Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2022, 08:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bushnell, Florida
Posts: 119
Transfer switch problem

2019 Anthem not passing shore power thru switch. Generator side working correctly. Problem started 4 nights into a 2 month trip. Plugged in as usual but shore power didnít switch over. Pedestal power tested ok. Checked wire connections, tapped various things but no change. About an hour later while looking in box it switched over. Worked great for the remainder of the trip. Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago I moved the coach from itís normal storage area to our dump station and plugged back in and same problem. Moved it back to normal spot, plugged in and nothing. About 20 minutes later it switched over. Started replacing the switch yesterday, discovered the new switch (same part number) doesnít have the same components as the old switch so we reconnected old switch. Can we swap wires so I get shore power and not generator? Thought I had read about folks doing that.
Any other thoughts or suggestions? Iíll be contacting Entegra tomorrow morning.
__________________
Jim at Holmstead Farms
Holmstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-16-2022, 08:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Lansing MI
Posts: 2,525
Yes you can, but the fact that you're asking this question tells me you probably shouldn't do it yourself. Not trying to be mean but you can burn your rig down if it's done wrong. Find a friend or a tech that knows what to do. They can probably get the new switch installed correctly. Please be careful.
__________________
An Old Fisherman
2017 Nexus Ghost 36DS, 2004 Ford F150 Long Bed
2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic
arcaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 08:27 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,151
Jim,


Assume you are referring to the ATS (Automatic Transfer Switch).


When it doesn't work on shore power, have you checked for power IN at the ATS?


Does giving the ATS a light, sharp rap make it engage?


Any sign of burning of the wires in the ATS?



All connections in the ATS clean and tight?


BTW, yes, you can use wire nuts to directly connect shore power IN with OUT to main 120 VAC breaker box-- basically bypassing the ATS.



Yes, all this assumes you are safe working around 120/240 VAC.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 08:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Magic-carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holmstead View Post
2019 Anthem not passing shore power thru switch. Generator side working correctly. Problem started 4 nights into a 2 month trip. Plugged in as usual but shore power didnít switch over. Pedestal power tested ok. Checked wire connections, tapped various things but no change. About an hour later while looking in box it switched over. Worked great for the remainder of the trip. Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago I moved the coach from itís normal storage area to our dump station and plugged back in and same problem. Moved it back to normal spot, plugged in and nothing. About 20 minutes later it switched over. Started replacing the switch yesterday, discovered the new switch (same part number) doesnít have the same components as the old switch so we reconnected old switch. Can we swap wires so I get shore power and not generator? Thought I had read about folks doing that.
Any other thoughts or suggestions? Iíll be contacting Entegra tomorrow morning.
Yes, you can swap the wires. But, I would also suggest turning off the generator circuit breaker on top of the gen set and cap the wires so that no one makes a bad mistake.
__________________
Jeanne & Rosko
2017 Cornerstone 45B
2014 Anthem 44B Classic (traded)
Magic-carpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 08:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bushnell, Florida
Posts: 119
Licensed electrician is doing the the work. VT is showing 124 but zero amps. Meter also shows power to switch. We would definitely make sure generator is safe. Iíve hit it each time weíve had this problem and it didnít switch over.
__________________
Jim at Holmstead Farms
Holmstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 10:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bushnell, Florida
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcaguy View Post
Yes you can, but the fact that you're asking this question tells me you probably shouldn't do it yourself. Not trying to be mean but you can burn your rig down if it's done wrong. Find a friend or a tech that knows what to do. They can probably get the new switch installed correctly. Please be careful.


New switch does not have all the components that the original switch has. Iím guessing it has to do with the VegaTouch and assume Entegra either adds them or has them installed by manufacturer.
__________________
Jim at Holmstead Farms
Holmstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 12:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Moosic, PA
Posts: 120
I had similar symptoms myself with my 19 Antgem. Had my transfer switch go out and verified by looking inside to find 2 cracked brown or yellow I forget wafers inside. Had my electrician switch the wires from generator side so shore power would work to keep batteries charged since I was in storage. You could possibly have a loose connection somewhere inside or maybe the network cable. Just a heads up as well if you’re transfer switch is bad I would reach out to the manufacturer Southwire not Entegra because they sent me a new one for free even though out of warranty. It’s worth a shot if you need to replace as I think Entegra wanted almost $900 shipped.
__________________
Joe, Paula, Joseph, Preston
2023 Cornerstone 45R-Ordered
2020 King Aire 4531-Sold 2019 Anthem 44F-Sold
JGilchrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 01:39 PM   #8
TBL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 2
I am having the exact same problem 2018 Anthem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holmstead View Post
2019 Anthem not passing shore power thru switch. Generator side working correctly. Problem started 4 nights into a 2 month trip. Plugged in as usual but shore power didnít switch over. Pedestal power tested ok. Checked wire connections, tapped various things but no change. About an hour later while looking in box it switched over. Worked great for the remainder of the trip. Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago I moved the coach from itís normal storage area to our dump station and plugged back in and same problem. Moved it back to normal spot, plugged in and nothing. About 20 minutes later it switched over. Started replacing the switch yesterday, discovered the new switch (same part number) doesnít have the same components as the old switch so we reconnected old switch. Can we swap wires so I get shore power and not generator? Thought I had read about folks doing that.
Any other thoughts or suggestions? Iíll be contacting Entegra tomorrow morning.
I called Entegra this morning and spent 2 hours on the phone. I switched the Gen wires to the other side to confirm Transfer Switch was working properly, it is. Vega Touch is showing Transfer Switch Fault-Open Ground. Works fine with Gen. All voltage coming in is correct. Entegra sent me to Southwire, we think it is the Shoreline Reel. Southwire only has an answering machine. Left a message, sent email, sent a text via FB Messenger. Im not an electrician by any means but this is crazy. Good voltage all the way to TS but it will not Engage with shore power. Had park replace plug and breaker same. Plugged into neighbors power, same. I will take any suggestions at this point.
TBL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 02:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Jimjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Lake Havasu, Az
Posts: 72
According to Big Mike from Spartan it’s not unusual to have issues with the contact points on the cord reel. Says it’s usually caused from adjusting cord length after a load has been applied to the system. I know that doesn’t help you at this point but I’m guessing that’s where you’re going to find your issue.
__________________
Jim and Alice
2023 CS on order
2016 Anthem 44B with HWH Active Air
Jimjensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 02:13 PM   #10
Senior Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBL View Post
I called Entegra this morning and spent 2 hours on the phone. I switched the Gen wires to the other side to confirm Transfer Switch was working properly, it is. Vega Touch is showing Transfer Switch Fault-Open Ground. Works fine with Gen. All voltage coming in is correct. Entegra sent me to Southwire, we think it is the Shoreline Reel. Southwire only has an answering machine. Left a message, sent email, sent a text via FB Messenger. Im not an electrician by any means but this is crazy. Good voltage all the way to TS but it will not Engage with shore power. Had park replace plug and breaker same. Plugged into neighbors power, same. I will take any suggestions at this point.
Transfer switches come in two configurations. It is based on priority. Some are generator priority, some are shore power priority. It sounds like yours is generator priority. My Winnebago is also. That is why when you plug into shore power you can hear the transfer switch "clunk". It is energizing the switch and connecting the contacts. My previous coach had a shore power priority. No "clunk" when plugging into shore power, but a slight delay could be heard when starting the generator. Then a "clunk"

