Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Outdoors RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2021, 06:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Corrales, NM
Posts: 44
How to run cable in 24RLS

Just purchased a 24RLS. I am mounting a generator at the rear on the factory installed hitch. I need to run a cable from the genny up to front curb side to go up into the area where all of the electrical connections are made underneath the closet by the outside door. Installing an automatic transfer switch there. Having looked at the underneath it seems that I would have to open up that corrugated plastic bottom to run the wire. And I really don't see a good way to do that. Anyone have any thoughts on this?
lexton is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-28-2021, 06:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Stanfield, NC
Posts: 246
Depending on the year of your TT, the coroplast(?) is either riveted or held in place with screws. Removing the rivets is doable but a lot of work. Can you run your wires inside PVC pipe underneath the trailer with the PVC held in place with Adel clamps ?https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HPE185E...mcd_asin_0_img

We carry on generator on the rear hitch, but I just made a short jumper to get to the plug-in at the rear. I do not have your transfer switch, but my system works for me.
__________________
2018 Outdoor RV 240KTS
2006 Dodge Megacab 2500 Cummins
WNDOPDLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2021, 09:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Corrales, NM
Posts: 44
2019

It's a 2019. It is rivets. Why they use rivets and not screws is beyond me. It makes it much more difficult to get in there to do repairs or to add anything. Another example of engineers not having to work on it in real life.

Running PVC was my choice, if I could not find a way to run the cable underneath. Thanks for the link to the hangers. I was going to use a conduit strap. The Hangers are much better.
lexton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2021, 10:18 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 440
Look up under the trailer outboard of the main beams. If you look where the supports for the floor attach to the web of the I beam frame members there is a hole in them.
I used those holes when I ran some PEX tubing from the front to the rear as "conduit" for my back up light wiring.
No need for hangars.
I had to open a couple of them up a hair with a die grinder/rotary file to get the PEX through.
No reason you cant open them up enough for 1/2 PVC conduit but the PEX is much more flexible and easier to weasel up through the brackets.
I was originally going to use 1/2 PVC but the "biatch factor" of wrestling it up through them made me go with the PEX.
BPTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 05:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
egwilly's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: So Calif
Posts: 3,160
I run most of my wiring outside underneath between the flooring and skirt area. Lots of room there.

I drill up thru the flooring to run the wire into the area I need and then seal it with silicone. Out of sight and mind. Tape measure for better results!
__________________
Outdoors RV Glacier Peak 26RLS Fifth Wheel
Ford F350 Superduty 6.7 Powerstroke
“Stick around please...I may need someone to blame.”
egwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 05:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 493
I started to fish some Romex between the Coroplast and the floor framing, then pulled it out and attached metal conduit to the trailer frame. I used single-hole conduit hangers, and watertight unions where I needed splices and bends. It stood up to some extremely rough roads.

I used Romex in the conduit, but should have used individual wires. Romex is not rated for wet locations, but some of the single-conductor stuff is. Building codes prohibit Romex in exterior conduit, although those codes do not apply to a travel trailer.

Individual conductors are much easier to pull in conduit. Putting two 10-ga Romex in a single conduit was a chore, even though I did exceed the conduit fill limits.
__________________
2018 F350 Limited
2021 Outdoors RV 24KRS
2021 Arctic Fox 27-5L
JHinman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 12:19 AM   #7
Member
 
LearningMore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 69
I appreciate reading all the ideas here. I am about to install an inverter in the passthrough up front and need to run a wire from there to the converter/load center where I am installing an automatic transfer switch.

I traded messages with another member here and decided that dropping the Coroplast was more than I had time and skills to do well. I am planning to run flex conduit under the trailer in the small ledge on the I-Beam of the chassis. Not sure this will work, but this is my starting point. I'll see if I can take and post a few pictures showing where I hope to run the conduit. For sure I will post more as I work on the project.

Total project includes:

2 x 190 solar on the roof (nominal 24v panels wired in parallel)
Victron MPPT charge controller
Victron Battery Monitor
2000w Samlex inverter w/ remote on/off switch
2 x 6v US Battery golf cart batteries (232 ah)

Lots of little bits to figure out still but I am optimistic.
__________________
2020 ORV 22FQS Anniversary edition
2019 Ford F250 6.2L gas, 4x4 Lariat with Trailer Tow camera package
LearningMore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 07:14 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHinman View Post

Individual conductors are much easier to pull in conduit. Putting two 10-ga Romex in a single conduit was a chore, even though I did NOT exceed the conduit fill limits.
Oops. Missed a significant word in my post.
__________________
2018 F350 Limited
2021 Outdoors RV 24KRS
2021 Arctic Fox 27-5L
JHinman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 07:22 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by LearningMore View Post
I appreciate reading all the ideas here. I am about to install an inverter in the passthrough up front and need to run a wire from there to the converter/load center where I am installing an automatic transfer switch.
I did something similar in a 24KRS. I picked up the incoming shore power behind the load center and ran it to a hybrid inverter (Victron Multiplus 3KW) in the pass-through, and then back to the load center. That gave me AC power to everything in the trailer, and uses the Victron for battery charging. The inverter has an ATS already, so I bypassed the original ATS.

