Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2023, 12:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 83
Shade motor failures - 2 at the same moment?

I have searched the forum and it appears it's my turn. Last night while attempting to lower the bedroom night shades one of them would not lower. Upon testing today I discovered the day shade on the same window is doing the same thing. If I manually pull the shades down part way (using the fabric) either motor will raise the respective shade, but they cannot be lowered.
The other shades in the bedroom all function properly.
Yes, after removing the valance it appears I have the dreaded yellow motors. Searching the various posts this morning I have located the MCD replacement motors part # 50.338.
I did try cycling the salesman switch off then on, to no avail.
I am ready to order some new motors but I can't help but feel it is very strange that both motors would fail at the same time? I can't say for sure that it was exactly the same time (we don't use the day shades in the bedroom very often), but it sure seems that both motors failed at the same moment.
BOTH motors will lift the respective shade but will not lower them... weird.
Any thoughts?
__________________
2014 Entegra Anthem 42DLQ
24 ft Legend Enclosed Auto Trailer
NowGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-17-2023, 01:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 11,294
Blog Entries: 1
Have you tried re-programming the shades both up and down before replacing them? You set both of the start and stop points separately. If there really is a "raise" failure, then it wont program up, but I agree, motors usually fail both directions and not just one direction.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 01:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary.Jones View Post
Have you tried re-programming the shades both up and down before replacing them? You set both of the start and stop points separately. If there really is a "raise" failure, then it wont program up, but I agree, motors usually fail both directions and not just one direction.

Gary
Hi Gary,

Do you mean programming as the MCD shade motors program with the button?
These are the old yellow United Shade motors with the mechanical limit adjustment, no program button.
First tried pulling the shade fuse, wait 30 seconds then plug fuse in, then tried salesman switch, neither method had any effect.
Just seems so strange that both motors would fail in one direction at the same time - coincidence ?
__________________
2014 Entegra Anthem 42DLQ
24 ft Legend Enclosed Auto Trailer
NowGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 01:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RayandWendy's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 828
Also try unplugging the switch panel and plugging it into the net port in the bathroom and try cycling the shades. Sometimes it will reset things. Has worked for me before.
Later...
Ray
__________________
Ray & Wendy
Full-time ... Finally!
2014 Anthem 42RBQ - 2018 Jeep Wrangler - FMCA F521969
RayandWendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 01:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayandWendy View Post
Also try unplugging the switch panel and plugging it into the net port in the bathroom and try cycling the shades. Sometimes it will reset things. Has worked for me before.
Later...
Ray
Hi Ray,
I haven't yet removed/unplugged a panel. I am assuming from your comment that we just have a regular CAT 5/6 plug on a stub network cable that plugs into a network port that is behind the switch panels?
If so I am then assuming each switch function within a switch panel actually sends a different signal to the controller, using common conductor/wires?
The only other way I could see that working is if their are different wire configurations to/from each switch panel?
Craig
__________________
2014 Entegra Anthem 42DLQ
24 ft Legend Enclosed Auto Trailer
NowGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 02:18 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
RayandWendy's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 828
It's not a CAT 5/6 plug, but it does plug right into the test port on the fuse panel. As for the details of how it works, I'm not sure but each switch panel is built on its own circuit board.
Later...
Ray
__________________
Ray & Wendy
Full-time ... Finally!
2014 Anthem 42RBQ - 2018 Jeep Wrangler - FMCA F521969
RayandWendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 03:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 29,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayandWendy View Post
Also try unplugging the switch panel and plugging it into the net port in the bathroom and try cycling the shades. Sometimes it will reset things. Has worked for me before.
Later...
Ray
This^^^The wall panels on the classics are also great for shorting out from static electricity, common in the dry winter months.

There is a test port on the bathroom fuse cabinet in the lower right corner. Plug the panel in and see if it test good
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 05:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
This^^^The wall panels on the classics are also great for shorting out from static electricity, common in the dry winter months.

