Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2022, 04:46 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 28,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglee25 View Post
Don't these rigs do load shed management?

Ie two ACs are on, you start up the microwave and the one AC compressor is shed temporarily while the microwave is used. Once completed the AC restarts?
I have had 3 Entegrss, non of them have load shed. However the Progressive EMS that is installed, will shut the AC down at 108v before shutting power to the coach off. If you manual shed loads, the Progressive will let the AC come back on.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-04-2022, 06:31 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltdoc View Post
The charger will pull the most from shore power after you first plug in for at least an hour or two, then diminish gradually as the batteries reach full charge.
Will give it a try - I've been doing it manually. When first connected, I only run on one AC until the batteries goes to float. Then turn on the second.
__________________
2018 Entegra Anthem 44B- Streaming/Direct TV
Verizon / T-Mobile 5G / FMCA ATT / Starlink
Buick Encore GX AWD
mike625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 09:18 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,423
I think you have found the best way to figure it out. Try it. The worst that can happen is a circuit breaker will trip. If so, shut something "off".
__________________
Paul Bristol
Kodiak Cub 176RD
Nissan Pathfinder 2015
Persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 09:54 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
voltdoc's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Greenwich, RI
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
I have read that the whole RV Soft Start will trip out some built in surge guards.

It seems that when it attempts to ramp up the power, the voltage drops below the surge protectors threshold and it shuts down the power. Then everything resets as it trys again and again.
Do you know specifically which products? I have a built in Progressive HW50C.
__________________
Rob & Linda https://MyQuantumDiscovery.com
2017 Entegra Aspire 44B - 2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland
2013 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ
voltdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 10:16 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
voltdoc's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Greenwich, RI
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
I have had 3 Entegrss, non of them have load shed. However the Progressive EMS that is installed, will shut the AC down at 108v before shutting power to the coach off. If you manual shed loads, the Progressive will let the AC come back on.
Hey Chuck, your 2019 and 2021 don't have load shed systems? Maybe it's done in the Vegatouch software? Or maybe on the '21 at least you have the single Hybrid inverter which can reduce or eliminate the need for load shed?

My 2013 didn't have it but my 2017 does in the form of a Precision Circuits Mini. It shuts down the AC element on the water heater first, next the rear AC, then the front AC, then the mid AC.
__________________
Rob & Linda https://MyQuantumDiscovery.com
2017 Entegra Aspire 44B - 2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland
2013 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ
voltdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 10:33 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
I have read that the whole RV Soft Start will trip out some built in surge guards.

It seems that when it attempts to ramp up the power, the voltage drops below the surge protectors threshold and it shuts down the power. Then everything resets as it trys again and again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by voltdoc View Post
Do you know specifically which products? I have a built in Progressive HW50C.
I just ordererd the softstart plug-in model. I too have a built in Progressive HW50C, but it can be switched off when using the Softstart, and the Softstart plug-in unit has its own surge protector built into it.

I think this is a great solution, because this way I can choose which two of my three A/Cs I want to run at any given time.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
2018 Lincoln MKX
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 10:43 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 28,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltdoc View Post
Hey Chuck, your 2019 and 2021 don't have load shed systems? Maybe it's done in the Vegatouch software? Or maybe on the '21 at least you have the single Hybrid inverter which can reduce or eliminate the need for load shed?

My 2013 didn't have it but my 2017 does in the form of a Precision Circuits Mini. It shuts down the AC element on the water heater first, next the rear AC, then the front AC, then the mid AC.
Rob, if it does have load shed, I am not aware of it. The 21 still has the duel inverters. I run the AC in storage in the hanger on 20 amp. The Progressive shuts the AC off before anything. Guess I need to get out and use the 21 on 30 amp to find out which one will shed loads first.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 10:46 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
777 Driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltdoc View Post
Hey Chuck, your 2019 and 2021 don't have load shed systems? Maybe it's done in the Vegatouch software? Or maybe on the '21 at least you have the single Hybrid inverter which can reduce or eliminate the need for load shed?

My 2013 didn't have it but my 2017 does in the form of a Precision Circuits Mini. It shuts down the AC element on the water heater first, next the rear AC, then the front AC, then the mid AC.
Rob, I'm in the middle on this issue - '18 Anthem.

From the VegaTouch 2018 User's Manual Revision 2:

Shed Order

These devices will be shed in the following order if AC power levels become insufficient:
Chargers
Electric AquaHot
Mid AC/Heat Pump
Front AC/Heat Pump
Bed AC/Heat Pump

Testing Shed Logic

The shed logic is built into the Logic Controller (which is the Outboard LC on the versions page).

