RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2020, 04:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Florida Cooters Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 51
Electrical hookup question

My Qwest uses a 30A hookup. I have a pigtail with a male 50A and female 30A. Can I use this at a site that only has 50A service to power my coach? If this restricts me to 25A overall, I'm good with that as I can manage large loads to avoid going above 25A. Will I be OK with the 50A hookup?
gzvette61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-27-2020, 04:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 712
it will provide power just like a 30 amp pedestal. you will have up to 30 (not 25) amps available. the only difference is that the pedestal breakers will no longer trip on an overload greater than 30 amps. but your 30 amp main breakers in your distribution panel should trip at an overload greater than 30 amps. many people do this.
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 04:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Florida Cooters Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 51
Great, thanks for the information. Opens up some 50A sites we wanted.
Appreciate the quick response!
gzvette61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 05:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
powercat_ras's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,491
50 Amp is actually 120 Volt 50 Amp x 2. 30 Amp is 120 Volt 30 Amp x 1. You can actually get adapters that convert a 50 Amp plug into two 30 Amp sockets, and can actually run two 30 Amp RVs off a 50 Amp Plug at the same time!
__________________
Randy - Manhattan, Kansas
2015 Vista 27N
2016 Honda HR-V
powercat_ras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 05:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,784
50 amp RV service is 50 amps at 120/240 volts.

Most 50 amp RVs would use that as 120 volt only. Its split up in the RV.

Your 50 to 30 amp adaptor only uses half the avalable power, 50 amps at 120 volts.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 05:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 712
while everything stated is true, i suspect the op doesn't really understand all the intricacies. to the OP, you will be fine using that adapter and it you will be able to use up to 30 amps from the 50 amp pedestal just as if you plugged directly into a 30 amp pedestal. you will not see a difference.
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 07:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 255
I have 30 amp service in my RV. I have both 20 amp to 30 amp adapter and a 50 amp to 30 amp. So I can pretty much hook up to anything. Never know what is going to happen so be ready for anything is motto. I may come to a site that 30 amp is not working I can then plug into the 50 amp.

Also be sure you invest in a surge protector. Worth the expense.
__________________
Waldo
2005 Thor Four Winds Hurricane 33'
foundwaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 07:24 AM   #8
Member
 
Florida Cooters Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 51
Yep, I have all the adapters, just haven't had the opportunity/need to use the 50A adapter, so wasn't clear on it. I do have a 30A surge guard that I should be able to mount on the 50 to 30 pigtail.
gzvette61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 02:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Fattman-Litlboy's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 601
Maybe I'm missing something here, but plugging into a 50A connection (that has two 50A legs) at the post with an adapter, will provide power from only one leg of the power. That one leg is 50A, so you will be overloading the 30A cable. I wouldn't do it Ever!
Jim
__________________
Jim & Debra Stephenson
2015 Entegra Anthem 44B
"Enjoying America One Day at a Time!"
Fattman-Litlboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 03:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fattman-Litlboy View Post
Maybe I'm missing something here, but plugging into a 50A connection (that has two 50A legs) at the post with an adapter, will provide power from only one leg of the power. That one leg is 50A, so you will be overloading the 30A cable. I wouldn't do it Ever!
Jim
Not if your RV has a 30 amp breaker at the breaker panel end of the shore cord. You will not be able to draw more the 30 amps.

If you short out the cord before the 30 amp breaker, yes the cord could overload.

Think of it this way. When you plug your lamp into a 20 amp outlet at home, that lamp cord will not handle 20 amps, but it doesn't need to, unless you remove the bulb, screw in an adaptor and plug in a toster oven.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winter Storage & Electrical Hookup Question CARVAL Motorsports Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 12-07-2015 06:54 PM
Electrical Hookup Question ThorEvo1029 Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 06-18-2014 08:59 PM
Electrical Hookup buckeyes Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 10-04-2008 08:04 AM
Electrical Hookup jk_and_dog Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 05-09-2007 06:24 AM
Toad electrical hookup problems jor Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 07-30-2005 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.