RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Palazzo Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2013, 06:13 PM   #1667
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Thanks to all who chimed in. Don't know what I'd do without all your help. Off to get my battery watering system with renewed confidence!
Gingerela is offline  
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-12-2013, 06:21 PM   #1668
2LT
Senior Member
 
2LT's Avatar
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikebrls View Post
So I went and started the coach and on the dash bored screen it said " low voltage " the coach has only sat for 9 day's with all power off .
It started fine but I wandered why the low volt showed up ?
any idea's ?

thank's
mike
Went to the Hershey RV Show today and stopped at the Freightliner display booth. Spoke with Glen who is a tech support person out of Gaffney, SC. We asked him about the "low voltage" message on the screen. He said it was normal; that basically it happens because the unit has been in a 'sleep mode' and it is waking up. What it is doing is running a check through the on board computers. I am paraphrasing his remarks.

Also, we asked him about the lanyards in the front wheel wells for blowing down the air tanks-- He said that every six months you should pull them; that you should start the engine, air it up, turn the engine off and then go out and pull all the lanyards for between 10 and 15 seconds each. He said it is normal for a mist to come out but nothing more. He said if you see brownish water come out you need to have your air dryer serviced immediately.

Hope this helps !
__________________
2018 LTV Wonder FTB
2LT is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 06:40 PM   #1669
Senior Member
 
mikebrls's Avatar
 
Evergreen Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: W palm beach ,Fl
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2LT View Post
Went to the Hershey RV Show today and stopped at the Freightliner display booth. Spoke with Glen who is a tech support person out of Gaffney, SC. We asked him about the "low voltage" message on the screen. He said it was normal; that basically it happens because the unit has been in a 'sleep mode' and it is waking up. What it is doing is running a check through the on board computers. I am paraphrasing his remarks.

Also, we asked him about the lanyards in the front wheel wells for blowing down the air tanks-- He said that every six months you should pull them; that you should start the engine, air it up, turn the engine off and then go out and pull all the lanyards for between 10 and 15 seconds each. He said it is normal for a mist to come out but nothing more. He said if you see brownish water come out you need to have your air dryer serviced immediately.

Hope this helps !
Thank you
__________________
Mike , Fre & daughter Kimberly , 2 dog's name Marly & Zorra , 2014 Palazzo 33.3 , Jetta TDI & Acme tow dolly ,Goodsams, Koa , Still learning
mikebrls is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 06:42 PM   #1670
Senior Member
 
mikebrls's Avatar
 
Evergreen Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: W palm beach ,Fl
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjohnmiller View Post
I have Penzoil 10w30 but on the bottle it says (for gas engines). I was afraid to use it. Does it have to be diesel oil or is this ok?
use diesel oil it has higher cleaning agents in it for the dirty diesel motor's.
__________________
Mike , Fre & daughter Kimberly , 2 dog's name Marly & Zorra , 2014 Palazzo 33.3 , Jetta TDI & Acme tow dolly ,Goodsams, Koa , Still learning
mikebrls is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 08:10 PM   #1671
Senior Member
 
Berlin Kid's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikebrls View Post

use diesel oil it has higher cleaning agents in it for the dirty diesel motor's.
I just changed mine and used Valvoline Supreme Blue 10W50. This is the Cummins recommended oil for the Diesel engine and is higher rated that the recommended oil for the Cummins ONAN generator. Bought my filters online from the Cummins ONAN website. Two oil filters, fuel filter, and air cleaner element was $78 shipped.
__________________
Jim & Sandy, Columbus, OH
2018 Thor Aria 3601
FMCA-F434648, TDC, FCOC
Berlin Kid is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 08:49 PM   #1672
Member
 
Gropler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redridge View Post

I put one in under the bed where the transfer switch is located (via metal brackets I made). I wired it so that that it protects against shore and generator surges/drops (after the transfer switch). I mounted the remote display on the side of the bed facing the hallway so I can see the status on all the time... Its a great way to know what is happening with the incoming power as well as the load it is using. Glad I spent the money on this one... BTW, on my unit, I existing cable was long enough to attach the suppressor without adding new cable.
When using your permanent inline surge protector can you hook up to 30a and have it still work? My extension cord version for 50a will not allow me to hook up to a 30a park as it says the power on one line is off. Kind of a problem when there is only 30 avail.....
Gropler is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 09:39 PM   #1673
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oakton, Va
Posts: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berlin Kid View Post
I just changed mine and used Valvoline Supreme Blue 10W50. This is the Cummins recommended oil for the Diesel engine and is higher rated that the recommended oil for the Cummins ONAN generator.
My manual specifies 15W 40 or 10W 40 and lower weights can be used at lower temperatures.
__________________
Jim Walker
N Virginia
2014 Palazzo 33.2
Cummins 6.7 ISB, Allison 2100 6 Speed
J Walker is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 09:42 PM   #1674
Senior Member
 
Berlin Kid's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Walker View Post

My manual specifies 15W 40 or 10W 40 and lower weights can be used at lower temperatures.
My bad... 15W-40
__________________
Jim & Sandy, Columbus, OH
2018 Thor Aria 3601
FMCA-F434648, TDC, FCOC
Berlin Kid is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 10:29 PM   #1675
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Can someone tell me what 'lanyards' you are referring to? I have no idea what they look like, what they do, or where they're located. I am going to have to start a journey to keep up with all the maintenance stuff. I sure do feel clueless!
Gingerela is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 10:59 PM   #1676
Senior Member
 
tcopeland's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gingerela View Post
Can someone tell me what 'lanyards' you are referring to? I have no idea what they look like, what they do, or where they're located. I am going to have to start a journey to keep up with all the maintenance stuff. I sure do feel clueless!
Lanyards are used to dump water from the air tanks. They are located in the front wheel wells. You have to turn the front wheels all the way to the left (dump the left). Turn all the way to the right to dump the right.

This is only needed every six months so you've got a ways to go.

This will be covered in "Camp Freightliner". Believe you said you were going in an earlier thread.
__________________
Tom MGYSGT USMC (Ret)
2016 THOR Tuscany XTE 36MQ
2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
tcopeland is offline  
Old 09-13-2013, 03:34 AM   #1677
Senior Member
 
Indy1951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gropler View Post
When using your permanent inline surge protector can you hook up to 30a and have it still work? My extension cord version for 50a will not allow me to hook up to a 30a park as it says the power on one line is off. Kind of a problem when there is only 30 avail.....
I have hooked up to 15 and 30 with no problems.
__________________
John & Berenda
2014 Palazzo 33.2
KarKaddy SS / Chevy Cruze
Indy1951 is offline  
Old 09-13-2013, 07:12 AM   #1678
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 54
SAS-45aA or SAS-50A , think these have a good temp range. 45 comes on(closes) at 107, off (opens) at 86. 50 comes on at 107 and off at 95. cost about 12 dollars company is in mass. just google my fan would run almost all time or at least till outside temp would go below 77 degrees
et_ky is offline  
Old 09-13-2013, 07:30 AM   #1679
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 54
I have a 33.1, is anyone having a low voltage message on their jacks after setting a couple of days when you retract them? all batteries are showing full charge.
et_ky is offline  
Old 09-13-2013, 07:35 AM   #1680
Senior Member
 
ChallengerRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by et_ky View Post
I have a 33.1, is anyone having a low voltage message on their jacks after setting a couple of days when you retract them? all batteries are showing full charge.
If you let the coach run for 30 seconds or so that light should go out. This is a safety factor built in by Freightliner I think
ChallengerRN is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.