RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Palazzo Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2014, 03:06 PM   #85
Senior Member
 
Palazzoblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redridge View Post
Is your engine block heater on? Hot water heater etc?... 52amps is alot.
I agree... both of those could contribute. OP said inverter so I assume we're talking the AC and not DC draws. But like on other person said... it has got to be watts. That makes a hole lot more sense. that would only mean a 433mA draw at 120 Volt AC and 276 ohms. I'd like to see a picture of the readout the OP is looking at. Unless they got it figured out. Bet u flip off that water heater... u going to see a huge improvement.
Palazzoblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-19-2014, 04:19 PM   #86
Senior Member
 
Redridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD View Post
Anyone having trouble with the slide topper making noise when it is very windy?
you mean flapping noise when the slide is out? I would count this as being normal, especially if it is the big slide....
__________________
Ferdinand,
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.3 (Melody), Folkstone
2017 Jeep Rubicon, Ready Brute Elite & Currie Ent Baseplate
Redridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 05:08 PM   #87
Senior Member
 
OC Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Piedmont, SD
Posts: 337
Here is mine just a minute ago



This is with the refrig, TV, three computers, and a large Roland printer/cutter plugged in and running. 5 minutes after this picture was snapped the AGS started the gen when the voltage dropped to 12V. It will run for three hours and shut down, then start again when it drops to 12V. It looks like I was pulling 27 amps at this time.

Bill
__________________
Bill & Joanne
2013 Newmar DSDP 4318
2010 MINI JCW Clubman
OC Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 05:23 PM   #88
Senior Member
 
HDRoadking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 485
Guess I need to get the ags working. We generally do not leave the coach that long without a hook-up, but we might.
__________________
Bob
2014 Palazzo 33.2
2015 Jeep Rubicon Hard Rock
HDRoadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 05:39 PM   #89
Senior Member
 
Redridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,562
FYI, I had my MH unplugged for 7 days now.... before I unplugged it, the battery monitor read the state of charge being 100% (12.7v). Today, 7 days later it reads 93% (12.6v). The only thing that Ive done is to put it in store mode (switch by the stairs).... so Im thinking this coach can prob go 2-3 weeks before the AGS kicks in (ags set 50% SOC 12.1v).

12.0v is 40% SOC... it is recommended not to go below 50% SOC.

__________________
Ferdinand,
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.3 (Melody), Folkstone
2017 Jeep Rubicon, Ready Brute Elite & Currie Ent Baseplate
Redridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 07:18 PM   #90
Senior Member
 
mikebrls's Avatar
 
Evergreen Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: W palm beach ,Fl
Posts: 642
How many hours should the inverter last with just the refrigerator running ?
I have only used mine once and it ran about 6 hour's and I thought it should run a lot longer

Thank's
mike
__________________
Mike , Fre & daughter Kimberly , 2 dog's name Marly & Zorra , 2014 Palazzo 33.3 , Jetta TDI & Acme tow dolly ,Goodsams, Koa , Still learning
mikebrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:28 PM   #91
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD View Post
Anyone having trouble with the slide topper making noise when it is very windy?
Yep.... It stops when the wind quits.... Seriously, I thought about pulling the slide in, but did'nt.... no problems observed.
__________________
Ron & Susan
2014 Palazzo 36.1
2013 Subaru Outback
TK IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:42 PM   #92
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC Bill View Post
Here is mine just a minute ago



This is with the refrig, TV, three computers, and a large Roland printer/cutter plugged in and running. 5 minutes after this picture was snapped the AGS started the gen when the voltage dropped to 12V. It will run for three hours and shut down, then start again when it drops to 12V. It looks like I was pulling 27 amps at this time.

Bill
My engine heater and water heater was off.

I do not know what the fridge AC draw converts to inverter DC draw... plus there is an inefficiency in the inverter conversion......maybe that is the issue but 52 amps just seems high. Really confusing..
__________________
Ron & Susan
2014 Palazzo 36.1
2013 Subaru Outback
TK IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:06 PM   #93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,061
52A at 12V is not much inverter draw. That's about 5A at 120V. Your inverter is very efficient, you simple have some loads. These could be 120V or 12V loads. If you want to know which, just shut off the inverter or turn off the main AC breaker.

Having your batteries drained to 12V is not good. You might want to extend battery life and go to 12.2V minimum. This change will make the AGS cycle more often. During the day I'd run their generator until the batteries are fully charged and do so again early enough that the batteries are fully charged just before quiet hours, of they have quiet hours.

I hope the weather is good for the race. We went 2 years ago when it got postponed due to really heavy rain.
__________________
Gil
03 Prevost H3-45
Hoffman Conversion
ImagineIF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:29 PM   #94
Senior Member
 
Butte64's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mount Olive Shores North, FL
Posts: 2,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikebrls View Post
How many hours should the inverter last with just the refrigerator running ?
I have only used mine once and it ran about 6 hour's and I thought it should run a lot longer

Thank's
mike
Mine goes much longer.
__________________
Jerry
2018 Entegra Aspire 42DEQ Sweet Victory
2017 Grand Cherokee
Butte64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:33 PM   #95
Senior Member
 
mikebrls's Avatar
 
Evergreen Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: W palm beach ,Fl
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butte64 View Post
Mine goes much longer.
thats what i was thinking , how much longer would you guesstimate

thank's
mike
__________________
Mike , Fre & daughter Kimberly , 2 dog's name Marly & Zorra , 2014 Palazzo 33.3 , Jetta TDI & Acme tow dolly ,Goodsams, Koa , Still learning
mikebrls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:36 PM   #96
Senior Member
 
Butte64's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mount Olive Shores North, FL
Posts: 2,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK IV View Post

My engine heater and water heater was off.

I do not know what the fridge AC draw converts to inverter DC draw... plus there is an inefficiency in the inverter conversion......maybe that is the issue but 52 amps just seems high. Really confusing..
You could turn off the refrigerator and see what difference that makes in current draw. Make sure to do it while refrigerator compressor is running. Are you using the ice maker? That will cause more load on the refrigerator.

Got any chargers or any other devices plugged into the AC outlets?
__________________
Jerry
2018 Entegra Aspire 42DEQ Sweet Victory
2017 Grand Cherokee
Butte64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 11:02 PM   #97
Senior Member
 
HVAC Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD View Post
Anyone having trouble with the slide topper making noise when it is very windy?
Yes, mine did the same on windy day. I had the dealer tighten it a little and worked for mine. Was at a site and found another MH with a PVC brace.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-732226785.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	344.8 KB
ID:	56497

2013 Palazzo 33.3
HVAC Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:05 AM   #98
Senior Member
 
Palazzoteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: '05 Saturn Vue
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC Bill View Post
Yes, mine did the same on windy day. I had the dealer tighten it a little and worked for mine. Was at a site and found another MH with a PVC brace. 2013 Palazzo 33.3
Looks like a simple but productive answer
Palazzoteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.