RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2019, 03:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: clearfield, utah
Posts: 630
Battery power

With the 2 3000 series inverters can you run the air conditioners while only using house batteries?
__________________
2020 Cornerstone 45W, 2016 Ford Focus, Charlie the Golden Retriever the owner but not the operator
46490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-17-2019, 03:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 37,069
For a short time if they inverters are wired to support the air cons. Most aren't although it was an option to run the heat pumps on my CC.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft, HWH Active Air
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 03:48 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,542
If your coach is still a Meridian, the short answer is no.

How many and what size are your current batteries?
However, it's possible to install additional batteries, soft start capacitors and with some wiring you could run your AC on inverter/batteries.
Take a look at a Newell coach battery bank. Then you'll understand.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 04:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 23,618
On an Entegra, no. The A/C are not wired to the inverter panel. They are wired to the shore power/generator only panel.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 04:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: clearfield, utah
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
If your coach is still a Meridian, the short answer is no.

How many and what size are your current batteries?
However, it's possible to install additional batteries, soft start capacitors and with some wiring you could run your AC on inverter/batteries.
Take a look at a Newell coach battery bank. Then you'll understand.
Sorry for the misunderstanding - I was talking about the cornerstone with the 2 3000 inverters.
__________________
2020 Cornerstone 45W, 2016 Ford Focus, Charlie the Golden Retriever the owner but not the operator
46490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 04:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
LWBAZ's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,451
Below is a photo of what you need in the way of a battery bank if you want to do that - 16 (yes, sixteen) GC2 golf-cart-style batteries in a Newmar King Aire.

And even with that, my understanding is they only wire one of the rooftop AC units to run off the inverter.

That King Aire battery bank has a rated capacity of 1,760 Amp Hours. In comparison, the highest capacity battery bank Entegra currently installs is less than half that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Newmar King Aire House Battery Bank-6.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	132.8 KB
ID:	246316  
__________________
Larry & Amy Beckner
Scottsdale, AZ
2018 Entegra Cornerstone 45B
LWBAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 05:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,793
Blog Entries: 1
464

Short answer, definitely not. The ACs work only on commercial power or if your Onan 12.5 is running. Turn either of those off, and the ACs turn off.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5Fi
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 06:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by LWBAZ View Post
Below is a photo of what you need in the way of a battery bank if you want to do that - 16 (yes, sixteen) GC2 golf-cart-style batteries in a Newmar King Aire.

And even with that, my understanding is they only wire one of the rooftop AC units to run off the inverter.

That King Aire battery bank has a rated capacity of 1,760 Amp Hours. In comparison, the highest capacity battery bank Entegra currently installs is less than half that.



Would I have to add a bay under the V10 on my F53?
__________________
2008 Winnebago Sightseer 35-J
puttin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 07:28 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 62
AC of Batteries

You can run one off the batteries. You will need a lot of AMPS to make it very long. you will have to take one ac wire off shore-gen side and put another brakier in inverter side.
texskeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 07:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6,957
I don’t think the OP was asking if it is theoretically possible, but if the coach comes that way. The answer is no. It is theoretically possible to run one AC from the inverters, but not for long. It would exhaust the batteries quickly, and the life if the batteries would be seriously impaired if done more than a few times.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
2018 Lincoln MKX
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 08:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,688
If your AC draws 14 amps AC, that convertes to 140 amps + about 10% inverter losses, at 12 volt DC.

With one AC drawing 150 amps and it running about 50% of the time ( A conservative estimate in hot weather), it will consume 70 amps an hour or 70 AH, ( Amp Hour ). Double that if you need to run 2 ACs.

If you need to use your AC, I would think its hot and its going to be on for a number of hours.

If you were to run it for 6 hours, cycling on and off 1/2 the time, it would consume 480 AHs. That's a lot of energy from your battery bank.
By then its time to start the generator, and run it harder to power the charger, to recharge the batteries, and continue to keep the AC going.

Your fuel costs go up, your battery life goes down, but you can say it can be done.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power or Battery Power? Rookie RV Question PrancingBurt iRV2.com General Discussion 10 03-17-2017 12:04 AM
Shoreline power not charging the house battery or power the main lights! bsgrove73 Class C Motorhome Discussions 13 07-05-2016 11:54 PM
Shore Power vs Battery Power Judy Z iRV2.com General Discussion 8 10-02-2014 08:44 PM
Shore Power vs Battery Power Judy Z Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 6 09-26-2014 11:32 PM
battery disconnect switch not working...no battery power kennyb79 RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-27-2012 07:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.