Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2023, 12:25 PM   #267
Junior Member
 
EmmyLo's Avatar
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike8253 View Post
I agree with Alan, you should select Display All Campgrounds in your Clubs/Memberships Section. As for filtering, setting some filters is OK, over filtering creates too many conflicts and limits what you will be given for choices when you are planning. When I filter, I always select Big Rig Access, and then if I really need FHU, I'll select that. For me, that's a good start to see what the possibilities are in the area I'll be looking to stop in. Once I see the 1st list of possibilities, if the list is small, I'll either chose the best of the list or look elsewhere. If the list is long, at that point, I'll likely add another filter or two in order to pare the list down. Bottom line, over-filtering at the outset of your trip planning tends to be a planning limiter vs. a planning enabler, especially in areas you are not familiar with.
I, too, have a problem with zoom. If there is a Display All Campgrounds in my Clubs/Memberships Section I sure don't see it. I have selected Big Rigs and Full Hookups as my only 2 filters, but when I zoom in to an area where there were several campgrounds with generic icons shown, the campgrounds disappear.
__________________
Bob & Mary Ellen
2020 Jayco Pinnacle 32RLTS
2019 Silverado 3500HD
EmmyLo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-02-2023, 06:42 PM   #268
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: On the road full time
Posts: 534
When you are zoomed out more than 20 miles on the scale - there is no filtering or such. Just a generic icon to say there are campgrounds in the area.

Zooming into to the 20 mile or closer range starts to apply filters.
OldBaldFat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2023, 09:31 AM   #269
Senior Member
 
Alan_Hepburn's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmyLo View Post
I, too, have a problem with zoom. If there is a Display All Campgrounds in my Clubs/Memberships Section I sure don't see it.

How to find the "Display All Campgrounds":


1. Open the trip and click on the wrench icon next to the trip name.
2. Click on the "Display Pin Preferences" option.
3. Select your preferred campgrounds, if not already done.
4. Click on the "Next - Sort Order" button.
5. Sort your preferred campgrounds list if not already done.
6. Click on the "Next - Display Settings" button.
7. Click on the "Show All Campgrounds" option.
8. Click on the "Save" button.
__________________
Alan Hepburn - San Jose, Ca
2007 Bounder 35E being pushed by a 2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S or a 2022 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JLU) Sport S
Alan_Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2023, 10:59 AM   #270
Junior Member
 
NativeAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
I added my rv weight, length, etc. to the trip planner setup. I am now going to tow a vehicle four down (TOAD). how do I add that to the setup?
__________________
Thanks,
NA
2018 Thor Quantum GR22
NativeAz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2023, 12:30 PM   #271
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: On the road full time
Posts: 534
NO.

Just the RV numbers.

There is one situation where you might want to add the toad - in California if your total vehicle length is over 45'.

Frankly, I trust the maps from the state of California rather than RVTW or a GPS concerning CA length restrictions. The CHP will stop you if they think you are close.

https://dot.ca.gov/programs/traffic-...rhomes/bus-map

Also in CA, a toad is considered towing, which has a maximum speed limit anywhere in the state of 55 mph.
OldBaldFat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2023, 06:48 AM   #272
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldBaldFat View Post
N
There is one situation where you might want to add the toad - in California if your total vehicle length is over 45'.
Wow. Is 45 feet the max length in California?

We usually make one or two trips to the Oceanside area a year and I often see class As towing cars on I-10. Since even small cars are 13 feet or so in length and the towing gear would add another 2 or 3 feet that means that most Class A RVs with a toad are probably over 45 feet, but I have never seen one pulled over.

Our RV is only 25 feet so even with our 2 door Wrangler we are OK in length, but not by much. I worry much more about the speed limit when in California.
__________________
2020 Regency Ultra Brougham, Island Bed Model
2022 Jeep Wranger 2 door Sport S toad
Roadmaster baseplate and tow bar
AJMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2023, 06:55 AM   #273
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: On the road full time
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJMike View Post
Wow. Is 45 feet the max length in California?
As the page I linked clearly states - the max length is 65 feet.

However, there are many roads which do not allow rigs over 40', and some are restricted to other lengths.

CA is the only state where I've seen maps published as on that site which show the restrictions.

