Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Travel Supreme Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2022, 03:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 4
HELP! Hubby out of town-we are cold!

Hi all! We just got this 2004 Travel Supreme and I can't figure out how to get the furnace to work. I have read your posts about Aquahot systems...I don't know if I have this or not. I have the Dometic heatpump/furnace controller. I have switched the controller to furnace and all I get is cold air blowing.

--Pilot light does not seem to be lighting. I have full tank of LP. The gas does not seem to be flowing now...It did light once but the furnace only blew cold air. There is another button that says water pump, but I did not turn that on since we are hooked up to camp water. Maybe this is for the Aquahot?
--I have hot water, but it's running on electricity.
--Did all of these coaches come with an Aquahot? If so, where would I look to find this unit? I found a page with all the user manuals if I can find the model number.

Hubby is out of town for 3 weeks and my daughter and I are cold. It is a little too chilly for the heat pumps to work well here.

Thank you in advance!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0794.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	209.2 KB
ID:	381280   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0795.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	282.6 KB
ID:	381281  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0796.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	239.8 KB
ID:	381282  
QckChic is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-20-2022, 04:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mike8253's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,629
1st, check your LPG Level. 2nd make sure your control is set to Furnace and not Heat Pump. Next, have you made sure that the valve on your propane tank is open? Go to the bay where your propane is located and SLOWLY turn it counterclockwise to assure it's open. Then, if you have propane and the valve is open, if you have a gas stove, after a minute or so try to light one of your burners. If it lights, you've got propane flowing in your system. Try your furnace again to see if it lights
__________________
Mike and Cindy
2016 Tiffin Allegro Open Road 34PA
2018 Chevy Malibu
Mike8253 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 04:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 843
Yup. Try Mike’s ideas exactly as outlined. If the stove burners work….we’re in a better place to solve your problems. I usually start up each burner, and let them all run for about a minute to get the gas flowing.
__________________
kenandterry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD carried by a 2017 Ford E450
Bye 2010 Georgetown 330TS after 10 terrific years, as we downsize for the next phase.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 06:05 PM   #4
Senior Member


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Dallas, TX area
Posts: 634
Yes to what Mike said. Your furnace is probably on Zone 1 only. If you are not there and don't see furnace listed, switch zones on the touch pad to Zone 1. The Mode button will cycle you down to the furnace.
rvbiker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 06:05 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 4
Hi all, LP gas is full. Unfortunately I have a glass cooktop so no gas there to try. Dryer is also electric. LP is on and furnace is selected on the thermostat. Thanks!
QckChic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 06:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mike8253's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by QckChic View Post
Hi all, LP gas is full. Unfortunately I have a glass cooktop so no gas there to try. Dryer is also electric. LP is on and furnace is selected on the thermostat. Thanks!
Did you confirm the valve is open on the propane tank? Beyond that, I'm at a loss. Possibly you could have a reset button somewhere in your system, but I'm not conversant in your particular MH. Someone here will know better than me.

Curious, how low are your temps supposed to get to tonight?
__________________
Mike and Cindy
2016 Tiffin Allegro Open Road 34PA
2018 Chevy Malibu
Mike8253 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 07:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
rag_ftw's Avatar


 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 1,502
What type of refrigerator do you have? If it is elec/propane set it to gas. We are trying to make sure you have propane flowing in your coach.

Also check fuse #7 in the fuse panel in your photo.
__________________
2004 38DS04 Travel Supreme
Cummins 8.3 ISC 350HP
Spartan Mountain Master
Ford Ranger Towed
rag_ftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 07:43 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 4
Hi all, at some point someone put an electric fridge in the coach so I can’t check the propane that way either. The propane valve is definitely on. I have checked the fuse and the breaker and they are both good. There is a reset button by the pilot light and I pushed that but it didn’t seem like anything happened.

It’s supposed to get down to about 25 tonight.
QckChic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 08:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
rag_ftw's Avatar


 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 1,502
When you first turn the furnace on at the thermostat, with the temp set high enough the furnace should light, does the fan come on? There is a sail switch inside the furnace that is supposed to open when heat is selected and the fan comes on. The sail switch controls propane to the furnace and is activated by airflow from the fan. If it is stuck you will not get ignition. That is a common problem, especially with units that have not been operated for awhile.
__________________
2004 38DS04 Travel Supreme
Cummins 8.3 ISC 350HP
Spartan Mountain Master
Ford Ranger Towed
rag_ftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 08:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 668
If all else fails go to Walmart and get a couple of their $15 heaters. The ones with little fans to force air through the heater. They have tip over switches so are relatively safe. You can keep quite warm with them running. They won’t keep your water from freezing down below but at 25 for a few hours you probably won’t have an issue with that. If you don’t have heat tape on your fresh water hose you will want to disconnect it for the night and bring it in where it won’t freeze. Then you can reconnect in the morning as the temps rise. (If your breaker trips with both of these little space heaters on, one of them needs to plug in another place to get it on a separate circuit.)

I have used these down to 28 degrees without any problems and was toasty warm. I use them rather than the furnaces because I dislike the noise my furnace fans make. I only run my furnace a few minutes in the mornings to bring the temps (from a slightly reduced sleeping temperature) up quickly to where I want my temps to be.
__________________
Marvin (and Eileen) - Weekend RVer On A Budget
1997 34’ Gas Bounder / F53 Chassis | Towing 1996 Ford Ranger on Acme Dolly
MarvinG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 09:22 PM   #11
Senior Member


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Dallas, TX area
Posts: 634
One thing to try. Reset the thermostat. On the bottom of the thermostat there is a black toggle switch, on and off. Turn it off and then press and hold the top and bottom switches on the thermostat. While holding the switches in, toggle the on/off switch to the on position. If it resets, going from memory here, there should be a series of ffff's on the screen.

If that does not reset and start the furnace, it is probably the sail switch that is not working.
rvbiker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2022, 08:16 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,734
Did you physically turn the valve knob on the propane tank, most technicians close the valve when filling the tank. It's probably a round gray metal handle, turn it counter-clockwise
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jerry Potter, Taz
1999 Coachman Catalina Sport
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2022, 08:55 AM   #13
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fulda, MN
Posts: 952
Blog Entries: 1
She said "it did light once" so it sounds like it is just a waiting game for the lines to purge. How many times have you tried it since?
Are you in a campground or rv park with other campers? Perhaps someone else there could take a look and see if everything is turned on as it should be.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Adventurer 32v, P32 Workhorse Chassis 7.4l Vortech, J71 Ultra RV upgraded 67,000 miles
David 70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2022, 12:56 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Tugboat's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mount Airy (Mayberry) NC
Posts: 740
Send a message via Skype™ to Tugboat
One Luther thing to check. The propane gas alarm should be somewhere near the floor press the reset button. That happened to me one time after I had shut off the 12v system.
__________________
2014 Columbus 320RS
2011, Ford, F250 srw, 6.7
Life member GoodSam, KOA, F.R.O.G
Tugboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tow



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hubby and I need a referee! 4tfamily Class A Motorhome Discussions 42 11-25-2012 08:35 AM
Hubby said...OOPS!!!! fansill MH-General Discussions & Problems 41 09-20-2011 11:01 PM
Hubby & I and our new 1999 National RV Seaview Imaginee New Member Check-In 7 05-25-2009 07:48 AM
Hubby want TH, wife not sure? tiniree Toy Haulers Discussion 4 01-25-2006 07:59 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.