RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2020, 05:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 11
Tips for using RV Trip Wizard on a touchscreen laptop?

Does anybody use RV Trip Wizard on a touchscreen laptop? The tabs at the top work okay to show the trip and research menus, but I can't drag the map around as I can with a mouse. Perhaps I don't have my screen actions tweaked properly. Does anyone have success with this?

Also, using the two-finger pinch/spread action zooms in and out of the map, but the result is not confined to the map. The headers shift off the screen when I zoom in and I lose access to the tabs at the top. Am I doing something wrong?

I usually use it on a desktop without a mousepad, so I haven't tested those gestures before. Any tips are appreciated.
__________________

chriscowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-28-2020, 05:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 74
Last weekend I experienced the same issue. I could do other things with my touchscreen laptop, but couldn't move the map around except by using a mouse or the touchpad mouse.
__________________

__________________
CruzTerri aka Terri
2018 Heartland North Trail 22FBS
TV - 2012 Ford F350 SRW 6.7L Diesel 4X4 Crew Cab Long Bed
CruzTerri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 05:46 AM   #3
Senior Member




 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 181
That is how mine works also. I don't know if earlier versions worked this way or not. I don't remember using the touchscreen to drag the map. Works this way with Edge, Firefox, and Chrome.
__________________
George & Karen with 3 Border Collies
2015 Winnebago Journey 40R
2015 Ford C-Max
aiken rver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 06:44 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 18
Can you try a two finger drag to see if that makes any difference? Does a single finger drag work in Google Maps in the laptop (maps.google.com)?
rashers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 07:55 PM   #5
Senior Member




 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by rashers View Post
Can you try a two finger drag to see if that makes any difference? Does a single finger drag work in Google Maps in the laptop (maps.google.com)?
Two finger doesn't work. Dragging in Google maps does work one or two fingers. Also in Google Maps pinching/expanding does just the map not everything on the screen. I don't have a problem with this since I never use the touchscreen but can certainly see this as a real nuisance for those who do.
__________________
George & Karen with 3 Border Collies
2015 Winnebago Journey 40R
2015 Ford C-Max
aiken rver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 07:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 62
Your zooming actions are affecting the whole windows desktop. That's why the menus and buttons are off screen. Sometime a control/alt/command/shift/whatever is needed.

It's a problem on many sites.
__________________
Rick
2019 Grand Design Reflection 150 273MK,
2015 Ford F350 CC SB Lariat Powerstroke, PullRite Superglide
RickLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 09:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Teamfoxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 823
A work around that I use on my Android tablet is to put a custom stop (or two) on the route that I would otherwise drag to. But it's easiest to lay out a trip on a regular computer and use the tablet for reference down the road.
__________________

__________________
TeamFoxy ~ Traveling North America
2011 Coachmen Mirada 32DS
2017 Chevy Equinox in tow.
Teamfoxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scr, trip wizard



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Trip Wizard on an IPAD rheevs RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 6 10-04-2017 12:07 PM
Import from one users Trip wizard to my wizard JFreitas RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 2 07-06-2017 06:22 PM
Using RV Trip Wizard with wireless printer MSHappyCampers RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 16 08-02-2015 07:21 PM
Best way to move favorites from one laptop to another laptop diandtom Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 03-19-2011 08:58 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×