stuff not coming on since changing this out. Good luck...
__________________
2012 Coachmen Sportscoach RD385DS, Freightliner Chassis, Cummins 340HP ISB Turbo Diesel
2007 Saturn Ion 3 Toad
RJOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 12:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Kahoona's Avatar


 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Conch Republic
Posts: 1,734
Update. I have removed and disconnected it to test it and mine does look the same as yours. It is a Pollak 19161. Unfortunately it works. In case anyone else has need of it here is a labeled picture of where the connections go but that is also printed on the back so no real need. Now the testing and tracing of the wireing begins. I hate that stuff! One good thing is that the remains of Sally will be passing Hatteras island in a day or so and I will be stuck inside and can get some work done. Three items are all out of whack. All three work from the ignition spade on the ignition lock There must be a common feed, ground or inline fuse.

Freightliner has not gotten back to me with my permission to use their new system to get diagrams and schematics so no schematic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200917_131707a.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	396.6 KB
ID:	301339   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200917_143527.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	208.5 KB
ID:	301340  

__________________
33' 2008 National Tropical on a Freightliner chassis.RVM#189
Kahoona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 01:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
RJOL's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 566
My old one worked, too, but it was intermittent. That's why I changed it out...
__________________
2012 Coachmen Sportscoach RD385DS, Freightliner Chassis, Cummins 340HP ISB Turbo Diesel
2007 Saturn Ion 3 Toad
RJOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 07:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Kahoona's Avatar


 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Conch Republic
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJOL View Post
My old one worked, too, but it was intermittent. That's why I changed it out...

I wish mine was but it is working perfectly. The next possibility is the row of relays that have nothing saying where they go. Have to go to the National forum and see what schematics I can find.

First though I need to check the grounds. Rule one is "its the ground". I will restart in the National section with relay question since someone there might know. Thanks.
__________________
33' 2008 National Tropical on a Freightliner chassis.RVM#189
Kahoona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 09:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
RJOL's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 566
Good luck with tracing grounds and relays... Hope you find the problem...
__________________
2012 Coachmen Sportscoach RD385DS, Freightliner Chassis, Cummins 340HP ISB Turbo Diesel
2007 Saturn Ion 3 Toad
RJOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 07:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Kahoona's Avatar


 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Conch Republic
Posts: 1,734
In the end I wound up re-wiring those three things. I verified than no current was reaching them from the switch but that the switch was working. The camera and the jack controller draw very little current so I used a spade lug to an extra terminal of the switch and added a fuse and a wire to the camera's + wire which also backfeeds the jack controller. Once they were working I added the same setup for the AC controller. I determined that power to the fan switch would make everything function so I connected it. Now everything works as it should.

I have to add that I plan to install a relay for that AC fan feed. Since the wire from the ignition that fed everything was 10ga I assume that the switch has the ability to carry a fairly high current but a relay would feel safer. I also plan to cut the wire that originally fed these things to see if anything else is on the circuit. I don't like having multiple feeds like that. We are currently stuck on Hatteras island because the roads both North and South are washed out by continuing high winds and surf. I had called a pro to fix it but he can't get to the island now. Once the road to Buxton opens up I can get the relay.
__________________
33' 2008 National Tropical on a Freightliner chassis.RVM#189
Kahoona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 08:54 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
RJOL's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 566
Glad you got this sorted out.... Never any fun camping when something in the RV isn't working right. I literally spent months trying to fix the terrible job that the factory did on the pluming for our shower. They couldn't get the angles right, on the drain, so the cobbled a drain fitting together with a bunch of sealant. Needles to say, it leaked and probably had leaked for the previous owner, for years. It actually "softend" the plywood a little bit around the shower floor. I think I have finally got this straitened out and ended up using rubber joints, and an accordion "p" trap to make it fit.
__________________
2012 Coachmen Sportscoach RD385DS, Freightliner Chassis, Cummins 340HP ISB Turbo Diesel
2007 Saturn Ion 3 Toad
RJOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2007, chassis, ignition



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2009 Berkeshire 390bh on XCR Chassis--Blown Air Compressor? Big_Boy Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 3 07-11-2015 10:07 PM
Replacement Shock Options for 2007 Allegro Bus on XCR Chassis jd956jd956 Tiffin Owner's Forum 2 05-01-2014 12:43 PM
Air Dryer Filter Location 2014 XCR Chassis Dutch Star Don Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 02-11-2014 09:49 PM
Looking for Input on Side vs Rear Radiator XCR Chassis Pusherdiva Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 13 12-10-2013 07:32 PM
Freightliner XCR vs. Spartan MMGT Chassis handling JerryKelly Newmar Owner's Forum 5 06-25-2013 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.