Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Outdoors RV Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-20-2022, 05:39 PM   #1

Outdoors RV Owners Club
Needing New Tires

Looking to put new tires on my 2013 Wind River 280RLS and before making a purchase thought I'd get the collective current thoughts of this wise group. Here's what I am considering:

MAXXIS: $156.22 at Tire Rack. I've been running 2 Maxxis Load Range E tires since 2016 and they still look great. Excellent wear characteristics.

CARLISLE RADIAL TRAIL HD: $111.12 at Walmart. The only "speed rated" tires in the group I'm looking at. (Speed rating "M" for 81 mph).

GOOD YEAR ENDURANCE: $144.99 at Tire Rack.

I like my Maxxis. And I like that the Goodyears are made in the USA. But for the price and the speed rating I'm leaning heavily towards the Carlisle. I don't usually drive much over 65 but I would like to feel comfortable driving 70 when, like recently, I'm in a state where the car limit is 80, the truck limit is 70, and the semis are blowing by me. I've read good reviews on all 3 tires. Anybody have any personal experience that says not to go with the lower price Carlisles?
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!