Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2021, 10:09 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,798
Blog Entries: 1
Direct replacement for induction cooktop

Dee and I must have the worst luck. Even in our 15 Anthem, our Anthem got one of the experimental induction cooktops in it, before they became the default cooktop in Entegras. And ours failed strangely. We discovered that the assembly line reversed the wiring when manufactured.... so that when we put it into heat determined cooking (you pick the number 7 and it heats to the 7 level) or you cook by temperature control (you want the burner to be at 220 degrees), but ours was wired backwards, so it would never boil water, for example as it never got to the right heat level even with the number set as high as it would go. The unit was replaced under warranty and never had a problem again.


Now, this Cornerstone has the Furrion induction in it and Dee has been unhappy with it for the past year or more, but she hates anything other than gas for cooking, and that is not possible, so I sort of didnt listen to her complaints.... well, I listened but didnt do anything about it. But she was cooking bacon and saying once again that it was cooking the center of each piece of bacon but not the ends and I started to listen. We also have a cheap single burner Induction that we bought at Sams for those rare times that you actually need three burners and we drug that out and sure enough that single burner cooked bacon just fine... from one end of the strip to the other. So that indicated a problem with the default left burner. So then we tried the right burner to see if it worked OK and only the left burner was bad, but no, it was the same.... cooked the center of bacon strips but not the ends.

So, the Furrion two-burner is $450 junk .... the inner coil is working but the outer coil is not working and the whole Furrion piece of junk is headed for the landfill as both outer coils don't activate at all. Now, the question. Has anyone replaced the 2 burner Furrion induction yet and what unit did you find that exactly fits the whole in the granite countertop? I don't want another Furrion (I think they are junk) but I also don't want a unit that I have to cut more granite out to get the new unit to fit. Any advice????

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-23-2021, 10:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19,501
Here is the Installation Manual for True Induction 2 burner stove top
*Check cut out dimensions

http://www.trueinduction.com/pdf/TI-2BN%20manual.pdf
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 01:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Denie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary.Jones View Post
Dee and I must have the worst luck. Even in our 15 Anthem, our Anthem got one of the experimental induction cooktops in it, before they became the default cooktop in Entegras. And ours failed strangely. We discovered that the assembly line reversed the wiring when manufactured.... so that when we put it into heat determined cooking (you pick the number 7 and it heats to the 7 level) or you cook by temperature control (you want the burner to be at 220 degrees), but ours was wired backwards, so it would never boil water, for example as it never got to the right heat level even with the number set as high as it would go. The unit was replaced under warranty and never had a problem again.


Now, this Cornerstone has the Furrion induction in it and Dee has been unhappy with it for the past year or more, but she hates anything other than gas for cooking, and that is not possible, so I sort of didnt listen to her complaints.... well, I listened but didnt do anything about it. But she was cooking bacon and saying once again that it was cooking the center of each piece of bacon but not the ends and I started to listen. We also have a cheap single burner Induction that we bought at Sams for those rare times that you actually need three burners and we drug that out and sure enough that single burner cooked bacon just fine... from one end of the strip to the other. So that indicated a problem with the default left burner. So then we tried the right burner to see if it worked OK and only the left burner was bad, but no, it was the same.... cooked the center of bacon strips but not the ends.

So, the Furrion two-burner is $450 junk .... the inner coil is working but the outer coil is not working and the whole Furrion piece of junk is headed for the landfill as both outer coils don't activate at all. Now, the question. Has anyone replaced the 2 burner Furrion induction yet and what unit did you find that exactly fits the whole in the granite countertop? I don't want another Furrion (I think they are junk) but I also don't want a unit that I have to cut more granite out to get the new unit to fit. Any advice????

Gary
Are these 240V? Could it be your A or B leg is dead? Is the pan large enough to activate the outer coils?
__________________
2012 Jayco Seneca 36FK
With a 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara always tailgating us about 5' from our bumper!!
Denie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 03:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary.Jones View Post
Dee and I must have the worst luck. Even in our 15 Anthem, our Anthem got one of the experimental induction cooktops in it, before they became the default cooktop in Entegras. And ours failed strangely. We discovered that the assembly line reversed the wiring when manufactured.... so that when we put it into heat determined cooking (you pick the number 7 and it heats to the 7 level) or you cook by temperature control (you want the burner to be at 220 degrees), but ours was wired backwards, so it would never boil water, for example as it never got to the right heat level even with the number set as high as it would go. The unit was replaced under warranty and never had a problem again.


