RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2020, 10:39 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 218
Fuel Left 9999 msg

I just noticed this message on the Spartan Msg Display. Also, it shows 99.9 mpg. I tried to reset the display and reset the mpg but still same issue. It would be great to get 99.9 mpg🙄, but for now I just want it to indicate correctly.

Any advice on how to reset/correct the system?

Thanks, Tor
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B587EDB3-F07C-4FE5-B131-1E7ED0598B6B.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	347.7 KB
ID:	310313  
737 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-05-2020, 11:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
HarleySG's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Pine, CO
Posts: 622
It’s not really showing MPG, rather... it looks like you just filed your tank, and the display is telling you how many miles it thinks you can go on a tank of gas. Keep scrolling through the displays and you’ll see the MPG.
__________________
Rusty & Pam
2012 Entegra Aspire RBQ
2007 Harley Street Glide
HarleySG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 11:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarleySG View Post
It’s not really showing MPG, rather... it looks like you just filed your tank, and the display is telling you how many miles it thinks you can go on a tank of gas. Keep scrolling through the displays and you’ll see the MPG.
Both indications, distance to go and mpg are just showing “9”s.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	D15A976A-6A4B-412D-9E5B-1248371A0CA7.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	309.6 KB
ID:	310318  
737 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 12:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 24,180
reboot 12v power and see if that clears it.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 01:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
reboot 12v power and see if that clears it.
Just tried a full reboot with no luck. I guess I will try Spartan customer service Monday.

Tor
2017 Anthem 44B
737 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 06:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 133
Did you do the standard 12volt reboot of the salesman switch or a reboot of the Spartan Control Module?

Later ...
Ray
__________________
Ray & Wendy
Full-time wanna-be ... soon
2014 Anthem 42RBQ - 2018 Jeep Wrangler
RayandWendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 06:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 133
These are not mine, but from a post in the Spartan Chassis forum

After cleaning chassis batteries I hooked up the cables and the horn started honking and wouldn't stop. After a lot of work and research Spartan said the horn is controlled by the SCM (Spartan Control Module). Spartan says you must follow this procedure to disconnect the batteries or you could damage the SCM.
Battery compartment
1, Turn off both disconnects (open)
2, Remove fuse panel cover and remove F10 (Ign. SW. 15amp fuse)
3, Remove negative battery cable, remove positive if needed but not necessary for what's next.

Spartan Control Module Hard Reset
Do 1,2,3 above
In front generator compartment
4, Remove the positive cable (3/4" wrench) from the SCM (mine is below the air horns, gold heat sink fins about 10" X 10"
5, Remove the two wire connections P1 and P2, 5/32" allen on the bottom of P1 and P2, carefully pull straight down.
6, Wait 10 minutes and connect in reverse order.
Check the orange rubber gasket around P1 and P2 when you reinstall.

Later ...
Ray
__________________
Ray & Wendy
Full-time wanna-be ... soon
2014 Anthem 42RBQ - 2018 Jeep Wrangler
RayandWendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 10:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
HarleySG's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Pine, CO
Posts: 622
Thanks for the second pic. That would be impressive if true!

I’m not at my coach but there’s a sequence to reset the MPG. Curious to know if you’ve tried it?

Cheers
__________________
Rusty & Pam
2012 Entegra Aspire RBQ
2007 Harley Street Glide
HarleySG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2020, 11:23 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayandWendy View Post
These are not mine, but from a post in the Spartan Chassis forum

After cleaning chassis batteries I hooked up the cables and the horn started honking and wouldn't stop. After a lot of work and research Spartan said the horn is controlled by the SCM (Spartan Control Module). Spartan says you must follow this procedure to disconnect the batteries or you could damage the SCM.
Battery compartment
1, Turn off both disconnects (open)
2, Remove fuse panel cover and remove F10 (Ign. SW. 15amp fuse)
3, Remove negative battery cable, remove positive if needed but not necessary for what's next.

