Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Entegra Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2021, 08:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eunice, Louisiana
Posts: 46
Using 50amp cord with adapter to plug into 20amp

I am looking at having my coach ceramic coated and the place where it will be done does not have anything other than regular electric outlets to plug into. Can an adapter be used to plug into normal outlet in order to keep the fridge going? It will be there for 5 days.
__________________
Gerard Caswell
Eunice, LA
2019 Entegra Anthem 44W
lavocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-15-2021, 08:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 3,245
Yes, it will probably take two adapters. 15 amp male to 30 amp female and 30 amp male to 50 amp female.
At least that's what I've used when at my sister's house and plugged in for a few days.
__________________
2013 Winnebago Sightseer 36V
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 09:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,612
They make a 15 to 50 amp adaptor.

Now you need to depend on workers keeping it plugged in.

I would unload the fridge and shut it off.Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210915-112202_Chrome.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	343150
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 09:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 805
There is a 15 amp to 50 amp available, look on amazon.

need to set the vega touch to 5-10 amps
ransil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 09:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
777 Driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,677
One of these (15 amp to 30 amp adapter):

Name:   30 to 15.jpg
Views: 14
Size:  7.8 KB

And, one of these (30 amp to 50 amp adapter):
Click image for larger version

Name:	50 to 30.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	343149

You might also want to reduce all other electrical loads. I'm not an electrical guru, but, although a 15 or 20 amp circuit in the shop is plenty to run refrigerator, other electrical loads might exceed 15 or 20 amps and trip the shop's circuit breaker. There's a setting on VegaTouch to select something less than 30 amps that, I believe, will limit the current your coach is drawing.

Take care,
Stu
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers that can't be questioned."
2018 Anthem 42DEQ
777 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 09:32 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eunice, Louisiana
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransil View Post
There is a 15 amp to 50 amp available, look on amazon.

need to set the vega touch to 5-10 amps
How do I set the Vega touch to 5-10 amps?
__________________
Gerard Caswell
Eunice, LA
2019 Entegra Anthem 44W
lavocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 09:36 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 11
90 degree adapter

I picked up this one for my RV. The 90 degree plug makes it less likely to get pulled out with the weight of the 50A cord pulling on it.


https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
2021 Renegade 45CME on Western Star chassis
2019 Suburban as a TOAD
600HP, itíll pass anything but a gas station.
Dan-Dekalb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 10:07 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Marcosdad's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Green Valley, AZ
Posts: 1,582
One final caution: Our chargers don't play well with GFI circuits, so make sure that they (the shop) use a normal receptacle and cord. Might be smart to show one of the painters the vega touch and how to make SURE that the chargers are working. Then, if they are having trouble, they can call you for advice.
__________________
Stew and Diane (and Marco)
2018 Entegra Cornerstone 45X
Formerly: 2015 Entegra Cornerstone 45B, 2013 Entegra Aspire DEQ IFS, 2004 DSDP; all sold
Marcosdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 11:59 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 26,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by lavocat View Post
How do I set the Vega touch to 5-10 amps?
On the home screen press and hold the inverter icon, lower center of screen. That will take you to the incoming power screen. In the center right side set incoming power to 10 amps, outgoing the same. Turn the inverters off, right side of the screen, they will draw amps that could trip the breaker and not needed if plugged in.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 01:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eunice, Louisiana
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
On the home screen press and hold the inverter icon, lower center of screen. That will take you to the incoming power screen. In the center right side set incoming power to 10 amps, outgoing the same. Turn the inverters off, right side of the screen, they will draw amps that could trip the breaker and not needed if plugged in.
Thanks Chuck
__________________
Gerard Caswell
Eunice, LA
2019 Entegra Anthem 44W
lavocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2021, 09:19 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Gary.Jones's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,391
Blog Entries: 1
And drive by the shop morning and afternoon and check the power cords are still inserted and the system still "operational".....

Remember, no-one cares about your stuff as much as you do.... No-One!! Check it yourself daily.

Gary
__________________
Gary and Dee, Zowie and Bowie (traveling cat sibs)
2019 Cornerstone 45B, X15-605hp, Imperial, Spartan K3,
2013 Honda CR-V toad, Demco Excali-Bar II,
Demco Baseplate, Demco Toad Light system, 73 de W5FI
Gary.Jones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2021, 05:36 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
RVFunlovers's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 469
I use a 50 amp to 15 amp conversion plug when I stop by house in the suburbs for a quick overnight or two. No long term RV parking is authorized so I just use 15 amp.

I agree with avoid a breaker with GFI if possible. And turn off the inverters.
The Vega touch on my 2017 will automatically switch to 15 amp.

I have had no issues running the refrigerator, lights, and small appliances on 15 amp.

Not just at home but all the time, to make sure I have power at the coach I leave a small Amazon Alexa plugged up to an non inverted outlet in my coach. If I loose AC input power it will immediately go off line and I can see that from my Alexa app. It is not a perfect system but it works. The 15 AMP outlet that is on my front dash is not protected so it works perfectly for this.
__________________

Hal and Pam
2017 Entegra Cornerstone - B
2020 Ford Edge ST
RVFunlovers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 06:13 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Dr. Mike's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by 777 Driver View Post
One of these (15 amp to 30 amp adapter):
Attachment 343148

And, one of these (30 amp to 50 amp adapter):
Attachment 343149

You might also want to reduce all other electrical loads. I'm not an electrical guru, but, although a 15 or 20 amp circuit in the shop is plenty to run refrigerator, other electrical loads might exceed 15 or 20 amps and trip the shop's circuit breaker. There's a setting on VegaTouch to select something less than 30 amps that, I believe, will limit the current your coach is drawing.

Take care,
Stu
We just used this adapter last week when we were visiting family.
We were very careful, but it ran the fridge, lights (all LED), TV & DVD player, toilets, cooler in the basement, and the coffee machine.

Best

Dr. Mike
__________________
Dr. Mike and Barb
2014 Entegra Anthem
FMCA F519406
Dr. Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 06:17 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
777 Driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Mike View Post
We just used this adapter last week when we were visiting family.
We were very careful, but it ran the fridge, lights (all LED), TV & DVD player, toilets, cooler in the basement, and the coffee machine.

Best

Dr. Mike
Happy for your success, Dr. Mike, especially the coffee maker.

Take care,
Stu
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers that can't be questioned."
2018 Anthem 42DEQ
777 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ada



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp RV with 30amp cord and 50amp adapter Jasindude1 MH-General Discussions & Problems 77 06-04-2020 01:10 AM
My 6 plug adapter is impossible to plug into my new truck, is this normal? iiskiper Travel Trailer Discussion 10 02-12-2019 01:41 AM
50amp cord hard to pull from 110v adapter plug krudawg Class A Motorhome Discussions 41 04-05-2018 05:15 PM
Adapter for 50amp cord to regular extension cord? TwoDog RV Systems & Appliances 21 06-10-2016 08:27 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.