Now, this Cornerstone has the Furrion induction in it and Dee has been unhappy with it for the past year or more, but she hates anything other than gas for cooking, and that is not possible, so I sort of didnt listen to her complaints.... well, I listened but didnt do anything about it. But she was cooking bacon and saying once again that it was cooking the center of each piece of bacon but not the ends and I started to listen. We also have a cheap single burner Induction that we bought at Sams for those rare times that you actually need three burners and we drug that out and sure enough that single burner cooked bacon just fine... from one end of the strip to the other. So that indicated a problem with the default left burner. So then we tried the right burner to see if it worked OK and only the left burner was bad, but no, it was the same.... cooked the center of bacon strips but not the ends.

So, the Furrion two-burner is $450 junk .... the inner coil is working but the outer coil is not working and the whole Furrion piece of junk is headed for the landfill as both outer coils don't activate at all. Now, the question. Has anyone replaced the 2 burner Furrion induction yet and what unit did you find that exactly fits the whole in the granite countertop? I don't want another Furrion (I think they are junk) but I also don't want a unit that I have to cut more granite out to get the new unit to fit. Any advice????

Gary
Gary, I bought a true induction unit from Bontreager surplus in White Pigeon Mi. It was exactly the same size as the furrion and still in the box. Price at that time was $130, but itís been a year or so.
__________________
Jerry
2020 cornerstone
J Gunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 08:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
philnail's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Full Time - Most of the time we are lost.
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Gunter View Post
Gary, I bought a true induction unit from Bontreager surplus in White Pigeon Mi. It was exactly the same size as the furrion and still in the box. Price at that time was $130, but itís been a year or so.


Hi Gary

In our Classic we found not find a single unit to replace our existing induction so I gave my wife a countertop induction I used in my outdoor kitchen and she loved it. This year we replaced the countertop in the coach and made it fit the drop in cheap induction cooktops. Best thing we could have done.

Good luck. See you in Quartzsite
__________________
BBQ-Guy
philnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 08:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,798
Blog Entries: 1
Jerry

I'll call Bontraeger and see if they have more but I'm betting no joy.

I did some Googling today and and found that the True Induction is till available.. The unit must be a 120 VAC unit. There are also 240 units out there but can only use 120 VAC. Also, the True Induction that is carried by most people is the one that is actually oriented long side left and right and the short side in front so We would need to install it sideways, with the bottom controls to the left side and the burners left and right. That would be a little strange but I am sure that we can get used to it.

There are pictures of a True Induction that would be oriented correctly, but although I see an occasional picture, I have not yet found a company that carries it. Might be supply chain problems or maybe not as popular. There are tons of much cheaper 120 VAC inductions which are top of the counter units.... and much cheaper than the Furrion or the True Induction, but we are going to try for the exact replacement as a first preference. Someone's got one.... I just need to find it. The True Induction is also about $100 cheaper (the one oriented wrong). So, still looking.

Sure won't be another Furrion. Also, wish I had listened to Dee more closely about a year ago as we would have been under warranty and Entegra would have paid for it.... damn! I will listen to every word that Dee speaks much more carefully in the future.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 07:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary.Jones View Post
Jerry

I'll call Bontraeger and see if they have more but I'm betting no joy.

I did some Googling today and and found that the True Induction is till available.. The unit must be a 120 VAC unit. There are also 240 units out there but can only use 120 VAC. Also, the True Induction that is carried by most people is the one that is actually oriented long side left and right and the short side in front so We would need to install it sideways, with the bottom controls to the left side and the burners left and right. That would be a little strange but I am sure that we can get used to it.

There are pictures of a True Induction that would be oriented correctly, but although I see an occasional picture, I have not yet found a company that carries it. Might be supply chain problems or maybe not as popular. There are tons of much cheaper 120 VAC inductions which are top of the counter units.... and much cheaper than the Furrion or the True Induction, but we are going to try for the exact replacement as a first preference. Someone's got one.... I just need to find it. The True Induction is also about $100 cheaper (the one oriented wrong). So, still looking.

Sure won't be another Furrion. Also, wish I had listened to Dee more closely about a year ago as we would have been under warranty and Entegra would have paid for it.... damn! I will listen to every word that Dee speaks much more carefully in the future.

Gary
DW dropped something and cracked the Furrion top. The True Induction unit from Bontreager orientation was correct and it fit perfectly in the same hole.
__________________
Jerry
2020 cornerstone
J Gunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 08:33 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
LWBAZ's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,272
Gary, I’m guessing your cooktop is the same as or similar to this one:

https://furrion.com/collections/cook...uction-cooktop

On that web page, you’ll see the following statement:

“800W built-in cooktop features an intuitive power-management system for precision cooking while a sensor touch control detects the cooking zone to ensure the most efficient use of energy.”

