Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2020, 08:39 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
MoHoGo's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,347
50 Amp site only showing 30 amp shore power

Any info would be appreciated. We have a 50 amp site that shows 115 VAC on each power leg. However the Vegatouch only shows 30 amp shore power on screen and we see the insufficient power message when we try to run multiple AC's.

Everything was fine at our last site. The progressive industries surge protector shows voltage on L1 & L2. Vegatouch shows voltage on each leg as well. Running generator and everything comes up as normal.

We feel that it may be a campsite problem, but also wonder what would cause this if coach related.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________
Jim & Clatie
2017 Anthem 44A, 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail, M&G Braking
MoHoGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-14-2020, 08:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mymyst's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 534
Sounds like a power pedastal issue at the campground. Can you read 230vac across L1-L2, then solid 115 across L1 to ground, L2 to ground? Check for floating neutral as well:
"Power flow entering in one Phase returns through remaining two phases. Neutral Point is not at ground Level but it Float up to Line Voltage. This situation can be very dangerous and customers may suffer serious electric shocks if they touch something where electricity is present."

So check for any voltage between neutral to ground.
__________________
Ernie and Dianna Northern
2015 Entegra Anthem 44 DLQ2017 Entegra Cornerstone 45B
2013 Equinox toad/2014 Jeep GC diesel
mymyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 08:46 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 19,419
50 Amp site only showing 30 amp shore power

Double check that all the breakers are turned on in RV panel. Many systems utilize specific breakers on each leg to determine 30 vs 50 amp.
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 08:50 AM   #4
Community Administrator
 
CLIFFTALL's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 49,189
Blog Entries: 1
Thatís exactly what happened to me. I turned off the W/D breaker as I had removed it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Spk64 View Post
Double check that all the breakers are turned on in RV panel. Many systems utilize specific breakers on each leg to determine 30 vs 50 amp.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
CLIFFTALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 10:36 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Magic-carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 1,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoHoGo View Post
Any info would be appreciated. We have a 50 amp site that shows 115 VAC on each power leg. However the Vegatouch only shows 30 amp shore power on screen and we see the insufficient power message when we try to run multiple AC's.

Everything was fine at our last site. The progressive industries surge protector shows voltage on L1 & L2. Vegatouch shows voltage on each leg as well. Running generator and everything comes up as normal.

We feel that it may be a campsite problem, but also wonder what would cause this if coach related.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
Sounds like the the problems Capt Steve had last summer. Turned out the communication cable to the transfer switch had come loose. The Vega touch defaulted to 30 amps and only ran one AC. All three ran on the generator. I'd take a look at that connection if I were you. Its above or behind the power cord reel. Little black wire with a flat type of connection.
__________________
Jeanne & Rosko
2017 Cornerstone 45B
2014 Anthem 44B Classic (traded)
Magic-carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:26 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
MoHoGo's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,347
Thanks Jeanne, that was the info I was looking for and could not remember where I saw it. The good news is that in this case the problem turned out to be the pedestal. Plugged into another site and all was fine.
__________________
Jim & Clatie
2017 Anthem 44A, 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail, M&G Braking
MoHoGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 08:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Magic-carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 1,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoHoGo View Post
Thanks Jeanne, that was the info I was looking for and could not remember where I saw it. The good news is that in this case the problem turned out to be the pedestal. Plugged into another site and all was fine.
Great, glad you are up and running.

What was wrong with the pedestal? Obviously something that the progressive unit could not or did not give any warning of.??
__________________
Jeanne & Rosko
2017 Cornerstone 45B
2014 Anthem 44B Classic (traded)
Magic-carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 11:12 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cypress, Tx.
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic-carpet View Post
Great, glad you are up and running.

What was wrong with the pedestal? Obviously something that the progressive unit could not or did not give any warning of.??
My guess is the person that wired it up did not do it correctly and instead of each leg being on separate phases. IE 240V between L1 & L2. The had them on the same phase so if you checked between L1 & L2 it would show 0V
__________________
2014 Foretravel IH45
Houston (Cypress), TX.
Turbojack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 02:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Magic-carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 1,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbojack View Post
My guess is the person that wired it up did not do it correctly and instead of each leg being on separate phases. IE 240V between L1 & L2. The had them on the same phase so if you checked between L1 & L2 it would show 0V
So if you follow this diagram, and any test results differ, its a problem with the pedestal.?

I've never had a pedestal issue but its good to know what to look for instead of tearing the coach apart trying to fix something that isn't broke..! Especially if the Progressive unit isn't showing any faults. Wouldn't you think it should tell you there is an issue?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jeanne & Rosko
2017 Cornerstone 45B
2014 Anthem 44B Classic (traded)
Magic-carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 03:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mwoodofd's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Las Colinas, Texas
Posts: 1,779
Thanks Jeanne - that is a good image to save - easy and clear.
__________________
Mark & Debra Wood, Las Colinas, TX.
2013 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ
2013 Thor Challenger 37DT - Sold
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
Mwoodofd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 06:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
MoHoGo's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,347
The pedestal had a 50 amp receptible , but they simply bridged the L1 & L2 legs so only 30 amps, but naturally the surge protect was okay with that and not showing an error. The park had hired one of the campers to wire a few sites and he did this on several of them.

The electrician they had today understood pulled new 4 wire cables between several sites and corrected the problem.
__________________
Jim & Clatie
2017 Anthem 44A, 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail, M&G Braking
MoHoGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 07:50 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Magic-carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 1,264
Ok so the progressive unit thought it was plugged into a 30 amp pigtail adapter and didnít see a problem with that. Is that a correct assumption?
__________________
Jeanne & Rosko
2017 Cornerstone 45B
2014 Anthem 44B Classic (traded)
Magic-carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 08:26 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Magic-carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 1,264
Well this leads me to one more question. Did the pedestal have a 50 amp double pole breaker feeding that 50 amp plug?
__________________
Jeanne & Rosko
2017 Cornerstone 45B
2014 Anthem 44B Classic (traded)
Magic-carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 06:34 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cypress, Tx.
Posts: 698
Looks like besides a hookup wiring issue it was not enough wires ran issue.

When your Vega touch sees that the coach does not have 240v between the legs of the power cord it assumes 30 amp power.

While I was reading this thread it hit me that if they had wired a 50 amp plug with only 1 phase on both legs it would allow the neutral wire to see more then 50 amps it would be overloaded and possible melt the insulation and burn up.
__________________
2014 Foretravel IH45
Houston (Cypress), TX.
Turbojack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power issues, no shore power, no generator power. Only some when engine running Goebs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 03-25-2020 07:06 AM
Plugging into shore power trips shore power breaker BFF Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 8 07-28-2017 10:53 PM
Plugged in to 50 amp and only showing 30. dnystrom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 35 06-17-2016 06:43 PM
Coachmen: Not Power to A/C Compressor on shore power only! rgentry1960 Forest River Owners Forum 0 06-13-2016 08:37 PM
EMS Not showing AMPS with 50 amp shore Power Sky_Boss Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 07-16-2012 10:59 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.