Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2016, 05:42 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
MoHoGo's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,336
Furrion Induction Cooktop

The DW was trying to boil water on one side and heat up sauce for the pasta on the other.

Water side was set to 10 and as soon as the other side was turned on the water side set back to about 5 or 6. It also seemed to take far too long to boil the water even with one side off. Cookware was All Clad so that should be good to go with Induction.

How is the cooktop supposed to work? Are you able to run both sides at the same time without power limiting one or the other?

tks
__________________
Jim & Clatie
2017 Anthem 44A, 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail, M&G Braking
MoHoGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-04-2016, 05:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
ronjhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,201
The Furrion Induction Cooktop is similar to the True Induction Cooktop. They both share 1500 watts between 2 burners. They balance power to 2 burners. Max setting would be 5 if both burners are on. If you want to boil water put one burner at 2 and the other at 8. Make sure you use a cover on pot that is boiling.
__________________
2004 Endura 6340D SOLD
2012 Chevy Captiva toad SOLD
ronjhall is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 06:18 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,328
Your current cooktop is a 110 volt model. If your a serious cook you might consider a 220 volt cooktop like a Wolf. Unfortunately it would probably require some re wiring..
__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 03:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 8,978
Blog Entries: 1
There is no 220/240 VAC in our coaches. All circuits are wired for 120V and since circuits are limited to 1500-1800 watts, then the maximum you are every going to get out of anything is 1500-1800 watts. As the second poster says, you are limited to that full wattage across both burners. if you have only one burner on, then you can have all the power on the one position, but as soon as you turn on the second burner, then the power to the second burner is subtracted from the power initially allocated to the first burner. This was all clearly acknowledged in the "True Inductdion User Manual"

My wife is quite unimpressed with 120 VAC Induction cooking and has said a hundred time that she wished she still had propane as it takes forever to boil water, or cook hamburger for that matter, even when using only one burner. She has begun to boil water in the microwave as she says it is faster, and she has some plastic guizzmo which lets her make pasta in the microwave.

Some have gone out and bought a second one burner induction unit which they connect to a different power circuit in the coach so that they can have two 1500-1800 watts of power on two different units. True Induction, which was used in many of the "classic coaches" from about 2015 and maybe most of 2016 markets very small and compact separate units. They are sold on Amazon, and SAMS used to carry them.

My wife still grumbles like mad if she is cooking anything sophisticated on the induction hobs as she is used to a professional grade natural gas range at home.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 06:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
MoHoGo's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,336
Makes you wonder why they don't allow for two 115 VAC input circuits for the induction cooktop. Would be really simple to do and they could even give OEM's the option to provide one or two AC circuits to the cooktop.
__________________
Jim & Clatie
2017 Anthem 44A, 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail, M&G Braking
MoHoGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 07:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,328
A 50 amp coach can be wired for 220 though most do not. I was fortunate that my Phaeton came with a 220 volt induction cooktop. I have since replaced the OEM unit with a Wolf because to original wasn't very good.
It cannot be used on 30 amp but we carry a portable 110 unit in those cases.
__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:33 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 5,238
I intend to replace our electric cooktop with a Wolf. The Wolf is 240 volt but I checked with them and it is a 3 wire connection, not 4 wire split-phase so the existing wiring can be used. The only difference is the taping of the white wire to red on the cooktop's junction box and a bit of reconfiguring with circuit breakers to tap into both poles on the head end. That will double the wattage and allow both burners to run full bore at the same time. With 240 VAC you cannot run the cooktop off of an inverter but then with that much wattage you wouldn't want to anyway.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:36 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 5,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selah View Post
A 50 amp coach can be wired for 220 though most do not. I was fortunate that my Phaeton came with a 220 volt induction cooktop. I have since replaced the OEM unit with a Wolf because to original wasn't very good.
It cannot be used on 30 amp but we carry a portable 110 unit in those cases.
A 42LH should have 3 air conditioners and a 10KW generator. The 10KW and 12.5 KW generators due make 240 volt power so you could run your cooktop on the generator if you wanted to. With the 7500 watt and 8KW generators, this is not possible because they are duplexed 120 volt and do not make 240 volt power.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:42 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 5,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoHoGo View Post
Makes you wonder why they don't allow for two 115 VAC input circuits for the induction cooktop. Would be really simple to do and they could even give OEM's the option to provide one or two AC circuits to the cooktop.
There's really no reason to do that though. Residential applications can just use 240 VAC. The RV market is smaller plus if you did have two 20 amp 120 VAC circuits to feed it you would pull a total of 40 amps. That wouldn't work on 30 amp shore power and if you had 50 amp shore power you would have 240 VAC available anyway and the load would be balanced between the two phases.

