RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Renegade Motorhome Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2020, 06:50 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
Renegade microwave/ convection oven problems

My Highpoint micro/ convection oven ,at times will put the magnum inverter into AC overload just by opening the oven door. If I just wiggle the door and make the light inside flicker it will ac overload almost every time, the question is,is it the microwave or the inverter ? And it will flicker the interior lights also.
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-11-2020, 10:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 153
To test, I would run an extension cord from your house/garage and plug your microwave directly to it an see if you have any further issues eliminating the RV wiring. I would probably look at the outlet itself in the RV wall then circuit #5 (20amp) and trace it back to the Magnasine MS2012 inverter. Good luck and let us know what you find
__________________
Ray and Angie
Northern Virginia
2019 Verona 36VSB
SSTuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 11:01 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 153
DBeery, Check out this PDF
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Verona VSB AC Power Distribution.pdf (393.6 KB, 17 views)
__________________
Ray and Angie
Northern Virginia
2019 Verona 36VSB
SSTuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 02:16 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
Tried cord from other plugs in coach , same problem, microwave works fine when plugged into external plug .
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 02:26 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
It acts like only when you open the microwave door it strikes the inverter and goes into ac overload , if you can get the door open, you can use it and it works great 🤨
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 02:28 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
I plugged in a 1500watt heater to the microwave plug and it doesnít have any problem
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 08:39 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
Swapped out microwave, problems went away
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 06:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 106
The door on our microwave/convection is the issue too. We have had similar issues with the unit and need to replace ours.

What model and unit did you swap it out with?
__________________
2015 Renegade Classic
mooseknuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2020, 08:21 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
I put in a GE profile, I traded it with my DRV micro , the DRV doesnít have the magnum inverter so it works fine.
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 08:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 106
Very interesting. We have a GE Profile PVM9179SF1SS in ours, stock from Renegade. I hope the swap solves it for you.
__________________
2015 Renegade Classic
mooseknuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:34 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
We replaced it with a m#JVM179SK01
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:36 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Dbeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aztec,nm
Posts: 28
Been on the road for a couple weeks now and havenít had any more power glitches happy camper
Dbeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 03:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
RonLC's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Posts: 1,007
There are two power cut off switches on the Hi Pointe. One for each latch. If the door is opened by pulling down on the handle...as a vertically challenged person might do...and the switches are not activated at exactly the same time, the micro breaker may trip. Not all the time but at any time the machine does not get the signal to turn off the magnatron and turn off the light. turn table and fan at exactly the same time it thinks it is being opened when it is still running. This can be avoided by not opening door until it is finished or turned off by the clear/off switch....or by having your tall husband open it for you.
__________________
Ron & Peggy (aka GM of Universe)
2019 Renegade Verona LE 40 LTS (Freightliner M2-106 chassis)
2017 Buick Enclave/AF1
2004 Blue Bird M380 (sold)
RonLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 09:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Idleup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonLC View Post
There are two power cut off switches on the Hi Pointe. One for each latch. If the door is opened by pulling down on the handle...as a vertically challenged person might do...and the switches are not activated at exactly the same time, the micro breaker may trip. Not all the time but at any time the machine does not get the signal to turn off the magnatron and turn off the light. turn table and fan at exactly the same time it thinks it is being opened when it is still running. This can be avoided by not opening door until it is finished or turned off by the clear/off switch....or by having your tall husband open it for you.
Very informative post Ron Thanks


Mike
Idleup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ems, microwave, problem, problems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furrion Gas Oven and Microwave/Convection Oven RoadEyePie RV Systems & Appliances 2 02-19-2020 08:37 PM
Whirlpool microwave /convection oven problems ky bob Palazzo Motorhomes 3 07-24-2019 10:25 AM
Convection oven tripping breaker...Newmar 07 KSDP GE Profile Convection Oven DGBPokes RV Systems & Appliances 1 10-07-2016 09:01 PM
Traditional Oven or Convection Microwave/Oven MeSteve RV Systems & Appliances 16 03-28-2015 10:25 AM
Gas oven vs microwave-convection oven vs table-top dmcquinn Class A Motorhome Discussions 27 08-07-2014 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.