You might see if your inverter has a bypass switch.
__________________
2018 F350 Limited
2021 Outdoors RV 24KRS
2021 Arctic Fox 27-5L
JHinman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 07:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Meshoppen, PA
Posts: 1,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by LearningMore View Post
I appreciate reading all the ideas here. I am about to install an inverter in the passthrough up front and need to run a wire from there to the converter/load center where I am installing an automatic transfer switch.

I traded messages with another member here and decided that dropping the Coroplast was more than I had time and skills to do well. I am planning to run flex conduit under the trailer in the small ledge on the I-Beam of the chassis. Not sure this will work, but this is my starting point. I'll see if I can take and post a few pictures showing where I hope to run the conduit. For sure I will post more as I work on the project.

Total project includes:

2 x 190 solar on the roof (nominal 24v panels wired in parallel)
Victron MPPT charge controller
Victron Battery Monitor
2000w Samlex inverter w/ remote on/off switch
2 x 6v US Battery golf cart batteries (232 ah)

Lots of little bits to figure out still but I am optimistic.
depending on the RV, I was able to run my solar wires down next to my shower vent pipe as it popped thru roof.. there was enough space i found the void in wall. got be down to access area, grabbed wires to compartment.. my other choice was above refridge,

Under body i also used pvc electrical pipe..or flex
sibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 07:36 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
egwilly's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: So Calif
Posts: 3,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHinman View Post
I did something similar in a 24KRS. I picked up the incoming shore power behind the load center and ran it to a hybrid inverter (Victron Multiplus 3KW) in the pass-through, and then back to the load center. That gave me AC power to everything in the trailer, and uses the Victron for battery charging. The inverter has an ATS already, so I bypassed the original ATS.

You might see if your inverter has a bypass switch.
What happens if your inverter fails? Is all AC power cut to the rv?
__________________
Outdoors RV Glacier Peak 26RLS Fifth Wheel
Ford F350 Superduty 6.7 Powerstroke
“Stick around please...I may need someone to blame.”
egwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 10:25 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by egwilly View Post
What happens if your inverter fails? Is all AC power cut to the rv?
Yes, but that is not an issue for us. We normally dry camp, with nothing but 12volt power. Having access to 120v is a luxury, not a necessity.

Anything can fail. Most things can be repaired or other adaptations made.
__________________
2018 F350 Limited
2021 Outdoors RV 24KRS
2021 Arctic Fox 27-5L
JHinman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 12:55 PM   #13
Member
 
LearningMore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 69
Here are pictures of my prototype with the conduit clamped in place. I have one hole straps to hold the conduit and self tapping stainless screws to screw into the chassis. Feeling better about this choice. The 1/2" flex fits nicely in the "shelf" on the chassis and I will have good access to the area in the pass through where the inverter power will exit. The conduit will go to the other end of the trailer, where the converter is under the refrigerator. I may run the wire for the remote on/off in this conduit too. I am running outdoor rated 12/2 cable.

Anything I should be worried about/considering in this choice?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	01Conduit.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	136.6 KB
ID:	344894   Click image for larger version

Name:	03PassThrough.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	154.5 KB
ID:	344895  

Click image for larger version

Name:	04Cable.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	153.5 KB
ID:	344896   Click image for larger version

Name:	05Cable.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	105.0 KB
ID:	344897  

__________________
2020 ORV 22FQS Anniversary edition
2019 Ford F250 6.2L gas, 4x4 Lariat with Trailer Tow camera package
LearningMore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2021, 01:49 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Corrales, NM
Posts: 44
Cable rating

12/2 when I was an electrician was rated at 20 Amps, so I guess it depends on what you going to run on the 12/2 cable. To run the entire trailer on 30 amps, you need 10 gauge wire. You also have to consider the size of the conduit when choosing the wire capabilities. You can check online with the National Electric Code Handbook to see the amperage capabilities of the wire as well as the size of the conduit needed for the amount of conductors for that wire.
lexton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Run New Coax Cable Run on Classic Mwoodofd Entegra Owner's Forum 5 04-28-2021 08:10 AM
New Timber Ridge 24RLS strange noise in undercarriage Megsfolks Outdoors RV Owner's Forum 5 04-30-2018 05:28 PM
24RLS owners Bugslinger Outdoors RV Owner's Forum 12 02-25-2018 10:40 PM
Starcraft 24RLS Slide Controller board? Chuck&Pam Travel Trailer Discussion 0 08-19-2016 08:17 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.