Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Truck Camper Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-25-2021, 10:06 AM   #1

Camper Striking Truck Roof

I've been using my truck camper combo for several years now with no problems but this spring something changed. The camper started striking the cab roof every time the truck went over an expansion joint in the road. Long story short. Turns out the 2 forward cross frame rails rusted out & disintegrated under the weight of the camper. While the outside of my truck is clean of rust I hadn't realized salt & sand from winter roads gets thrown into the open end of the box rails and rusted them out. Since I was already on the road, and unable to stop for extensive repairs, I lifted the camper up a couple of inches & placed 2"x 8" boards between the bed and camper for the needed extra clearance & got back on the road. I'm now in the process of replacing all 5 rails on the 8' bed so I can get back to camping. Make sure you periodically check the condition of those rails. The most obvious indication that the rails are crushed will be the vertical miss alignment of the truck cab/box body lines.
Axiomx is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!