I found out about them when CHP stopped us near Eureka, and wanted to measure our rig total length. Which was a bit over 62 feet. (40' TT and 22 ft Ram 2500 is what we had at the time.)
OldBaldFat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2023, 07:22 PM   #274
Senior Member
 
LarryJB's Avatar




 
Tiffin Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Mountainburg, AR
Posts: 1,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by NativeAz View Post
I added my rv weight, length, etc. to the trip planner setup. I am now going to tow a vehicle four down (TOAD). how do I add that to the setup?
Your rv specs should always be entered "as ready for travel" this means the length should be the total length with the toad attached. The weight should be the total weight of the rv and the toad, plus all your stuff and of course you and the passengers.
__________________
There are 10 types of people... Those that understand binary and those that don't.
_________________________
2018 Tiffin Phaeton 40AH/2018 Hyundai Elantra Sport Toad
LarryJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2023, 06:49 AM   #275
Member
 
CEParosa's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 99
How do I "drag" to change my route. I want to be able to click and drag to a different route. Turning on the drag route button doesn't work how I thought it should, couldn't change route and it kept putting in waypoints instead. What am I doing wrong?
__________________

Clay & Marcy
2004 Winnebago Adv. G35U
, 1995 Tracker Toad, RVI3, eeZRV, Garmin RV 770 LMT-S, Viair
CEParosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2023, 10:48 AM   #276
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: On the road full time
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEParosa View Post
How do I "drag" to change my route. I want to be able to click and drag to a different route. Turning on the drag route button doesn't work how I thought it should, couldn't change route and it kept putting in waypoints instead. What am I doing wrong?
Is this in RVTW on a PC?

Or the RV Life GPS app on a phone?

With PC web-based program, after Drag Route button shows Yes, and the button turns Red (might be a different color, I have color deficient vision)

Hover over the route until you see a little black circle with white inside if you move slight off route. This is without clicking any mouse button. At that point, you can click and hold down the mouse button (left in my case) and drag the route.

Beware that there is not a 'snap to' feature of Drag Route. It is very easy to move the route out into a field, a side road or the wrong side of a divided highway. You will need to zoom in very closely to place the point exactly where you want it.

Also, Drag To points are not tied between the two destinations. If you removed or add a stop between them, the Drag Route waypoints move to the next location, which will cause back tracking. Also, the Drag Route waypoints are not saved in the export to GPS function.

I vastly prefer to leave Drag Route in the off position, and right click on the location I want that route to go, and "Create Custom Stop". Those waypoints do not move if you adjust the route. They are exported as regular stops if you export the file to some other type such as a .GPX or .CSV format.

I've attached an image of a 'template' RVTW trip I have made. Based south of Fort Worth, TX, I am not going to drive my RV through downtown Fort Worth or Dallas as RVTW (or any GPS device or application will want me to use) if I am headed northeast of the DFW area. This is my preferred route to any trip going in that direction. I use Custom Stops, so they will not change or get lost if I try to modify such a trip.

Routing a RV through the middle of a big city is not an error. The roads are suitable for 18-wheelers, and if they can use a road, an RV can. Not smart in my opinion, but I understand why the routing engine does that. I just add a few Custom Stops and go around city centers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Around Dallas.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	235.3 KB
ID:	402888  
OldBaldFat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2023, 06:22 AM   #277
Member
 
CEParosa's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 99
I'm using a Windows PC and thanks for your reply, I try putting in Stops instead.
__________________

Clay & Marcy
2004 Winnebago Adv. G35U
, 1995 Tracker Toad, RVI3, eeZRV, Garmin RV 770 LMT-S, Viair
CEParosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2023, 08:23 PM   #278
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,653
Deleting campgrounds

Is there a way to delete campgrounds you dont want to see again? There are a lot of campgrounds that are closed and others I would not visit, is it possible to delete
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
Ohio, 900 Watts Solar 400 ah lithium batteries, 2022 Jeep Gladiator JT Toad FMCA 317123
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2023, 04:49 AM   #279
Member
 
CEParosa's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 99
I'm not aware of any way to delete a campground from RVTW.
__________________

Clay & Marcy
2004 Winnebago Adv. G35U
, 1995 Tracker Toad, RVI3, eeZRV, Garmin RV 770 LMT-S, Viair
CEParosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2023, 06:15 AM   #280
Member
 
Bobalouie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightab View Post
Is there a way to delete campgrounds you dont want to see again? There are a lot of campgrounds that are closed and others I would not visit, is it possible to delete
If you know that a campground is closed for good, you can click on ďContact UsĒ and notify the developers that it is permanently closed. I have notified them a couple of times when I discovered that a state park campground comes up on the map as independently owned (so if someoneís searching for JUST state parks, that campground would not show up). Likewise, if there is a new campground you can ask that it be added.

Other that than, deleting a campground that you donít like is not an option, I donít think. I, personally, donít mind seeing the bad ones pop up Ö it reminds me that I donít want to stay there again! Good luck!
Bobalouie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
trip wizard



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RV LIFE Trip Wizard - RV Trip Wizard has a new name! Janet H RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 6 03-13-2022 11:22 AM
I have a couple of Major Questions I need answered! Greatgrandpaw iRV2.com General Discussion 16 08-19-2020 05:53 AM
New DP Owner; Need Some Questions Answered Please! sw20td06 Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 10-09-2019 10:34 AM
Factory rep. to visit tomorrow any questions you need answered? RVRONINPA Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 5 11-16-2007 03:50 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.