Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-18-2022, 08:42 AM   #1

Drive time calculation errors

I'm new to Trip Planner. I'm working on planning a couple of trips, and I've noticed that Trip Planner is not calculating drive times the way it says it is supposed to.

When using the routing engine to estimate drive times, it says it uses the posted speed limits. However, I'm finding that it is calculating all drive times using 55 mph, regardless of whether it is an 80 mph interstate or a Forest Service dirt road.

So I tried using the average driving speed. I set it at 47 mph, which is a pretty good estimate of my actual speed when I factor in stops and a variety of road conditions. But instead of using my specified average speed, Trip Planner is using anywhere from 53 to 63 mph on the long stretches, and only 29-31 mph on short stretches.

Anybody have any ideas about what's going wrong?
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!