Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Sprinter Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-24-2018, 09:31 AM   #1

Radio Frequency Interference in 2018 View

I am a ham radio operator, and I installed an Icom ID-5100A VHF/UHF, FM/DSTAR transceiver in my 2018 Winnebago View. When I turn the igniton key on, even without starting, the engine, my S-meter shows a signal input varying from small to full scale. The signal does not break the FM squelch.

In a recent episode of Ham Nation, Gordon West related that lightning and electrical arcing will cause this behavior. LIghtning can be eliminated, and arcing or other source of a random RF signal are the likely cause.

I have recently read that LED lights cause RFI, but the interference happens when all my lights are extinguished and are not controlled by the ignition key.

My antenna is a magnetic mount on the hood, the only place I could find to easily mount it.

Has anyone run aceross this problem? Do you have any suggestions on what the RFI souce might be?

Lee, KV5M
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!