Spartan Control Module Hard Reset
Do 1,2,3 above
In front generator compartment
4, Remove the positive cable (3/4" wrench) from the SCM (mine is below the air horns, gold heat sink fins about 10" X 10"
5, Remove the two wire connections P1 and P2, 5/32" allen on the bottom of P1 and P2, carefully pull straight down.
6, Wait 10 minutes and connect in reverse order.
Check the orange rubber gasket around P1 and P2 when you reinstall.

Later ...
Ray
Wow, that is quite the procedure. I do find this interesting since Cummins worked on it recently and part of what they did was to disconnect the battery. Hmmmm..
I will call Spartan tomorrow and see if they recommend a scm reboot. Again, the only thing not working is the “mpg” and “Fuel left”. All “9”s displayed.

Thanks, Tor
737 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 04:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 218
Just an update.

Today I contacted Spartan and was told by the tech answering the phone that the "Fuel Remaining" and "mpg" on the dash display is connected directly to the engine ECU. I contacted Cummins and they said the display is all OEM controlled. I am slightly confused to say the least. I contacted Entegra today and asked for their help to solve my issue and they have contacted Spartan for guidance. More to come

Tor

2017 Anthem 44B
__________________
Tor
2017 Anthem 44B
Spring, TX
737 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 04:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 24,180
Tor, I had the same finger pointing after the DEF sensor was replaced and the codes cleared on the 19. Adaptive cruise control error message would not clear after a couple of restarts. Cummins said Spartan, Spartan said Cummins, I left after Cummins said we don't have the Spartan software and they tried to clear the codes again. Got back to the hanger after trying to get it to work all the way back. Shut the chassis batteries off for 5 minutes. powered back on, all fixed.
I am going to take an educated guess when they say it's the other guys fix, it's going to be a reboot. JME
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 06:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
Tor, I had the same finger pointing after the DEF sensor was replaced and the codes cleared on the 19. Adaptive cruise control error message would not clear after a couple of restarts. Cummins said Spartan, Spartan said Cummins, I left after Cummins said we don't have the Spartan software and they tried to clear the codes again. Got back to the hanger after trying to get it to work all the way back. Shut the chassis batteries off for 5 minutes. powered back on, all fixed.
I am going to take an educated guess when they say it's the other guys fix, it's going to be a reboot. JME
I believe you are correct. I just didn’t want to do the reboot of the Spartan Control Module before told so by either Spartan or Cummins. It’s simply the location of the SCM that holds me back. Looks like a bit of a pain to get to.

I will update as I learn more.

Tor
2017 Anthem 44B
737 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 06:13 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 133
You can always try the short reboot of just disconnecting the chassis batteries for a while.

Later ...
Ray
__________________
Ray & Wendy
Full-time wanna-be ... soon
2014 Anthem 42RBQ - 2018 Jeep Wrangler
RayandWendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 06:20 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayandWendy View Post
You can always try the short reboot of just disconnecting the chassis batteries for a while.

Later ...
Ray
I think I will do that. Spartan did tell me that the fuse should be pulled. Although, I was told the fuse to pull was F10 and when I received a diagram from Spartan it states to pull F11😲. Perhaps I will just pull both. I will confirm the correct fuse to pull and post it here. Fuse is supposed to be pulled when disconnecting or replacing the chassis batteries.

Tor
2017 Anthem 44B
737 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check Engine Msg Danorske Damon 13 12-10-2011 07:15 PM
How to Enable CTP Powertrain Data Msg's. Edouard National RV Owner's Forum 2 11-04-2010 08:47 AM
Error on Tuner msg during DTV/KVH setup lukidog Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 09-23-2010 01:22 PM
Magnadyne 9999 Radio indiana journey Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 05-03-2010 07:28 AM
9999.9 miles to 0000.0 miles Chief Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 9 10-31-2007 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.