To see if the shed logic is working properly, ensure that you coach is plugged into 2-phase shore power.
Go to the settings page (gear icon) and set the Shore Power to 5 amps. Turn on all ACís and Electric AquaHot. Youíll see that the devices will begin to shed. Once they have shed, increase the Shore Power setting by 5 amps at a time. The Bedroom and Front ACís should both turn on between 15-20 amps. Next, the Mid AC and Electric AquaHot should turn on between 30-35 amps. Lastly, the chargers will kick in and use any leftover power as needed.

Take care,
Stu
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers that can't be questioned."
2018 Anthem 42DEQ
777 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 11:20 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,930
I've tried running two rooftop units on 30A at home for a few hours.

Rear of my coach where the cord reel lives is about 80' from my hookup. Even with my Hughes Autoformer inline, I ended up pulling 28A, voltage drop wasn't too bad, but after several hours running, one of the plugs between two 30A extension cords was beginning to melt!

You may do better with a shorter run to the shore power, and only the short 50-30A dogbone.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 11:30 AM   #24
Member
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 613
To run 2 a/c's you need to plug in directly to the outlet. Not add an extension cord. You will are going to cause some issue either in your coach or at the plug.
__________________
.
NATIONAL INDOOR RV CENTERS - NIRVC
Sales | Service | Indoor Storage | Wash
Collision Repair & Paint Restoration


SM Nashville 972-697-6325
Bobby Dowdle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2022, 11:46 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,930
Yep!

Every connection is a possible failure point. Especially the smaller prongs 30A plugs have.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 06:48 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
voltdoc's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Greenwich, RI
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRUSA14 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
I have read that the whole RV Soft Start will trip out some built in surge guards.

It seems that when it attempts to ramp up the power, the voltage drops below the surge protectors threshold and it shuts down the power. Then everything resets as it trys again and again.



I just ordererd the softstart plug-in model. I too have a built in Progressive HW50C, but it can be switched off when using the Softstart, and the Softstart plug-in unit has its own surge protector built into it.

I think this is a great solution, because this way I can choose which two of my three A/Cs I want to run at any given time.
Marc, I ordered one as well, agree if needed the Progressive can be shut down easily.The docs for the app are fairly comprehensive and it sounds like there is a good deal of configurability to the system so I'm hopeful for a successful test. For anyone interested you can view the docs here.

I have a secondary use for this as well on our 30A boat, will just need an adapter.

If you think the RV 30A connectors burn up easily, the Marine versions are 10x worse.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/uwQaaUyS6dRFdhFu8
__________________
Rob & Linda https://MyQuantumDiscovery.com
2017 Entegra Aspire 44B - 2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland
2013 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ
voltdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 09:40 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 308
I have a 16...I haven't looked up whether it has load shed or not. My 06 Fleetwood had it and it worked really well surprisingly.
__________________
2016 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ
Douglee25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 12:21 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
I've tried running two rooftop units on 30A at home for a few hours.

Rear of my coach where the cord reel lives is about 80' from my hookup. Even with my Hughes Autoformer inline, I ended up pulling 28A, voltage drop wasn't too bad, but after several hours running, one of the plugs between two 30A extension cords was beginning to melt!

You may do better with a shorter run to the shore power, and only the short 50-30A dogbone.
Assuming you used a 30 amp or more rated extension cord, the melted plug means it was defective in design, build, damaged, or corroded. If it was properly designed, built, and in good condition the circuit breaker should have tripped before the melt occurred.

The autoformer increases current to maintain voltage. That is why the system appeared to have very little voltage drop. A lower resistance power cord system would have had lower current with about the same voltage.

Certainly a shorter run will reduce resistance and decrease voltage loss. Larger copper wires and fewer connectors will also reduce the resistance and thus the voltage loss.
__________________
Paul Bristol
Kodiak Cub 176RD
Nissan Pathfinder 2015
Persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anthem



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 13 (1 members and 12 guests)
monci
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anthem :: 2021 Entegra Anthem Cr8havoc iRV2 Owners Registry 0 05-02-2021 06:20 PM
Handicap RV Information & Class B & Coach Conversions & Newmar 2021 Mobility Group "007" Class A Motorhome Discussions 54 01-02-2021 07:51 AM
2021 Anthem vs 2021 Aspire lands Entegra Owner's Forum 13 06-07-2020 01:04 PM
To run or not to run..that is the question Jimbo8264 iRV2.com General Discussion 7 11-18-2006 04:30 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.