I take that to mean there is no user control of the inner and outer heating elements. We have a non-induction GE electric cooktop here at home. It will automatically detect the pan size, but the user can override that automatic selection if desired. Assuming there is no such user override on your Furrion cooktop, it could be – as you speculated – that the auto sensing has failed on both burners. That’s possible, especially if there is common circuitry controlling that function for both burners, but…

Before you pop for a new cooktop I would suggest some experimentation. Here are some statements from the Furrion user manual:

Suitable Cookware

Only ferromagnetic (magnetic) pans are suitable for induction cooking, these can be made from enameled steel, cast iron, special stainless steel utensils for induction cooking,

Unsuitable Cookware

Never use pans made of thin normal steel, glass, clay, copper, aluminum. Never use cookware with support rings such as woks. Check that the bases of your pans are attracted by a magnet to find out if they are suitable. Never heat up empty pans. This could damage the appliance and the cookware.

Cookware Size

Optimal cookware has a flat bottom and a diameter of 4.5” to 10”. Round, flat bottom pans give the best results. Pans with warped or curved bottoms will not evenly.

I’m sure you and/or Dee know most if not all of that. But before you conclude your current cooktop has failed, I would try one or more pans other than the one Dee was using to cook the bacon, and try any such pans on both burners. If you have a small diameter pot or pan and a similar large diameter pot or pan, I’d try both diameters to see what happens.

My point is that the pan Dee was using MIGHT be the issue. It might look fine, but could still be the cause of the problem. (I know you tried your portable single-burner induction unit and indicated it worked fine, but I'm guessing that one has only one heating element.)

Good luck and keep us posted!
__________________
Larry & Amy Beckner
Scottsdale, AZ
2018 Entegra Cornerstone 45B
LWBAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 09:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
bevandtomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,498
Might try and ask on Newmar forum too.
__________________
___________
Tom & Bev, Riley(3yo Lab)
2014 Entegra Aspire 44b
2017 Jeep JKU
bevandtomH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 07:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,798
Blog Entries: 1
Larry and others

Dee is well aware of the cooking pan issue. We had to buy virtually all "induction" certified pans when we got the Anthem. We felt we could buy better and when we upgraded to the Cornerstone, we bought even newer "induction" certified pans. And they seemed to be OK initially. So, our bet continues to be a failed mechanism that senses the pan size, but now that you have raised that issue, she also has a very nice stainless steel pan set that has a 10" and a 12" flat bottom stainless steel pan and we have a set or cast iron pans so I will try to fry some bacon using both of those as proof of the pudding.

My bey is still the sensing circuit but the scientific tests will prove the argument...

GARY
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 08:30 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 17
This sounds like the kind of project you should have some help with, it is possible you may have more bacon than one person should be confirming the correct cooking with. Maybe you should post location and spot number so we can help you with that
Tooltime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 08:34 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
LWBAZ's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,272
Gary, my intent wasn't to suggest your existing cooktop is fine. The point was to recommend you do all you can to confirm that supposition before popping for a new cooktop.

The fact that you/Dee had the same problem on both burners suggests one of two things:

1) There is common circuitry/logic for pan size sensing, which has failed...

or

2) The pan size sensing functionality is fine but is somehow being confused by the particular pan Dee was using.

If all else fails, I can make you a special friends-only deal on a slightly/lightly used cooktop like the one in the attached photo!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Coleman Camp Stove.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	38.7 KB
ID:	349905  
__________________
Larry & Amy Beckner
Scottsdale, AZ
2018 Entegra Cornerstone 45B
LWBAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 09:02 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,798
Blog Entries: 1
Larry

You, as usual, are too kind. That is one of those modern cooking units that I have seen in stores or pictures. You have to understand that the version of cooktop that I have was a white gas version of that Coleman, with a pressurized fuel canister 30 to 35 years older than that one. I believe it is still in the attic. I believe, its predecessor was a propane backpacking unit that Dee and I used in the Rockies, sometime circa 1976 or 1977. That and a backpacking tent are also stored up in the attic. The upgrade to a fancy unit such as you have offered would be a great replacement for my crummy Furrion induction unit. It might be a fire risk but I'm willing to give it a try. Maybe further experimentation will reveal that the pan is the problem, but I'm not holding my breath.

I'm going to try other pans and see how they do. I might just invite the forum for a bacon breakfast.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 09:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 538
You did not give a model number or the dimensions, so I am guessing. But the two burner Ferrion induction on their website is the same size as their three burner gas drop-in. Now why can you not use gas?
https://furrion.com/collections/cook...el-gas-cooktop
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, replace, replacement



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing gas cooktop to electric induction cooktop GoneWithTheWind Entegra Owner's Forum 7 06-23-2018 07:49 AM
Induction Cooktop v. Electric Cooktop Deek Newmar Owner's Forum 23 04-13-2014 12:19 AM
Induction Cooktop Recon4 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 10-24-2012 08:14 AM
Portable Induction Cooktop ChiefJohn RV Gourmet 6 09-10-2010 07:36 AM
Cooktop Information - Induction brucedelta Newmar Owner's Forum 3 03-26-2008 09:49 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.