I'm not sure I understand when you say "all voltage coming in is correct" Do you mean you have voltage at the input terminals in the transfer switch for both the generator (when running) and the shore power (when plugged in). If so, the problem must be in the transfer switch or the electronics for the Vega Touch.

I am not familiar with the exact operation of the Vega Touch, but my understanding of the system is it is a combination of a lot of things, that include a surge protection, improper wired diagnosis, and an EMS. If my understanding of the system is correct, switching the generator wires and the shore power may not fix the problem, because the Vega Touch would still not understand that the wiring is correct. It is unfortunate that you cannot get in touch with Southwire, the transfer switch manufacture, because the fact that the electronic components in the new switch may just be an upgrade or modification that needs to be wired properly.

I'm making some assumptions here, not having a working knowledge of the transfer switch or the Vega Touch, that the transfer switch must send a signal to the Vega Touch to indicate everything is wired properly, the voltage is within range, and what amperage you have available. If the signal is not getting to the Vega Touch it is not going to work no matter what you do. The problem could be the transfer switch or in the Vega Touch or it could be as simple as whatever sends the signal from the transfer switch to the Vega Touch may have failed.

Good luck and PLEASE let us know what the resolution is. I'm curious. And another example that "new and improved" is not always better. Moving up from a simple "on off" transfer switch on my Holiday Rambler to the EMS system on my Winnebago was enough to stump me a couple times when trying to fix a problem that shut down everything that was powered by the inverter circuit last year .
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey
39K
Cat C7
amosnandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 02:22 PM   #11
TBL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 2
2018 Anthem Full Time
TBL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 03:18 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 27,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBL View Post
2018 Anthem Full Time
Do you have the telephone looking connection coming from the vega touch to the top of the transfer switch? On my 19 there was a bad connection there that would not let power from the generator into the transfer to the VT. Took about 20 minutes jiggling that connection to finally get generator power coming onto the coach. Larry did a photo post showing the fix to that problem. Thanks to his post I remembered it when it happen to me..... it saved the day.

That plug is the communication from the transfer switch to the VT.

If there has been a lot of use, the electrical cord as mentioned could be the problem as well.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 07:01 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
dave&ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Peoria IL
Posts: 1,936
The transfer switch is not hard to change out but it doesn’t sound like your problem is there. As others have said it’s probably your real. I did change my auto transfer switch out myself but I upgraded to the same one used in the cornerstones. If you get in a jam, contact me. By the way, be careful with the brass or copper studs on the power real. It doesn’t take much to snap them off.
__________________
2015 Entegra Aspire RBQ
2021 H&H Speed Loader 22 foot trailer
dave&ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 07:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
RayandWendy's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave&ginny View Post
By the way, be careful with the brass or copper studs on the power real. It doesnít take much to snap them off.
Exactly. Been there, done that, had to get a new reel. It was while installing my Progress EMS.
Later...
Ray
__________________
Ray & Wendy
Full-time ... Finally!
2014 Anthem 42RBQ - 2018 Jeep Wrangler - FMCA F521969
RayandWendy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem, switch, transfer switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer switch didn't transfer/switch jimmy braden Class A Motorhome Discussions 29 06-03-2018 11:04 AM
Power Transfer Switch will not switch...... Rook RV Systems & Appliances 11 11-14-2015 07:22 PM
Transfer switch takes minutes to switch after starting genny erkme73 Tiffin Owner's Forum 8 08-12-2012 06:24 PM
50 amp automatic transfer switch, power switch dutch99 Newmar Owner's Forum 16 08-08-2011 08:13 AM
Automatic Transfer Switch (Power Switch) Ragman National RV Owner's Forum 2 07-18-2011 09:51 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.