Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2019, 09:15 AM   #43
Moderator Emeritus
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Jayco Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poinciana FL
Posts: 7,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelrider View Post
When I created my trip I guessed at what my schedule would be. Now I am days into the trip and find that my future stops have the wrong dates, but I can't edit them. Should I copy the trip and edit the copy? Or??
SUE46 is correct, change the start date to your actual start date and the others will self correct, assuming you have the correct number of nights listed for each of your stops. If not, each stop can be updated/edited individually to correct the number of nights spent there.

I do this all the time, for the same reason. The trip imagined and the trip actually realized are rarely the same.
__________________
Jay and Peggy Monroe
"Can't take it with you, not leaving any behind"
2024 Jayco White Hawk 26FK
2024 Ford Expedition
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-29-2019, 05:24 PM   #44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 9
"No RV Route available - Using Standard Route"

What is the difference between an RV Route (which I did ask for in my settings) and a Standard Route? I thought maybe it was something to do with tunnels or rough roads, but those hazards aren't showing up on the route, so it must be something else?
__________________
2001 Fleetwood Southwind 32V
inthemoment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 09:07 AM   #45
Director of Partnerships
 
pbucha's Avatar




Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ft.Worth, TX.
Posts: 851
The Standard Route ignores all of those RV specific dimensions (Height, Length, and Weight) and road settings (tunnels, unpaved roads, etc.). Sometimes it's not so easy to find, like a local ordinance that bans trucks, or trucks of a certain weight. Vet the route with the Satellite view and maybe look at the beginning of various roads with street view and see if you notice anything.
__________________
2015 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH - All Electric w/tag & RettroBands
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport w/mods
pbucha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 06:13 AM   #46
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,960
From previous posts I've read it seems the RV Life mobile app does not follow the route created in RVTW if the drag feature of RVTW is used to modify a route.

This is a common issue when downloading routes to a GPS, the GPS ignores the downloaded route and creates it's own route based on the parameters set in the GPS unit.

pbucha, could you comment on this?
__________________
Tim
Leesburg, FL '07 American Tradition 40Z Cummins 400 ISL
Towing a '14 Honda CRV
Both sold
2021 Vanleigh Beacon 41LKB 5th wheel
timjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 07:22 AM   #47
RV LIFE Support Team




 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,975
I have discovered that once you get the route you want, convert the waypoints into stops and the route transfers better.


No guarantees!



I have createe trips on my PC in Google Maps and transfer the route to my phone and it is a totally different route. Even Google to Google is a challenge!!
__________________
Sue

2015 Winnebago Vista 36Y + Honda CRV
RV LIFE Support Team
Sue46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 08:00 AM   #48
Director of Partnerships
 
pbucha's Avatar




Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ft.Worth, TX.
Posts: 851
It appears that it is supposed to, but in my initial test it did not. I'm checking with the team now.
__________________
2015 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH - All Electric w/tag & RettroBands
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport w/mods
pbucha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 05:28 AM   #49
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbucha View Post
It appears that it is supposed to, but in my initial test it did not. I'm checking with the team now.
If you are referring to the mobile app following a route created in RVTW and modified by the drag feature, then it is the only GPS system that I am aware of that will disregard it's user imputed parameters and follow the downloaded route. Like as has been mentioned the mobile app appears to act like all other GPS systems.

Sue46 posted a work around.
__________________
Tim
Leesburg, FL '07 American Tradition 40Z Cummins 400 ISL
Towing a '14 Honda CRV
Both sold
2021 Vanleigh Beacon 41LKB 5th wheel
timjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 10:34 AM   #50
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
trip radius rings not showing

Hi,
It's been a while since I have used the wizard - planning a new trip and I can not get the travel rings to show - have checked the setting and set minimum, average and max miles... still does not show up. Any suggestions?
parfsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:06 AM   #51
Senior Member
 
LarryJB's Avatar




 
Tiffin Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Mountainburg, AR
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by parfsten View Post
Hi,
It's been a while since I have used the wizard - planning a new trip and I can not get the travel rings to show - have checked the setting and set minimum, average and max miles... still does not show up. Any suggestions?
Since it has been a while, you may not be aware that they recently added trip settings to the program. So if you are working on an existing trip, changing the user default will have no effect on your trip. You need to make your changes in Trip Settings instead. These can be accessed by clicking on the wrench next to the trip name and then selecting trip settings.
Look at post #17 of this thread for a detailed description of the difference between user default settings and trip settings.
__________________
There are 10 types of people... Those that understand binary and those that don't.
_________________________
2018 Tiffin Phaeton 40AH/2018 Hyundai Elantra Sport Toad
LarryJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 01:44 PM   #52
Member
 
Marilynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 50
So far, I'm finding Trip Wizard useless.

I've read the manual.

I've followed the directions.

There is NO PLACE to enter my destination. I can enter my starting point, but not my destination.

If I come back to a Trip, and open it, I am not given an option to modify anything. It loads... NOTHING. I have a map. I have no starting point. I cannot add any points.

I have deleted and started over a dozen times. There is no place to put my destination. I cannot find a button to add stops.

This is NOT fun!
Marilynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 02:06 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Posts: 84
Watch this and it should help you get started.
__________________
Craig, Irene 2024 Grand Design Transcend 245RL 2020 F250 SRW 7.3
Grizz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 02:23 PM   #54
RV LIFE Support Team




 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,975
Your last stop is your destination.
__________________
Sue

2015 Winnebago Vista 36Y + Honda CRV
RV LIFE Support Team
Sue46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 02:42 PM   #55
RV LIFE Support Team




 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,975
RVtripwizard works the same as Google Maps. In Maps you continue to add stops until you reach your destination or you enter your last stop and fill in stops between your start and last stop.
__________________
Sue

2015 Winnebago Vista 36Y + Honda CRV
RV LIFE Support Team
Sue46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 03:00 PM   #56
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marilynx View Post
So far, I'm finding Trip Wizard useless.

I've read the manual.

I've followed the directions.

There is NO PLACE to enter my destination. I can enter my starting point, but not my destination.

If I come back to a Trip, and open it, I am not given an option to modify anything. It loads... NOTHING. I have a map. I have no starting point. I cannot add any points.

I have deleted and started over a dozen times. There is no place to put my destination. I cannot find a button to add stops.

This is NOT fun!
Hi Marilyn, it can be frustrating and then once that happens it just gets worse from there.

To get to a specific place, the the little search box above the map, type in an address, it will probably bring up multiple options till you get the full address in. Once you have that hit the search button (the magnifier on the right side of the search bar. That will put a pin at the location you asked for. Now just hover over the pin and select more details, that will give you the option to add to the trip. Click that and you have your destination. Also you can drag on the trip data on the left side to move a destination if you have several, just click and drag either up or down to suit your trip. Hope this helps
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
Ohio, 900 Watts Solar 400 ah lithium batteries, 2022 Jeep Gladiator JT Toad FMCA 317123
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
trip wizard



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RV LIFE Trip Wizard - RV Trip Wizard has a new name! Janet H RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 6 03-13-2022 11:22 AM
Turn-by-Turn Guidance via RV Trip Wizard - RV LIFE App Integration Radio Flyer RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 87 01-26-2020 10:08 AM
Import from one users Trip wizard to my wizard JFreitas RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 2 07-06-2017 06:22 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.