It's easier just to wire the breaker panel for a 240 VAC breaker and they'll only have to run half as many wires. Not sure about this but it may not even be legal as per the NEMA code because a service tech could switch off one breaker, thinking he had killed power to the unit, and not known about the second - at least until he opened it up and got a poke.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:46 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Green D's Avatar
 
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Van,Tx
Posts: 430
I'm in the Fan camp myself, I had the electric cooktop factory and replaced it with the induction.
For me I used the same pan to do a test boil of water and my induction beat my electric and gas in the stick home.
I love being able to use it off the inverter and how little heat it produces.
You can use the surface to prepare after cooking in a minute compared to forever with the electric top.
Now Im not a chef but it works great for me.
Beans and Wennies Anyone
__________________
2011 American Coach 42P Tradition
Pressure Pro
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
Green D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 07:29 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 7
Unhappy Induction Cook top in my Aspire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green D View Post
I'm in the Fan camp myself, I had the electric cooktop factory and replaced it with the induction.
For me I used the same pan to do a test boil of water and my induction beat my electric and gas in the stick home.
I love being able to use it off the inverter and how little heat it produces.
You can use the surface to prepare after cooking in a minute compared to forever with the electric top.
Now Im not a chef but it works great for me.
Beans and Wennies Anyone


Well, I guess it's a good thing I won't be relying on this cook top as my primary means of meal prep. Thankfully I have an electric skillet and convection microwave that will take up the slack, and I can always pick up another stand-alone cooker, of sorts, if needs be. Just wish I'd known this before completing the purchase on our 2017 Aspire. This wouldn't have been a deal breaker, but I was led to believe (by others-not the sales person) that induction cooking was the next huge step-up in the art of cooking. Guess "they" were wrong.
2TxRvers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 07:43 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 5,238
You can replace it with a regular electric (non-induction) cooktop. There are a number of them out there (ours is a Kenyon) and you don't have to go to a high end unit like a Wolf unless you want to.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 07:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 152
At home I use an induction cooktop exclusively. I bought it 3 years ago at Target for about 50 bucks. It is one of those small hot plate types . It has probably been the best $50 I have ever spent. In the week I'll be hitting the road for a month and I intend to take that cooktop with me. The coach has a 3 burner propane stove which will probably not get used at all.
Induction and an ouside grill should be good for all the cooking.
OldBeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 08:31 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 25,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldBeaver View Post
At home I use an induction cooktop exclusively. I bought it 3 years ago at Target for about 50 bucks. It is one of those small hot plate types . It has probably been the best $50 I have ever spent. In the week I'll be hitting the road for a month and I intend to take that cooktop with me. The coach has a 3 burner propane stove which will probably not get used at all.
Induction and an outside grill should be good for all the cooking.
We picked up a Faberware Induction at Walmart for $34.95 as we wanted the blacken some fresh caught salmon outside. It worked great! No need to update our electric cooktop as this will suit our needs just fine. If I ruin it blacken fish, or beef, it's a throwaway. We tried blacking steaks from Yoders with Blacken seasoning from E&S bulk food store and both were outstanding. Just another option for using another Induction burner.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induction Cooktop v. Electric Cooktop Deek Newmar Owner's Forum 23 04-12-2014 11:19 PM
Induction Cooktop Recon4 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 10-24-2012 07:14 AM
Has anyone installed an induction cooktop? Suspinz RV Gourmet 1 10-04-2012 11:42 AM
Portable Induction Cooktop ChiefJohn RV Gourmet 6 09-10-2010 06:36 AM
Cooktop Information - Induction brucedelta Newmar Owner's Forum 3 03-26-2008 08:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.