There is a test port on the bathroom fuse cabinet in the lower right corner. Plug the panel in and see if it test good
So, if they short out due to dry winter weather (I am ion Yuma at this time), does this mean a replacement wall panel ?
__________________
2014 Entegra Anthem 42DLQ
24 ft Legend Enclosed Auto Trailer
NowGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 06:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bevandtomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,344
Iíve replaced a couple of those wall switches for that very reason. Static is a killer on our Classics.
Firefly is easy enough to work with if you determine itís the all switch. There is a control number on the back of each switch that they will need when confirming switch layout.
__________________
___________
Tom & Bev, Riley 6yo Lab
2014 Entegra Aspire 44b, 2017 Jeep JKU
bevandtomH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 10:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 11,294
Blog Entries: 1
Its been 4.5 years since I owned my 2015 Anthem, and my memory is getting worse in my old age, but I'm pretty sure I was able to program my 2015 Anthem shades, wasn't I? I had to replace red motor and yellow motors while I owned the coach and I replaced a bunch of them. I thought I had to program my shades to start - stop with each direction?

Am I having a memory problem and '14 shades can't be programmed at all? Did my new STEM cells erase that part of my memory?

Help me kids .... __ __

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2023, 11:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
voltdoc's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Greenwich, RI
Posts: 2,111
I don't know the switch panel layout you have but I believe you should have a Shade Master button somewhere, or something like that, that runs all the shades up or down? If the master runs the suspect shade up and down but the individual shade buttons don't then it is a strong possibility the switch panel partially failed.

The purpose of plugging a suspect switch panel into the NET port on the Firefly panel is to separate a switch issue from a wiring issue. However if other buttons on the suspect switch panel are working OK, it is highly unlikely to be an issue with the wiring.

We had nine panels fail within 6 months due to static discharge one year.

BTW, the switch panels, lights and shades run on a CAN based network called RV-C. I'm not sure if your year uses RV-C shade controllers or another method. Just mentioning this as the shade controller or other device is another potential item that could have failed to cause your issue.

If you contact Firefly with your VIN they should be able to provide you with a network "map" that shows the approximate location of all the RV-C devices including shade controllers.

If you do have a suspect shade controller, you can swap ports on it to see if the problem follows the controller or the shade.
__________________
Rob & Linda https://MyQuantumDiscovery.com
2017 Entegra Aspire 44B - 2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland
2013 Entegra Aspire 42RBQ
voltdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2023, 04:31 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
RayandWendy's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 828
I actually had the 2 bed day shades that would not work from one panel, worked from others. Plugged it into the test port and it worked. Put it back in its original location and has worked fine ever since.
Later...
Ray
__________________
Ray & Wendy
Full-time ... Finally!
2014 Anthem 42RBQ - 2018 Jeep Wrangler - FMCA F521969
RayandWendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2023, 07:00 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary.Jones View Post
Its been 4.5 years since I owned my 2015 Anthem, and my memory is getting worse in my old age, but I'm pretty sure I was able to program my 2015 Anthem shades, wasn't I? I had to replace red motor and yellow motors while I owned the coach and I replaced a bunch of them. I thought I had to program my shades to start - stop with each direction?

Am I having a memory problem and '14 shades can't be programmed at all? Did my new STEM cells erase that part of my memory?

Help me kids .... __ __

Gary
Red motors yes, with the buttons for programming. Yellow motors no, just had adjustment screws for upper and lower settings.
__________________
2020 Cornerstone
Ambetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2023, 08:03 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 11,294
Blog Entries: 1
Ahhhhh YES, the old adjustment screws.... I had forgotten them until last night late when talking with a college buddy about a used coach that was what I had forgotten, adjustment screws were the way that we adjusted travel. Thanks for the confirmation. I actually adjusted many as I had to replace a big percentage of the motors on my 15.

I'm even more convinced that the motors have to be operational and there is another explanation.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
motor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan Gearbox Oil Change - Aha Moment! (or duh moment!) tomato Newmar Owner's Forum 2 03-15-2022 06:52 PM
Should air bags on the rear (same side) be the same ride height? CountryB Monaco Owner's Forum 4 10-02-2019 10:15 AM
Variations within same floor plan layout within same year. McRod 5th Wheel Discussion 8 02-25-2016 02:09 PM
Same Same.......... BellaBo Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 21 07-04-2007 10:55 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.