RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Renegade Motorhome Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 11-03-2020, 07:25 AM   #1

2018 Verona LE - First impressions

Hi all,

I'm new to the Renegade party and thought I'd introduce myself. We just transitioned from a Fleetwood Excursion 33D to Verona LE 40LTS, and our first impressions are "Wow!". I'm sure I'm preaching to the choir, but I figured I'd share some first impressions:

Driving Dynamics: Concrete highways, expansion joints, truck traffic are stable and composed, complete non-events. Our Fleetwood swayed, floated, and shook with road imperfections and traffic. Cornering is much flatter and with the inboard seating, my wife seemed MUCH more at ease ...there where no claw marks in the armrests when we got home.

Engine noise when accelerating is a more than our DP, but once up to speed the Verona seems quieter. I do plan to add sound deadening mats to the firewall and cab floor - that made a huge difference in sound with our Fleetwood.

Power is up and Torque is way up vs. our old coach, the tranny downshifted to 5 only once on the highway, and I kind of forced the issue be mashing the throttle on an uphill grade just to see what it did. Over the same terrain, the Fleetwood kicked into 5 numerous times.

Cab doors are handy. Stopping at a rest area my bride started climbing out and to head back to "the door" until I reminded her that there was a door right beside her. We will learn.