Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-21-2019, 09:59 PM   #1

Camp ground question

I have been driving Class B's since 1986, and I mean driving! A short trip was Denver Co. to Branford CT. about 2100 miles, pulling a little trailer and 3 girls under 12 yrs old, plus the wife. One round trip from Denver to Winnipeg Ca. to Long Island NY., back to Denver, was 6100+ miles, in just shy of 3 weeks. Never stayed in a campground, I think we stayed in 2 campgrounds in all the years, and hated it. Can someone tell me what I'm missing here? Let's see, find an opening at one, pay a arm and a leg for a parking spot, half of what they advertise is not available( pools with no water, electric that only puts out 107 volts, fresh water that is far from fresh, great views of your neighbor 10 feet away). Now I'm rebuilding a vintage top of the line Class A, and people are telling me about "great campgrounds that I must stay at", why in the world would I want to drive 1000 miles to stay next to several hundred other RV's? I have my own electric, my own water, 100 gallons of fuel, my own heat and AC, I can stay in any National forest I want, next to any lake I want, any WalMart I want, spend a day or several for free, and not have to put up with anyone else. I live on a 46 acre ranch in Colorado, over the Arkansas river and and 30K+ acres of BLM land around me for a reason, people drive me crazy. I drive a bit over 500 Miles from Pueblo Colorado, to Marysville KS. 6 or 7 times a yr. in a nic