Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2021, 04:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Fuel sensor

I am having a fuel sensors warning come up on my Allison shift selector. What fuel sensor are they talking about?
jillmerriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-26-2021, 05:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,501
Blog Entries: 1
Please give us more information. What coach and what year model. We need to know what coach you are having trouble with

When you say you see "Fuel Sensor" on the dash, please tell us more. Is this part of a Spartan code that you are seeing? Is there a SPN number associated with that error? There are more extended error descriptions if this is part of a SPN code.

Error codes that might be associated with fuel sensor should not be coming up on the Allison transmission shift selector to be best of my knowledge. There is a display that is on the dash, but it should not be part of the Allison Display.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 08:18 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
It is a Integra Anthem 2016. When we turn key on get a warning on Allison transmission shift selector and it says “Fuel Sensor” and shows a wrench. Once we start it goes off. Any clues? Thanks for response!!
jillmerriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 08:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 24,757
I couldn't find anything regarding fuel sensor in the Allison owners manual. Can you attach a photo?
https://assets.wellertruck.com/refer...tor-manual.pdf


https://cdn.mpparts.com/pdfs/Trans%20Codes.pdf
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 09:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Magic-carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,125
FuelSense is the software that allison uses to control the shifting. I believe the text "FuelSense" comes up on the panel everytime I start the coach and then it disappears. It stays on for about 3 seconds and then I get the wrench and NN. I believe its normal operation of the software booting up. Unless of course it doesn't go out. How long is it staying on?
__________________
Jeanne & Rosko
2017 Cornerstone 45B
2014 Anthem 44B Classic (traded)
Magic-carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 10:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 24,757
Jeanne, Thanks for that information. Four coaches with the same shift pad and I have never seen that message. Then again, I am watching the oil pressure and probably never saw it. Today is a good day, I learned something new.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 11:49 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,501
Blog Entries: 1
What Jeanne is saying makes sense.... The is absolutely no reason for a Spartan Code showing a problem with the fuel system or after-combustion system to be showing up on the Allison shift display. All that I have ever used that display for was manually sifting the gears (very rarely) and to check the level of the transmission fluid. I'm bettin' Jeannie is exactly right. If she is right, I've never noticed that message... will pay attention the next time I fire up the Cummins !!

Oh, and "Jill", consider adding your important equipment to a signature section so that it always shows when you post. Without it, anyone giving advice or information is likely to be wrong. Go to the User CP (control panel) button in the top left of this page, click, go down to signature section and add up to three lines of equipment there and it will be a big help to all of us that might try to help.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 06:11 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mwoodofd's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Las Colinas, Texas
Posts: 1,491
I've seen the wrench on the shifter when starting, but not "fuel sense", that I'm aware of - will pay attention on next start.
__________________
Mark & Debra Wood, Las Colinas, TX.
2013 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
Mwoodofd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 07:42 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Gasman 2's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Caldwell , Ohio 43724
Posts: 1,307
More about what Jeanne posted.

I have never heard of this fuelsense before and I have had the Allison rep call on us discussing Allison’s features, maybe this is new. Sounds like an improved economy mod.
Thanks Jeanne.

Richard


https://www.allisontransmission.com/...ison/fuelsense
__________________
Gasman 2
2016 Anthem 42 RBQ
Toad 2017 GMC Sierra 4X4
Gasman 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 09:10 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,501
Blog Entries: 1
There is an interesting video at the bottom of the link that Richard just provided which gives the main points of the fuel sense. It appears that it is an Allison innovation that provides a "continuously variable" change in shift points depending on how the transmission is being used. The main point that I heard in the video is that it talked about the software dealing with needlessly rapid acceleration (?) and efficiency in typical use. Allison claims that the Fuel Sense software is capable of providing a savings of "up to 6%" in fuel consumption using this technology.

Now it will be interesting to see how far back in the Allison generations this software is included.... maybe on 20 and up models but maybe further back. Since most of us have never seen this message, it might be just a recent innovation.

I'm sure that none of us accelerate more than absolutely necessary.... siunce we are mostly retired and "living the wonderful life" of not being rushed....


Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 10:17 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Thank you all for responses. The sensor does go off. Like Jeannie said just never noticed it before. Usually watching other gauges like oil pressure.
jillmerriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is this sensor in my Wet bay? A temp sensor? CountryB Monaco Owner's Forum 6 11-29-2020 11:00 AM
Bank1 Sensor 1 vs Bank 2 Sensor 1 Starsekr Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 9 09-06-2020 08:01 AM
Primary Fuel Filter Water in Fuel Sensor kketterling Monaco Owner's Forum 33 03-04-2017 05:02 PM
2007 Monaco Cayman XL (39PTD) Fuel sensor and gauge. joelsr Monaco Owner's Forum 12 09-08-2008 02:52 PM
Leaking Fuel sensor Joe Hamilton Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 08-10-2007 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.