RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Palazzo Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2014, 03:08 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Grand Island, FL
Posts: 32
PalazzoBlues
Could you give a little more info on the Sound Suppressor and RCA? I also have issues with the sound bar. I just turn it off because having it on makes the sound worse.
Maybe this will help.

Betty
Woodburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-17-2014, 03:32 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Palazzoblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 411
Noise Suppressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodburn View Post
PalazzoBlues
Could you give a little more info on the Sound Suppressor and RCA? I also have issues with the sound bar. I just turn it off because having it one make the sound worse.
Maybe this will help.

Betty
I removed the noise suppressor all together because when I turned the Visio sound bar to max it was useless. I just used a standard RCA jumper cable. There will be a little bit of "noise" that you can hear at very low volume with this removed. However, you will be able to enjoy the sound from the sound bar at normal volume. After doing this I also discovered there is a sub-woofer under the dinette seat. The sub woofer was not working at all with the noise suppressor in place.

I really need to get to the root cause of the noise. Being a car electronics buff... I am pretty sure it has something to do with a bad ground loop and the noise suppressor was the easiest work around. When I get my new Palazzo back, that will be on the top of my list to figure out if someone does not do it before me. I also plan on making some significant improvements in the audio-visual aspects of my Palazzo. These noise suppressors are designed for car audio applications, not TV's These TV's do not have enough "gain" output to overcome the "choke" properties of this noise Suppressor. I have not looked up the RCA output specs of the Jenson TV, but I suspect it is somewhere in the 1 to 1.5 volt range. These suppressors are really meant for 4 volts or more of output GAIN. All this was is a band aid fix to hide a problem.

You can purchase an RCA cable like the one below at your local radio Shack or even Best Buy. On this one I have two butt connectors on one end to convert the mail end to female. To make the connection, you will need a female to male jumper. I can't remember correctly, but I think it connects to another RCA cable that goes to a mini stereo jack either on the TV side or the sound bar side. It might be possible to replace just that one cable. Just can't remember... been over 50 days for me.

If I had my Palazzo right now, I'd take some pictures of the back of the TV and Sound bar to show you where to connect the RCA cable. Maybe some other gracious user will do that for us.



Palazzoblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 03:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Palazzoblues View Post
In the front "maintenance" compartment where the generator is I noticed all the wires in the wire looms were just hanging from where ever they were going. I used long wire ties to make these wires more secure and look neat. The way it should've been done to begin with.

The generator chrome exhaust tip as well as the engine exhaust tips were both already rusting. A little chrome polish and wax FIXED those issues.

I could not get enough volume out of the sound bar on the main TV. I noticed they used a "choke" sound suppressor on the RCA connections to it. I removed this and used a standard RCA jumper. Worked perfectly and now we can hear the TV.
We have the same problem with our sound bar. Thanks for the fix info. I'll have to let my husband know so he can switch this out.
Gingerela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 06:31 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Berlin Kid's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 573
Palazzoblues,
My sound bar sucks so I don't use it. Thanks for the info.
You mentioned a sub woofer under the dinette seat. The plywood under the cushions is secured with screws even though some have reported the panels can be easily lifted up for additional storage. Were your panels loose or secured?
__________________
Jim & Sandy, Columbus, OH
2018 Thor Aria 3601
FMCA-F434648, TDC, FCOC
Berlin Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 07:41 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Batten54's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lamar, Missouri
Posts: 291
When we could not find the woofer in a normal area we were told there wasn't one. A trip or two later my wife was looking in some areas we hadn't used yet and found the woofer! Under the booth seat! It wasn't hooked up, so I told them next trip in the shop and they found the wires and got it working. Big improvement.
__________________
Gary & Misty
2014 F250 Diesel, PullRite SuperGlide, AirLift 5000s
2017 Keystone Sprinter 298FWRLS
Batten54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 07:49 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Berlin Kid's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batten54 View Post
When we could not find the woofer in a normal area we were told there wasn't one. A trip or two later my wife was looking in some areas we hadn't used yet and found the woofer! Under the booth seat! It wasn't hooked up, so I told them next trip in the shop and they found the wires and got it working. Big improvement.
Was the plywood under the cushions screwed into place?
__________________
Jim & Sandy, Columbus, OH
2018 Thor Aria 3601
FMCA-F434648, TDC, FCOC
Berlin Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 07:49 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batten54 View Post
When we could not find the woofer in a normal area we were told there wasn't one. A trip or two later my wife was looking in some areas we hadn't used yet and found the woofer! Under the booth seat! It wasn't hooked up, so I told them next trip in the shop and they found the wires and got it working. Big improvement.
Funny, my husband just told me how useless the soundbar is! Now I know about the noise surpressor, but a subwoofer under the dinette seats? Mine are all screwed shut. My unit is also a 2014 36.1 so if you have it, then I probably do, too!

Wow, amazing what you learn on these forums. Thank you so much for sharing. Who knew??
Gingerela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 07:52 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
I wanted to know if any of you are aware of an outlet on the outside of the coach. I want to add LED lights under the awning but couldn't find an outdoor outlet anywhere. Our Hurricane used to have two of them, but the Palazzo seems to have none. I know there is one in the large compartment, but I wouldn't want to leave that door open if I needed to plug lights into it.

Any know?
Gingerela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 07:56 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Redridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,562
no, no outside outlet... just the compartment area.
__________________
Ferdinand,
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.3 (Melody), Folkstone
2017 Jeep Rubicon, Ready Brute Elite & Currie Ent Baseplate
Redridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 04:31 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Indy1951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana
Posts: 248
There is also a on / off switch on the back of the sub woofer. Mine was turned off.
__________________
John & Berenda
2014 Palazzo 33.2
KarKaddy SS / Chevy Cruze
Indy1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 04:36 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Batten54's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lamar, Missouri
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berlin Kid View Post
Was the plywood under the cushions screwed into place?
No, just resting in place over storage compartment.
__________________
Gary & Misty
2014 F250 Diesel, PullRite SuperGlide, AirLift 5000s
2017 Keystone Sprinter 298FWRLS
Batten54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 04:39 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Batten54's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lamar, Missouri
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gingerela View Post
Funny, my husband just told me how useless the soundbar is! Now I know about the noise surpressor, but a subwoofer under the dinette seats? Mine are all screwed shut. My unit is also a 2014 36.1 so if you have it, then I probably do, too!

Wow, amazing what you learn on these forums. Thank you so much for sharing. Who knew??
That's what I thought too! It made a big difference.
__________________
Gary & Misty
2014 F250 Diesel, PullRite SuperGlide, AirLift 5000s
2017 Keystone Sprinter 298FWRLS
Batten54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 10:11 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
mikebrls's Avatar
 
Evergreen Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: W palm beach ,Fl
Posts: 642
there where either 2 or 4 screw under dinette seat's to hold in place , all you need is a screw driver , my sub was not plugged in when I looked . there is a outlet under seat

mike
__________________
Mike , Fre & daughter Kimberly , 2 dog's name Marly & Zorra , 2014 Palazzo 33.3 , Jetta TDI & Acme tow dolly ,Goodsams, Koa , Still learning
mikebrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 12:12 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Palazzoblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 411
I might have a ton if complaints, just glad I could help!!! we still need to figure out the noise problem. I think a better ground for the TV might fix that.
__________________
Palazzoblues
2014 Thor Palazzo 35.1 Black Canyon
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport S 2 door Toad
Road Master base plates
Palazzoblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.